We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moulin Inn”
Review of Moulin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moulin Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Moulin Inn”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After a medical bombshell, we had to radically change our plans to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. Oh well, maybe next year, New York. Once we got over the shock, we thought about alternatives. As frequent visitors to Ben Vrackie, we have often enjoyed a beer in the bar and thought about how nice it would be not to have to drive back home but to work through the range of real ales. So we booked the Highland Delights package to make it a little special.
We had a great time - and no jet lag! The room was a good size, spotless with a very comfy, enormous bed. Breakfast choice was very good, although too much sampling of those beers the previous night meant that I stuck to the porridge. Both dinners were served in the restaurant and the food was very tasty. My only quibble was that the dining room was almost empty on the second night which made it a bit lacking in atmosphere.

Yes, the decor is a bit old style Highland with lots of stuffed animals but it is totally in keeping with the age and style of the building. All the staff were friendly and very helpful.

Will we stay again? You betcha. Would I change anything? Yes, one night eating in the bar. Did I miss New York? Well, a bit but I doubt it would have been half so relaxing or friendly

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    211
    54
    38
    36
See reviews for
94
303
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This small friendly hotel has a lovely feel to it. The staff are so nice, they will do any thing they can to help you. The food in the bar is great and you get lots of it. It is nice to have a real home from home in Scotland , we go about four times a year and have done for about 14 years now, and I do not see any reason to stop. We will be back again in August can't wait.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different , but the view from the back is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a fantastic weekend break in this hotel the staff where very friendly and helpful really enjoyed the food could not fault both meals and breakfasts catered for all tastes on the menu the public bar had a nice atmosphere and a good variety of real ales and draft beers I only found one fault I think they have a ghost in the bar every now and then I had a small voice in my head telling me to go on and try another one LOL

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel twice and both times have really enjoyed. This time we were in a very large room with a lovley canopied bed and very nice furniture to keep the theme. Bar food and beer is excellent as is the breakfast. Some of the decor around the building is a wee bit tatty or dated, but hey, it adds to the ancient surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

family gathering for a big birthday was fabulous at this hotel. The staff helped me organised things and went out of their way to arrange a variety of rooms for everybody. The rooms were cosy and welcoming and were great value for money. We had a lovely meal - no mean feat feeding 13 of us at once - and we had a great time. Thank you.

Room Tip: all the rooms are different so any will be fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clertygertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Booked the one night for my husbands birthday our stay was fine its a bit old and tired looking could do the a bit of a refurb the staires are a bit of a nightmare to get up and down very narrow you have to be carefull.The hotel itself was clean enough and so was the room the bathroom was a bit on the small side but was ok for the one night the breakfast was very good loved the cooked breakfast.Did not try the dinner menu nothing on it took our fancy was a shame we have visted the hotel before and had a bar meal and it was good the outside seating area is very nice .Walked down the hill into Pitlochry it was such a nice night weather was sunny and warm and had a great meal in the Auld Smiddy (see review) got a taxi back £4 so we had a nice time and would recommend it you like old fashioned,Quaint.stuffed animals,and don't forget the Tartan you will love this place

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDY N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Located just outside Pitlochry, it is in a quiet location and it took 15 minutes to walk into Pitlochry. A taxi back (its uphill all the way) was £4.

The staff were friendly and the breakfast was really good - cooked breakfast however you like it, plus cereal, toast, etc.

The outsie of the hotel was very pretty with windowboxes and looking great. We had a standard double room and it was large with plenty of room and a comfy bed - also large. The decor, carpet and furniture were not so not good. At £77 per night we had expected something a little bit more special, rather than something looking tired and dated. The en suite was clean, but again in need of gutting and starting again.

We tried to eat at the Inn but there were no tables available. The dinner menu for the hotel's restaurant seemed very similar to that of the Inn, but at inflated prices - we gave it a miss.

Overall, we didn't feel it was value for money, but had no cause for complaint.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fungobury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
878 reviews
5.9 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
699 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,599 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Hotel

Property: Moulin Hotel
Address: Kirkmicheal Road, Pitlochry PH16 5EW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moulin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful Haven of authentic Scottish highland hospitality since 1695 , The Moulin Hotel embraces a warm and welcoming world of peace, tranquillity and traditional Scottish hospitality. Perfectly sited in the village square of Moulin, an ancient Scottish waypoint, the hotel sits peacefully just 3/4 of a mile away from the bustling and perenially popular tourist town of Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moulin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing