We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moulin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moulin Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

After visiting, on many previous occasions I was shocked to read
'Noisy and Expensive' then 'Poor Ale & Food' - these reviews are just not true.
The only noise is the bubbling burn by the restaurant,the Hotel is good value,
warm & welcoming with friendly local staff.

Room Tip: The rooms in the older part part of the hotel are a little smaller, but they are most authentic for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papermoon010, Owner at Moulin Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you.
I do not know why we get the poor reviews in August. Two on consecutive days both completely inaccurate. You have helped to redress the balance . Much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    200
    52
    36
    32
See reviews for
84
294
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Enjoyed a lovely 2 day 'Highland Delight' break at the Moulin Hotel. We were allocated a lovely spacious room which was very quiet and there were lovely flowers, a bottle of champagne, whisky fudge and a small box of their ale waiting for us in the room as part of the special offer break were were staying on. We also enjoyed 2 lovely dinners and breakfasts. The menu contained lots of well thought out dishes to choose from. The plates were lovely and hot which I find a rarity when eating out nowadays. Our table in the restaurant was located in the corner with large windows which was lovely and we were able to watch the birds enjoying the seed left for them. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we felt very welcome and would definitely recommend and we would love to stay again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Roque del Acebal, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We recently stayed at the hotel for one night, having previously visited and eaten at the Inn. This is a country hotel, over 300 years old, with all the quirky character that history brings. It is a family-run establishment and it shows; the service is friendly and pleasant, our room was spacious, light and comfortable, the public areas are full of character. Situated at the heart of this little village, it was perfectly quiet at night.
We lunched in the Inn adjoining the hotel. The food was excellent and we sampled the beer from the Inn's own adjoing brewery. As we went to the theatre, we did not have dinner in the hotel but breakfast the next morning in the atmospheric dining room, set us up for a day exploring the highlands.
Unpretentious, comfortable, warmly welcoming and good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are particulary quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedburgh
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Just back from a one night saty at the Moulin Hotel in Pitlochry and waht a wonderful experience, the hotel is really olde Worlde with touches of modern throughout the hotel.
The bed I slept in was one of the most comfortable hotel beds that I have slept in, the room was large and airy and the flower box at the window was overflowing with flowers, giving an air of nature to the place.

The pub was amazing, just like stepping back in time with the Moulin brewery ales on pumps at the bar, my favourite was the light beer which was pale and hoppy a truly marvelous beer.

We ate supper at the bar which was of a high standard and extremely reasonably priced, with a variety of specials which would tempt everyones taste buds.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent and plenty of choice.

Staff were extremely friendly and all in all we had a great hotel experience.

I am looking forward to going back and would reccomend this hotel to everyone

Room Tip: Stayed in room 7 overlooking the old church which is now a museum
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyBrookes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

After years of wanting to visit the moulin we drove up from Glasgow to have lunch and some beers. Firstly the menu on the website advertised vastly different prices to the menus on the table which was misleading and disappointing - actual prices were 30/40% dearer.
The menu had a good variety and we chose the venison and a beef burger. The venison was the worst my girlfriend had tasted - tough over cooked and rank I thought it tasted like beef!
Burger was very average and the service was cold and snappy from the young waitress.
We are regular real ale drinkers, members of camra and drink ale in pubs across the country. My girlfriend asked to taste one of the moulin ales before she chose one and the barman was very reluctant - which shocked us! So we had a poor experience and for two mains and two beers it cost us nearly £30!!! We had thought about staying but were properly put off.
I can assure you we won't be back nor will we recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choplok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papermoon010, Owner at Moulin Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Impossible to respond to these totally negative and unusual comments, except to say our handcrafted ales are recognised as excellent. Our venison burgers are sourced from a top artisan supplier - we sell dozens these of each day plus hundreds of pints of our ale. That would not be the case if this description had any accuracy at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmarthen
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

If you have to stay in Pitlochry and there is absolutely nowhere else to lay your head, make sure that you do not get put into rooms 14, 15 or 16 which is above the bar. Seriously naff hip hop music is played beneath you until 2.15 am. The heating is on permanently, The meals are expensive and crap. The beer is expensive and you will go through 20 pound notes at the rate of ten pound notes for what? Four nights of general unpleasantries.

Room Tip: Do not pass through the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank terry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papermoon010, Owner at Moulin Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
How can it be noisy if there is absolutely no music in any of the bars or restaurant. Room 14 is NOT above the bar, it is above an office that is closed from 11pm.
This person was rude and nasty throughout their stay. If we were noisy and expensive why did they want to stay longer?
Strangely this person is about to move into a house next to the Hotel. I do not think a neighbourly welcome is likely in his case.
His wife was charming & friendly at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

An excellent hotel 3/4 of a mile from the center of Pitlochry. Bathrooms and bedroom clean. good welcome from friendly staff. Excellent bar and bar food. This hotel has it's own small brewery and has 4 of it's own beers on draft in the bar. I have stayed at this hotel 3 times now and enjoyed every stay.

Room Tip: I have had a room at both the front and back and all have been OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
6.6 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Hotel

Property: Moulin Hotel
Address: Pitlochry PH16 5EW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moulin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Expedia, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moulin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing