We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor food and ale”
Review of Moulin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moulin Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very poor food and ale”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

After years of wanting to visit the moulin we drove up from Glasgow to have lunch and some beers. Firstly the menu on the website advertised vastly different prices to the menus on the table which was misleading and disappointing - actual prices were 30/40% dearer.
The menu had a good variety and we chose the venison and a beef burger. The venison was the worst my girlfriend had tasted - tough over cooked and rank I thought it tasted like beef!
Burger was very average and the service was cold and snappy from the young waitress.
We are regular real ale drinkers, members of camra and drink ale in pubs across the country. My girlfriend asked to taste one of the moulin ales before she chose one and the barman was very reluctant - which shocked us! So we had a poor experience and for two mains and two beers it cost us nearly £30!!! We had thought about staying but were properly put off.
I can assure you we won't be back nor will we recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choplok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papermoon010, Owner at Moulin Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Impossible to respond to these totally negative and unusual comments, except to say our handcrafted ales are recognised as excellent. Our venison burgers are sourced from a top artisan supplier - we sell dozens these of each day plus hundreds of pints of our ale. That would not be the case if this description had any accuracy at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    204
    53
    37
    32
See reviews for
87
299
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
carmarthen
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

If you have to stay in Pitlochry and there is absolutely nowhere else to lay your head, make sure that you do not get put into rooms 14, 15 or 16 which is above the bar. Seriously naff hip hop music is played beneath you until 2.15 am. The heating is on permanently, The meals are expensive and crap. The beer is expensive and you will go through 20 pound notes at the rate of ten pound notes for what? Four nights of general unpleasantries.

Room Tip: Do not pass through the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank terry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papermoon010, Owner at Moulin Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
How can it be noisy if there is absolutely no music in any of the bars or restaurant. Room 14 is NOT above the bar, it is above an office that is closed from 11pm.
This person was rude and nasty throughout their stay. If we were noisy and expensive why did they want to stay longer?
Strangely this person is about to move into a house next to the Hotel. I do not think a neighbourly welcome is likely in his case.
His wife was charming & friendly at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

An excellent hotel 3/4 of a mile from the center of Pitlochry. Bathrooms and bedroom clean. good welcome from friendly staff. Excellent bar and bar food. This hotel has it's own small brewery and has 4 of it's own beers on draft in the bar. I have stayed at this hotel 3 times now and enjoyed every stay.

Room Tip: I have had a room at both the front and back and all have been OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had a 2 night stay here recently and had a really nice time. The room could have done with a bit of a make-over but any shortcomings were more than made up for by all the positives - the efficient and very friendly staff for whom nothing was too much trouble, the food which was really excellent, the lovely outdoor seating area which we used to enjoy the all too rare sunshine. All in all a very enjoyable weekend at a hotel which is in a great location and one which we look forward to staying in again. Have already recommended it to friends!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doreen1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2012

AFter being to the bar for meals on a few occasions when visiting Pitlochry we thought we would end our holiday with a meal at the Inn and stay over.

Booking - this went well.

Arrival - had to wait a good 5/10 minutes to be seen only to be told by the staff member who came that she didn't understand the check-in procedure and had to get her superior.

Room - the bathroom nice and large but generally the decor of the room was dated as others have stated.

Bar meal - really enjoyable and the ale was good. This was afterall why we came.

Breakfast - totally ruined the stay for us. As mentioned by someone else, when you are told that breakfast is available until 9.30am you should be able to go down nearer 9.30am and expect the same service as someone who went down at 8.15am. We arrived at 9.20am to be told that the kitchen is just away to close and the waitress would take our order now. It was ordered and we helped ourselves to the cereal. The cooked food came out whilst my husband was still eating his cereal. The waitress completely ignored this fact, placed the plate down whilst my husband moved the cereal and the waitress disappeared without a word, We were stunned! When my pot of tea came out. The metal handle was so hot , there was no way you could handle it without the napkin. We felt totally rushed and like we were putting them out.

When we checked out, we weren't asked about our stayed at all, and the receptionist did not say goodbye - basic common manners that we've expereinced in previous hotels and B&B's. It was just rude. With the bill, we were handed a letter mentioning this site and the numerous bad comments that had been posted. It asked us to comment on our experiences and up it's rating / improve it's "score".. Feel that this is just pure arrogance.

The hotel side really lets the Inn down and don't think that even complaining would do any good, judging on our experience and the replies that the owner has posted on here. If i'd read the reviews before I went, I would have given the hotel the benefit of the doubt but wont be staying there again or recommending it to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowyOwlAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papermoon010, Owner at Moulin Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
This person criticises my previous responses, so they are unlikely to appreciate this one. I have carefully checked with the management and staff on duty that morning when breakfast was so bad.
It is a complete exaggeration to say they were in the breakfast room at 9.20 - they were later than close of service at 9.30, that is why the waitress had to ask the chef if he was still cooking. He agreed but asked that their order was taken asap, it takes no less than 6 minutes to cook a breakfast fresh to order ( as we always do) should be ample time to finish a cereal.
The second lie is the accusation that we gave her a trip advisor form to 'up' our rating - we simply ask for an accurate response, which we unfortunately did not get.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algarve, Portugal
Level Contributor
459 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Not a luxury hotel, but I finally found what i thought would be a Scottish hotel in the countryside. And I was very happy. Very nice from the outside, the parking is accessed by a side street. But beware, because due to the pub (which we also liked, with home-made beer) gets filled quickly.
The room, with two comfortable beds - one double and one single in a corner, for our daughter (we were on a family superior room) is not very large but is sufficient. Decorated with blue and white squares design, wallpaper, with three windows with pots full of flowers, is rustic and comfortable. The bathroom is sufficient.
We had dinner at the restaurant, a good angus beef, tables with tablecloths (a rarity on our trip except for the most luxurious restaurants), a friendly and professional service. We were pleased.
The price - 107 pounds, makes me consider that has an excellent value for money and I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEAFaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night on 28 Jul 12. It is located in a nice setting and is asthetically pleasing from the outside, unfortunately the inside of the hotel is less pleasing. Our room was small, dark and in need of a refresh. The TV was miniscule and the bathroom was old and run-down. I regret to say that there is a distinct impression of a hotel which is desperate to cost-cut and the quality of the bar meals, breakfast and general facilities reflected this ethos. Why charge 30p for a photocopied page of the hotel's history? it smacks of penny-pinching and is counter-productive. Advice on the breakfast menu on how to order a 'full Scottish breakfast' without wasting food is also patronising and totally unnecessary given that 1/2 a slice of black pudding, one rasher of bacon and one sausage hardly equates to calorific overload! Whilst the experience wasn't horrific, it was not a place we would return to unless some dramatic improvements were made and the thrifty attitude is readjusted.

Room Tip: Afraid I can't help with that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChunterChunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papermoon010, Owner at Moulin Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
I'm afraid this reviewer does not read things properly.

The historical guides to Moulin village are made up by the Moulin Kirk heritage trust, who simply ask for a donation - most give a pound or two.
Breakfast menu merely advises that you can order anything, rather than just saying 'FULL' think about it and order what you really want to eat. An order for a 'Full' breakfast but no this, that & the other is not good, tell us what you want, not what you don't want.
This review about our meaness says more about the reviewer than our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,754 reviews
5.9 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
678 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
639 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Hotel

Property: Moulin Hotel
Address: Kirkmicheal Road, Pitlochry PH16 5EW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moulin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful Haven of authentic Scottish highland hospitality since 1695 , The Moulin Hotel embraces a warm and welcoming world of peace, tranquillity and traditional Scottish hospitality. Perfectly sited in the village square of Moulin, an ancient Scottish waypoint, the hotel sits peacefully just 3/4 of a mile away from the bustling and perenially popular tourist town of Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moulin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing