We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great walks good pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moulin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moulin Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“great walks good pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

Great walk behind the hotel .You can climb a fairly easy Corbett. Good pub food,friendly hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D1ktw23765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    199
    52
    36
    32
See reviews for
84
293
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

We were made to feel most welcome by every member of a great staff. The room was clean and comfortable and the restaurant very good. The pub was full of friendly locals and serves fantastic beer. All in all - a great holiday! We'll go back again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyMacBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

Just got back from a lovely weeks stay at the Moulin Hotel. This was our second visit. It is a great hotel, with tons of character, charm and stuffed animals!! Immediately, on arrival we were made to feel welcome by the receptionist and taken to our room (with assistance carrying our luggage). We had a lovely room, traditional style and plently of tartan - but we are in Scotland and it just helps to add to the cosy atmosphere. Our room also had a heater on the wall which quickly warmed you up after a walk in the countryside. We ate at the pub attached to the hotel and were often at the bar until closure, the atmosphere was brilliant and we were made to feel so welcome by both staff and locals. The mossies do join you in the bar of an evening, but you get that all over Scotland and as long as you keep your whiskey covered they tend to stay by the lights! One recommendation I would give, is if you fancy a cosy night in your room, the fish and chip shop at the bottom of the road in Pitlochry is a definate! Breakfast is a strong point for the hotel, it is superb and plently to keep you filled up for the day ahead. All in all we loved our stay and we will be definately be returning.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozzaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2009

Just back from another fantastic break at the Moulin Pitlochry... this is our 5th year !
Once again couldn't fault the food, the pub or the staff.... had some great nights in the bar made very welcome by both staff & locals. We have recommended the Moulin to family & friends and indeed this year was the 3rd visit for friends who book at the same time as us & the 2nd for our son & his fiancee.
I have read some negative comments on this site & feel that people must have stayed in a different Moulin !!
I travel with my job & stay in places like the Hilton & Malmaison ... which the Moulin most definitely is NOT.... but IT IS a fantastic, friendly family run hotel where we never fail to have a great time and will definitely be back !!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilliGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

Very relaxing place to stay. Great pub, grub, beer, atmosphere. Rooms very comfortable, slept like a log for 3 nights. Majic breakfasts, enjoyed watching the birds getting theirs through the dining room windows .
Great area for hillwalking - Ben Vrackie from the front door and then back for a pint or two of Braveheart real ale (brewed on the premises), plus loads of munros nearby.
Total BLISS!
Book up now.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillieScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

Booked a Romantic Break Weekend for our wedding anniversary. Could not have been better, champagne, beer, flowers and fudge waiting for us in the room. The choice and quality of food in the dining room was impressive. Lots of choice and well cooked. Service was very efficient and friendly. Will go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robkatScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2009

Sadly, on this occasion, only a one-night stay: welcoming, friendly, unpretentious - a rare combination of a village pub with its own excellent beer, where banter with the locals comes free, and a pleasant small hotel. Our room was spotless, the bathroom immaculate. What a pleasure to fall asleep to the sound of the Moulin Burn beneath the window! Service was brisk and friendly and the food both good and well-presented. If I have any concern, it was that the bed was a bit too firm for my ageing bones.
We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank formerfifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
6.6 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Hotel

Property: Moulin Hotel
Address: Pitlochry PH16 5EW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moulin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moulin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing