We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly suggestion”
Review of Moulin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moulin Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 4 August 2014

One of our favourite hotels. Friendly staff, lots of traditional Scottish food served here. We have noticed in the past in the bar dining area there was a lovely log fire which gave out a lot of heat and a warm welcome. This year we noticed that it has been replaced with a wood burner which is inside the fire place and does not throw out the heat like the traditional fireplace. we do hope that when we next return they will have sorted this out

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in are very comfortable and meet our needs
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank brnotyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
There are newer reviews for Moulin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Myself and husband thought we would go for a meal at Moulin, But can honestly say we will not be going again ! we both ordered the haddock but sadly it was no where near as good as we expected , soggy batter on fish luke warm mushy peas. Staff not friendly , when a member of staff came to collect out plates she then asked if every thing was ok so we stated about soggy batter and the reply we got was '' WAS IT '' not what we were expecting as a reply , the young man behind the bar didnt seem at all interested in taking our order for drinks and a smile would help it wasnt as if it was busy as there were a handful of folk sat at the bar and maybe half a dozen outside seated . We will not be returning or recommend which is a shame with us living locally .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank littlebear63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Not a nice place to stay, food expensive and very tiny portions, they are trying to have fine dining but it's just normal food made into small portions. Staff also not very friendly, also it's very very old fashioned. Won't be going back. No thank you

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Wilma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed at the Hotel recently during a short break with friends. The hotel is located in the village of Moulin about 15 minutes uphill walk from Pitlochry. The area is a paradise for walkers,climbers,cyclists etc. very beautiful. We stayed. The 2 bed lilac cottage which was a small house across the road from the hotel. The cottage was self contained with upstairs two bedrooms,one of which was ensuite. There was a separate toilet and shower downstairs,with living room,dining room and fully equipped kitchen. There was a nice garden and private drive to park two cars. Decor was a little dated but everything was clean. It would be a good place to stay with a family. We paid £130 each for 2 persons to share for two nights. Decent value.The area is quiet so sleep was good. One night we ate in the Moulin restaurant which was ok but get your orders in before 9.30pm or you will not be fed! The next night we ate in the Old Mill in Pitlochry and the food was much better and less heavy. I found the staff efficient but somewhat clipped and unfriendly. This might well have been because the hotel was very busy so time was limited in dealing with customers. Would I go again. Yes to Pitlochry,no to the Moulin Inn.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Djh2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After a medical bombshell, we had to radically change our plans to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. Oh well, maybe next year, New York. Once we got over the shock, we thought about alternatives. As frequent visitors to Ben Vrackie, we have often enjoyed a beer in the bar and thought about how nice it would be not to have to drive back home but to work through the range of real ales. So we booked the Highland Delights package to make it a little special.
We had a great time - and no jet lag! The room was a good size, spotless with a very comfy, enormous bed. Breakfast choice was very good, although too much sampling of those beers the previous night meant that I stuck to the porridge. Both dinners were served in the restaurant and the food was very tasty. My only quibble was that the dining room was almost empty on the second night which made it a bit lacking in atmosphere.

Yes, the decor is a bit old style Highland with lots of stuffed animals but it is totally in keeping with the age and style of the building. All the staff were friendly and very helpful.

Will we stay again? You betcha. Would I change anything? Yes, one night eating in the bar. Did I miss New York? Well, a bit but I doubt it would have been half so relaxing or friendly

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This small friendly hotel has a lovely feel to it. The staff are so nice, they will do any thing they can to help you. The food in the bar is great and you get lots of it. It is nice to have a real home from home in Scotland , we go about four times a year and have done for about 14 years now, and I do not see any reason to stop. We will be back again in August can't wait.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different , but the view from the back is lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a fantastic weekend break in this hotel the staff where very friendly and helpful really enjoyed the food could not fault both meals and breakfasts catered for all tastes on the menu the public bar had a nice atmosphere and a good variety of real ales and draft beers I only found one fault I think they have a ghost in the bar every now and then I had a small voice in my head telling me to go on and try another one LOL

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
898 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,838 reviews
5.9 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
385 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
789 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Hotel

Address: Kirkmicheal Road, Pitlochry PH16 5EW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £87 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moulin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful Haven of authentic Scottish highland hospitality since 1695 , The Moulin Hotel embraces a warm and welcoming world of peace, tranquillity and traditional Scottish hospitality. Perfectly sited in the village square of Moulin, an ancient Scottish waypoint, the hotel sits peacefully just 3/4 of a mile away from the bustling and perenially popular tourist town of Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moulin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing