We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”
Review of Moulin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moulin Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had a 2 night stay here recently and had a really nice time. The room could have done with a bit of a make-over but any shortcomings were more than made up for by all the positives - the efficient and very friendly staff for whom nothing was too much trouble, the food which was really excellent, the lovely outdoor seating area which we used to enjoy the all too rare sunshine. All in all a very enjoyable weekend at a hotel which is in a great location and one which we look forward to staying in again. Have already recommended it to friends!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doreen1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

AFter being to the bar for meals on a few occasions when visiting Pitlochry we thought we would end our holiday with a meal at the Inn and stay over.

Booking - this went well.

Arrival - had to wait a good 5/10 minutes to be seen only to be told by the staff member who came that she didn't understand the check-in procedure and had to get her superior.

Room - the bathroom nice and large but generally the decor of the room was dated as others have stated.

Bar meal - really enjoyable and the ale was good. This was afterall why we came.

Breakfast - totally ruined the stay for us. As mentioned by someone else, when you are told that breakfast is available until 9.30am you should be able to go down nearer 9.30am and expect the same service as someone who went down at 8.15am. We arrived at 9.20am to be told that the kitchen is just away to close and the waitress would take our order now. It was ordered and we helped ourselves to the cereal. The cooked food came out whilst my husband was still eating his cereal. The waitress completely ignored this fact, placed the plate down whilst my husband moved the cereal and the waitress disappeared without a word, We were stunned! When my pot of tea came out. The metal handle was so hot , there was no way you could handle it without the napkin. We felt totally rushed and like we were putting them out.

When we checked out, we weren't asked about our stayed at all, and the receptionist did not say goodbye - basic common manners that we've expereinced in previous hotels and B&B's. It was just rude. With the bill, we were handed a letter mentioning this site and the numerous bad comments that had been posted. It asked us to comment on our experiences and up it's rating / improve it's "score".. Feel that this is just pure arrogance.

The hotel side really lets the Inn down and don't think that even complaining would do any good, judging on our experience and the replies that the owner has posted on here. If i'd read the reviews before I went, I would have given the hotel the benefit of the doubt but wont be staying there again or recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowyOwlAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papermoon010, Owner at Moulin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

This person criticises my previous responses, so they are unlikely to appreciate this one. I have carefully checked with the management and staff on duty that morning when breakfast was so bad.
It is a complete exaggeration to say they were in the breakfast room at 9.20 - they were later than close of service at 9.30, that is why the waitress had to ask the chef if he was still cooking. He agreed but asked that their order was taken asap, it takes no less than 6 minutes to cook a breakfast fresh to order ( as we always do) should be ample time to finish a cereal.
The second lie is the accusation that we gave her a trip advisor form to 'up' our rating - we simply ask for an accurate response, which we unfortunately did not get.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Not a luxury hotel, but I finally found what i thought would be a Scottish hotel in the countryside. And I was very happy. Very nice from the outside, the parking is accessed by a side street. But beware, because due to the pub (which we also liked, with home-made beer) gets filled quickly.
The room, with two comfortable beds - one double and one single in a corner, for our daughter (we were on a family superior room) is not very large but is sufficient. Decorated with blue and white squares design, wallpaper, with three windows with pots full of flowers, is rustic and comfortable. The bathroom is sufficient.
We had dinner at the restaurant, a good angus beef, tables with tablecloths (a rarity on our trip except for the most luxurious restaurants), a friendly and professional service. We were pleased.
The price - 107 pounds, makes me consider that has an excellent value for money and I recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEAFaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night on 28 Jul 12. It is located in a nice setting and is asthetically pleasing from the outside, unfortunately the inside of the hotel is less pleasing. Our room was small, dark and in need of a refresh. The TV was miniscule and the bathroom was old and run-down. I regret to say that there is a distinct impression of a hotel which is desperate to cost-cut and the quality of the bar meals, breakfast and general facilities reflected this ethos. Why charge 30p for a photocopied page of the hotel's history? it smacks of penny-pinching and is counter-productive. Advice on the breakfast menu on how to order a 'full Scottish breakfast' without wasting food is also patronising and totally unnecessary given that 1/2 a slice of black pudding, one rasher of bacon and one sausage hardly equates to calorific overload! Whilst the experience wasn't horrific, it was not a place we would return to unless some dramatic improvements were made and the thrifty attitude is readjusted.

Room Tip: Afraid I can't help with that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChunterChunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papermoon010, Owner at Moulin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

I'm afraid this reviewer does not read things properly.

The historical guides to Moulin village are made up by the Moulin Kirk heritage trust, who simply ask for a donation - most give a pound or two.
Breakfast menu merely advises that you can order anything, rather than just saying 'FULL' think about it and order what you really want to eat. An order for a 'Full' breakfast but no this, that & the other is not good, tell us what you want, not what you don't want.
This review about our meaness says more about the reviewer than our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here in July as a stopover while travelling further north. Staff at the hotel were very welcoming. Our room was very nice, clean and comfortable. We spent the evening in the hotel, had a couple of drinks at the tables laid out just outside the entrance which was really nice on such a lovely evening. We then had a meal in the bar which was tasty basic pub grub, we didn't need anything too fancy so we were quite happy with that. Breakfast in the morning was excellent, set us up for the journey north. I'd stay here again if I'm back in the area and prefer it to the slightly busier Pitlochry which is just a mile down the hill.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This centuries old hotel in the lovely little village of Moulin, just outside Pitlochry is a real gem. Bar meals are superb (and I'm sure the restaurant meals are too) and the breakfast sets you up for the whole day. Rooms are nicely furnished and the whole place oozes traditional charm. Only 15 or so rooms, so book early if you want to sample this wonderful quiet hotel just a mile or so from the tourist hub of Pitlochry.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northerntraveller051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We couldn't pass up the opportunity to stay in an inn that boasts of being over three hundred years old on our trip to Scotland, and the Moulin Hotel was just what we were looking for! We had a large superior room which was very comfortable in spite of being located in the oldest part of the inn. The surrounding area is so peaceful and quiet except for the bird song and running water of the lovely burn that burbles past the dining room windows. We arrived by train and got a taxi to take us to the hotel, but easily walked into Pitlochry, a mile away, from then on. Ate in both the charming, dog-friendly, pub and in the lovely dining room with lots of large windows overlooking the burn and bordering wood. All meals were delicious and the service throughout the hotel was excellent! The reason I've given it 4 stars is that it may not be for everyone! There's no wifi service, and some floors creak! But if you want a unique and lovely place to stay that is loaded with character and warmth, stay here!!

Room Tip: Room 17 is directly over the pub and can be a bit noisy at night. We didn't mind it. The pub clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poodlemom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,938 reviews
5.9 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#11 of 17 in Pitlochry
734 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#12 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,282 reviews
2.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
713 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Hotel

Address: Kirkmicheal Road, Pitlochry PH16 5EW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £68 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moulin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful Haven of authentic Scottish highland hospitality since 1695 , The Moulin Hotel embraces a warm and welcoming world of peace, tranquillity and traditional Scottish hospitality. Perfectly sited in the village square of Moulin, an ancient Scottish waypoint, the hotel sits peacefully just 3/4 of a mile away from the bustling and perenially popular tourist town of Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moulin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing