We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and relaxing”
Review of Moulin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moulin Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Spent 3 nights here, this is our second visit and it lived up to our memories of our first stay several years ago. Clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff in all areas of the hotel. Will definitely go back and recommend it to my friends. Choice of eating in the very informal bar with roaring log fire or the formal dining room, both worth a try.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Moulin on Saturday 10th May for 2 nights. My husband was competing in the Etape Caledonia on the Sunday as were lots of people staying at the hotel. The staff at the hotel were nice and the atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable. There is a really nice area to sit out front and enjoy a drink and read the Sunday papers. The room we had was a superior and had a Double and Single bed in it so would be ideal for travelling with a child too. Rooms are pretty basic but to be honest it was such a lovely old building with lots of character so we really were not that bothered. We did have a problem accessing the free wi-fi that was advertised but again it was such a nice place to sit back and unwind that we didnt miss it that much. The breakfast was really nice with a fair choice. The big plus for us was the lovely pub and restaurant, great atmosphere and the food was delicious, Haggis Lasagne was amazing!

We have already booked for next year and would recommend the Moulin without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holibobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had a fabulous time at the Moulin Inn, it was the perfect blend of homely and relaxing. My wife and I took the Highland Delights package which was fantastic value for money. Nothing was a problem for the staff who were exceptionally friendly and the quality of the food and beer was great. Next time we'll check out the sister hotel, the Atholl Arms, as it's dog friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A lovely location, nice beer from the brewery but the Hotel and Inn are living on past awards and are badly in need of renovation and some tlc.
Room was dated but spacious.
No wi-fi to speak of.
Breakfast was okay, but the cook was so lazy that only one side of the bacon, black pudding and fruit pudding were cooked, glad that we went elsewhere for dinner.
Is a shame as is could be a lovely place to visit, I won't be back. Suspect that the locals know that is is not great, we were asked if we were eating there and if it was okay.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_WestLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have used the Inn on many occassions in the past to enjoy the good food and fine ale, so it was always intended to stay at some time, like now. We were not disappointed. The room was spacious and comfortable, the facilities as expected, the staff helpful, breakfast great. Overall we had good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel on honeymoon by mistake 6 years ago and have been in love with it ever since. We were booked elsewhere in Pitlochry and were miserable. Thank goodness the Moulin found us and saved our honeymoon.
The pub and hotel have a quaint village feel to the place and we have never felt anything but welcomed by the friendly, helpful staff. The restaurant food is excellent, as is the breakfast. Breakfast and evening meals are accompanied by the sound of the gentle stream and the sight of birds in the garden.
The rooms are in keeping with an old Scottish pub/inn and are clean, warm and inviting. We struggle to understand how people expect anything different from a 300yr old building. If you want modern, robotic service book a Travelodge. If you want something you'll remember with affection forever, come here. Please never change the Moulin. It is perfect.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elmerleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I like Moulin Hotel and its inn. Food is good,customer service is good and its friendly.My kids had lovely meals and the ice cream was spot on. The brandy and wine was good and the fire was crackling away on a breezy spring afternoon Enough said!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windgat04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,875 reviews
5.9 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
714 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,633 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
395 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Hotel

Address: Kirkmicheal Road, Pitlochry PH16 5EW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £90 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moulin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful Haven of authentic Scottish highland hospitality since 1695 , The Moulin Hotel embraces a warm and welcoming world of peace, tranquillity and traditional Scottish hospitality. Perfectly sited in the village square of Moulin, an ancient Scottish waypoint, the hotel sits peacefully just 3/4 of a mile away from the bustling and perenially popular tourist town of Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moulin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing