We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great find!!”
Review of Moulin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moulin Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what a great find!!”
Reviewed 26 September 2010

This is a lovely hotel, an excellent stay for a walking weekend.The bar meal we had there was fantastic and the bar staff charming, the restaurant meal didnt quite live up to the bar, but was lovely. An endearing place to stay with creaky floorboards and olde worlde charm. We'll be back!!

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank twofitladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    212
    54
    38
    36
See reviews for
95
303
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Had a good stay at the Moulin. The rooms were clean and for larger groups there was the "annex" that can accommodate more guests. The big perk is the great bar that is part of the hotel with locally made (50m away) beer and good food at a good price. One can also walk into town to gain access to a ATMs and grocery store. The only downside is the shower is a "UK" type shower where the entire tub is not enclosed by a curtain so water can spill out.

The breakfast was great and the best one of my trip. The wireless internet only worked near the front desk, which was fine for emailing a quick picture back home.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notmuchtosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Had a pleasent stay at the Moulin. Good rooms and a great bar for both food and drink.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlizzleChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, UK
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I loved everything about the Moulin, picturesque location, fantastic bar with 4 ales brewed on site, great food (the breakfast is one of the nicest I've ever had, the fruit pudding is heavenly) and gorgeous, very comfortable rooms.

There are lots of nice touches and details across the hotel, my particular favourites were the Scottish heritage centre in the church across the road and the brewery round the back which is fascinating.

Heartily recommended, a stop at the Moulin should be on everybodies Highland itinery.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maccaderby242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Yes it's pretty. But that is it. The bar food is not special, it is overpriced. Staff do not care. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluesnowdrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We didn't want to write a review because then everyone else would get to know about it, and we want to keep it to ourselves. We do a lot of hotels and B and B across Europe and the Moulin has to be one of the best, if not the best, we've ever stayed in. We've been calling in for lunch for years when staying with daughter in Dundee, and eventually managed to get one night to ourselves. The room was lovely, clean, well presented, and got to past the most wonderful collection of steam train paintings and pictures on the stairs (almost matched by the collection of motor racing prints in the gents loo!). We knew the food in the bar was good, but that in the restaurant surpassed it. When that is coupled with good beers from its own brewery, helpful and friendly staff, a location which is breathtaking, and seriously reasonable prices, then you can see why we were reluctant to share it in case everyone goes. If you want five star, then go to Glen Eagles; if you want a wonderful Scottish experience with walks on the hills starting from the door, then you can't do better than the Moulin.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We were here for my birthday so we booked this hotel with the option of the 3 course meal. I'm gald I did too as the meal was very good for both of us.
The hotel is a couple of miles out of Pitlochry, which is no bad thing at all & is absolutely charming. The bar is frequented by friendly locals & as an added bonus has it's own brewery across the road which brews 4 splendid beers. It is of course stocked with a plethora of whisky's including the local distillery, Edradour.
I walked the roads up to the distillery & was rewarded with fantastic views for my efforts, something you wouldn't get down the road in Pitlochry.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grubbytech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
880 reviews
5.9 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
699 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Hotel

Property: Moulin Hotel
Address: Kirkmicheal Road, Pitlochry PH16 5EW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moulin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful Haven of authentic Scottish highland hospitality since 1695 , The Moulin Hotel embraces a warm and welcoming world of peace, tranquillity and traditional Scottish hospitality. Perfectly sited in the village square of Moulin, an ancient Scottish waypoint, the hotel sits peacefully just 3/4 of a mile away from the bustling and perenially popular tourist town of Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Moulin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing