We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the public bar”
Review of Moulin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moulin Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the public bar”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Enjoy a drink and a meal in this 300 year old inn. A good atmosphere and log fires really make this bar a place to visit.the location is only ten minutes from Pitlochry and there are many walks around for all abilities.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    205
    53
    37
    32
See reviews for
87
300
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Invergordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Quick one night stay to recharge. Staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient. Standard room (18) was both charming and spotless. Bed extremely comfortable with crisp bed linen. Ensuite was clean and well appointed. Additionally, the room being at the top of the Inn was peaceful, and had a lovely view of the courtyard and church. The Inn itself carries its 315 years well. It is both quaint and relaxing. The roaring log fires, the cosy bar frequented by both locals and visitors make this an enjoyable escape. Dogs, tired walkers, mountain bikers etc are all welcome. The bar food is good, the wine list excellent and the atmosphere relaxed. Value for money - excellent. Comfort and quality ensure that we will be returning for longer next time. Overall experience - wonderful.

Room Tip: Room 18 (standard room) top of Inn, peaceful, quaint with exposed beams and lovely view of courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed at the moulin on the 5 night winter warmer deal, amazing value for money. The room was of a good standard and suited our needs perfectly.

We ate in the bar every night and the food was excellent .

On,y 10 mins walk to pitlochery so well situated for exploring the area. Good mountain bike rides all around, nice run to house of Braur via Killicrankie and monies.

Some of the TA reviews are very critical, however we experienced only great service in a typical country inn.

Will definitely be back.

Thanks for a great stay

Robert. Dumfries.

Room Tip: Room 7 was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I visited the Moulin for an evening meal with friends during a weekend stay in Pitlochry and it was a disappointing experience overall.
I asked the bar server to give me his opinion on the house wine and his response was " it does the job". Not really the informed response I was looking for! All our starters were poor to disgusting and my main course of chicken with a mustard sauce was inedible. My chicken had been thrown in a deep fat fryer that had obviously been used to fry fish.
In addition we were asked to leave a credit card with the bar server on ordering. We pointed out the dubious legality of this and we were told that this is the establishments policy.

The young waiter who served us - Michael- was delightful and very apologetic. The manager could learn a few things from Michael !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a really good meal in an old style pub with welcoming staff, atmosphere, open and wood burning fires and good food. Our mains were 'Sporran O' Plenty' - minute steak stuffed with haggis and lamb shank, both accompanied by new potatoes and veg. All cooked to perfection, well presented and served very quickly by friendly staff. The lamb shank in particular was outstanding, as was the raspberry crumble I had to follow - the rhubarb crumble my wife had was excellent too. I tried two of the pubs own ales from the adjoining micro brewery - both a welcome addition to an enjoyable experience. Absolutely no complaints and we will certainly return next time we are in Pitlochry.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homewright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed at the Moulin with another couple. Hadn't been to the hotel for a number of years and we will definately never go back. Firstly the food was of inferior quality, three of my party had steaks and they all ended up leaving most of their meals. The food looked like it had been thrown onto their plates. I had the lamb and ended up ill the whole weekend as a result. The rooms were very shabby and definately could be a lot cleaner. The beds were backrackers with polyester quilts and cheap pillows which, when you are feeling unwell, not good! When my husband asked on the day of departure what time we could have the room till, as I was still suffering the effects of the bad meal on the Friday, he was told we could have another hour only by an extremely over officious hotel manager. If you are looking for customer service, dont go to the Moulin. Worst experience I've had in years!

Room Tip: Don't go at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Having been going to the Inn for many years our last visit in July was very disappointing! We thought we would give it another try as we were out for a nice drive yesterday. We were very pleased to see that notice had been taken off our negative comments and dealt with. Thankyou? Plastic roses had gone, menus were clean, menu holders were not sticky,and sauces and condiments were topped up! Have you got a new chef? Food was so much better and the vegetables were properly cooked. Beer was first class as usual according to my husband! Staff were polite and service was good. My only negative points are the Australian ( or is she South African) girl behind the bar was standing reading The Sunday Post and oblivious to the fact that a customer was trying to attract her attention to ask for butter which wasn't served with their bread! I too had to ask for butter and a knife. Having said that it was very refreshing to know that The Inn will still remain a favourite for us and many friends. Looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,757 reviews
5.9 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
680 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Hotel

Property: Moulin Hotel
Address: Kirkmicheal Road, Pitlochry PH16 5EW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moulin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful Haven of authentic Scottish highland hospitality since 1695 , The Moulin Hotel embraces a warm and welcoming world of peace, tranquillity and traditional Scottish hospitality. Perfectly sited in the village square of Moulin, an ancient Scottish waypoint, the hotel sits peacefully just 3/4 of a mile away from the bustling and perenially popular tourist town of Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HRS, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moulin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing