We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, service was great.”
Review of Moulin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moulin Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Hotel was excellent; set in a very picturesque location a few minutes drive from Pitlochary. Staff were very friendly and efficient and the meals were very good indeed. We will certainly go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljmbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
There are newer reviews for Moulin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

Great picturesque location. Shabby hotel, indifferent staff and awful food. Could be, and should be, so different. Management obviously couldn't care less going by their confrontational responses on this site. They will, no doubt, continue to make money from suckers that pass through and the world will continue to turn... Embarrassed to be Scottish and to see how we treat our visitors. Always judge an eating establishment by it's toilets - if you don't feel comfortable using these can you imagine the rest...
Oh, but plenty of people enjoy it - look at the reviews. It has a 50% Terrible ratio to Excellent - never a good sign for any establishment. Missed opportunity.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papermoon010, Owner at Moulin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

I'm afraid we occasionally get this response, usually from visitors to the Inn - Not the Hotel
Public toilets can get untidy especially during the bad weather we've endured in August, but ours are cleaned at least twice a day, guest room loos and restaurant toilets are always spotless.
Poor effort is an insult to hard working staff especially in August, but this report sounds a lot like a dismissed or departed member of staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Moulin Hotel and Inn with my husband and son and we truly couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.
The hotel was clean and cosy and all the staff were friendly and helpful.
We were impressed with the way that the owners have kept decor and atmosphere in keeping with the hotel and Inns history, something that is very rare these days.
We stayed in one of the superior rooms as there were 3 of us, it was clean , nicely decorated (in keeping with the history and heritage of the building) and spacious with complimentary tea and coffee, biscuits and a chocolate each, which were all replenished when the room was serviced everyday.
Breakfast was well cooked and tasty and we were able to choose form 2 set breakfast menus or have what we fancied off a list of breakfast items, yes there are some stuffed animals on the walls( which added to the tradition of the place) but honestly you hardly notice they are there as they are not placed at eye level so are not off putting when eating.
We chose to eat in the Inn on a couple of nights,it was cosy and had a lovely atmosphere due to its age and we managed to get a table on both occasions despite its small size. There is a good choice on the bar menu and the food was excellent , well cooked and plentiful.
We will definately choose to stay at the Moulin again if ever we return to Scotland on our holidays .A big thank you to all staff for your warm hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Visited the Moulin Hotel last weekend after booking late the thursday evening. Stayed in a superior room which I guess doubles up as family room. Whilst a good size for a couple it might be a squeeze for 4 given the room consists of double, single and then matress to pull out from under the double bed. It was well furnished and spotless. We stayed bed and breakfast which I think cost £45 each. Breakfast was served in a rather dated dining room with a variety of stuffed aminals and birds. Whilst the hotel staff on checkin gave us a warm welcome which continued throughout the weekend those on duty for breakfast were obviously not moring people and a tad disorganised and grumpy at times. But, don't let this put you off.

We ate supper from the bar outside in the courtyard on the first night which was excellent and sampled some of the speciality brews availalbe. On the second night given the very dated dining room we took the 10 minute walk into town to eat out which makes the Moulin Hotel even more appealing.

Overall, great value for money and we will be heading back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curlygirl1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed overnight recently and found our room to be comfortable and clean with everything we needed. It's an interesting old place and the inn especially is full of character. Service was efficient and brisk. We ate in the restaurant, but would probably choose to eat in the inn if we stayed again as we felt it offered better value.
As others have mentioned, the decor is a bit dated, but it is a traditional inn and there are lots of interesting bits and pieces around the place to look at.
Overall, we found it a nice enough place for an overnight stop and would stay again if in the area, but wouldn't make a special trip.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fireflymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We did not stay at The Moulin Hotel we only stopped for dinner on the way home. We had had the longest day with lots of meetings and as Pitlochry is just over an hour away from home we decided to stop for dinner as we have previously stopped for lunch and on all 3 occassions have said we must come back and stay.

Well after our experience last week there is no way we will ever stay there. It was midweek yet extremely busy which is fantastic and there seemed to be lots of smiling faces and in fact we had to wait for a table it was so full up. Contrary to previous reviews we love the low ceilings, genuine old world charm of the place however, our previous lunches were over 2 years ago and I think it would be fair to say that the owners have just rested on their laurels and have let standards slip.

The ladies loo just off the bar area can only be described as disgusting. Don't get me wrong this wasnt just a 'its 9pm and its been busy all day' kind of unclean, this was a filthy not been cleaned properly for months kind of dirt. This didnt start our experience off very well because husband then went to order at the bar. Had our table number, started our order and virtually half way through the barman started serving another customer a pint. Don't get me wrong I am all for multi-tasking but this is just rudeness! We hadnt realised we had to pay as we ordered so whilst husband turned round to ask me for a card I noted the barman raising his eyes to the ceiling and gesturing to locals at the other end of the bar - again rudeness. These locals then managed completely spoil the enjoyment of our evening whilst they waxed lyrical in loud voices to the exclusion of all other people in the pub. When I went back to the bar to complain that there was lipstick on my glass and could I get another one, yet again the barman looked straight over my shoulder as I made my request and started pouring another pint for a man stood behind me..... bloody ridiculous.

So, onto the food. Awful is the only word to describe it. Hot spicy chicken wings were deep fried to within an inch of their lives. Goats cheese with the smallest of salad garnishes swimming in a juice with no bread to mop it up. Seafood pancake nuked in the microwave so that it was so hot it burnt my lip and served in a serving bowl that you cant use a knife and fork in effectively. This actually tasted ok once it had cooled down but the sauce was watery and soaked the pancake so that ended up a soggy mess. The potato and bacon dish served in a frying pan was novelty value however all the bacon was in one lump and it was just obvious that no care had been taken. Nearly £40 for 2 courses each and a soft drink each - not good value for hastily pre-prepared rubbishy food.

We sat there making excuses for everything.... it was probably the end of service, they have had a busy night, we are feeling rubbish ourselves because it had been a long and miserable day.... but actually with hindsight we should have asked for our money back and not just sloped off into the night thinking we couldnt have been bothered with a confrontation with the barman who clearly wouldnt have been able to concentrate on us even if we were pining him to the floor.

Such a shame, because the place is beautiful, a real rustic charm, and somewhere we would have come back to stay, but not now. We are always looking for that great wee place to have a meal on the way home from Perth/Edinburgh/Glasgow but the Moulin has just been struck off our list of places.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minxyhobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Service was very good, the staff friendly and helpful. A very old hotel steeped in history.
We know the area well having previously owned a holiday lodge nearby
Our room was spacious and clean.

We have paid more elsewhere for less!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uhurukwamimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,837 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
897 reviews
5.9 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Hotel

Address: Kirkmicheal Road, Pitlochry PH16 5EW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £87 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moulin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful Haven of authentic Scottish highland hospitality since 1695 , The Moulin Hotel embraces a warm and welcoming world of peace, tranquillity and traditional Scottish hospitality. Perfectly sited in the village square of Moulin, an ancient Scottish waypoint, the hotel sits peacefully just 3/4 of a mile away from the bustling and perenially popular tourist town of Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moulin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing