We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff but hotel in need of upgrade.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed 3 nights at Easter with my elderly mother in ground floor accessible, spacious room. However, we requested a room with shower only, but had to use nearby wet room that doubled as changing room for leisure centre and also as public disabled toilet. Not ideal, but if we had been advised of this we would have been more prepared! Staff were extremely concerned and helpful when my mum was taken ill. There could be more 'disabled' parking spaces and room could do with thorough clean/updating. Food very nice and dining room staff very nice. Overall, an enjoyable stay in beautiful setting.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank weekenderGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Hi, thanks for your post. I'm afraid the Hotel only has stand up shower units in the premier rooms and all others have showers over baths. I appreciate your scenario was not ideal but it does allow for disabled customers to bathe safely which is our priority. The Hotel is constantly looking at the best way to upgrade the Hotel and very soon we will be targetting more rooms. Glad you had a nice Easter and hope to see you again.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 910 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stopped at this hotel for three nights over Easter booking direct through Shearings website as a self drive break. As with previous comments the rooms need updating but let that not take away from the overall enjoyment of our stay. All public areas have been recently refurbished and are very comfortable. It is about a 10 minute walk to the town which is very pretty. I would also recommend walking around the Loch and the Hydro Dam. It is however the staff which make this Hotel. All interactions we had with them from those behind reception, the bar, restaurant and cleaners were positive. Nothing was too much trouble for them and an Easter Egg for everyone at breakfast on Easter Sunday was a nice touch. We stopped half board and the food was varied and of a good standard. By way of feedback we suggested the bar should stock a variety of locally brewed ales rather than the usual Grolsch/Guinness/ Worthington’s etc. They have entertainment a few nights a week and the singer Jay Jackson on Saturday was very good indeed. We felt we had good value for money and would recommend this hotel as a good base for exploring the local area.

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to one of the standard rooms with a scenic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amos100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Hello, Glad you had a nice Easter Break here and everything was to your satisfaction. The staff will be delighted that you have praised them as they put a lot into ensuring customers are well looked after. I regret getting all the easter eggs now because I ate two before 10 am then had another with my lunch........ Naughty but nice !
Thanks for the lovely comments and see you again.
Best regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We didnt realise until we got there that this hotel predominantly caters for over 50's on coach holidays! Our room was classed as 'standard' but we found it to be fairly below standard. The bed was uncomfortable and squeaked loudly at the slightest movement! The bathroom was disgusting; thick dust on the towel rail, dirty marks all over the back of bathroom door and paint work reallyd needed freshening up. The tv was an out-of-date 17" portable! A bit dated for the year 2012! On a positive note, our room was large and spacious with fab view out over scenic hills, although the outside of the windows were filthy. Ever heard of a window cleaner?? The main public areas were beautifully decorated; modern and fresh, as was the bar/restaurant area. Infact you'd think you'd just stepped into a 4 or 5 star hotel. We had dinner in the restaurant on our first night which was outstanding value at £15 each for 3 courses including tea/coffee. I was a bit dubious considering the price, but I honestly could not fault the food. Fresh, tasty and well presented. The service was good too. After dinner the bar/lounge area filled up with all the 'older' guests, which kind of made it feel like a nursing home!
I wouldnt return here. Purely because we felt so young (i am in my early 30's, my partner is 40), and also because our room was a bit Fawlty Towers.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmosMullett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Hello and thanks for your post. It would seem many aspects of your stay were positive but a couple of negatives too. The age profile of our customers differ week to week as Pitlochry itself attracts all manner of people and this Hotel has something for everyone.
You were right about the bed and this has been replaced. We are in the midst of changing our tv's over to flat screen and the windows get cleaned every few months ( it's quite an operation and very expensive!) I'm glad you enjoyed the food and it is something we work very hard at and feel it is exceptional value for money.
Thanks again
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We booked this as a late deal and was very happy at the very low price we paid as it was school holidays. I travelled with my daughter her partner and 12 year old grandson and chose this hotel as it had the pool. From the moment we arrived until the time we left and I have to say none of us wanted to go home, the service we received was first class. We took the standard rooms and yes maybe a little tired but very clean as the rooms were made up everyday with clean towels shampoo and soaps and plenty of tea and coffee and always warm, what more would anyone want for these tiny prices. The pool area was lovely and also very clean with free towels at reception for people wanting to use the pool or gym.
The bar area is new and very nice as is the dining room. The food is great and so much choice, the chef and his team do a great job getting it all out looking so good and tasting even better with no one having to wait. Many thanks to Gabor , Ruben and ildiko who served us with a smile every morning and evening . I liked the fact that you didn't have to have the same table every meal time it was great to sit in different places getting to know other guest. So thanks to all the staff for a great break and we will come back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judyh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Hi,
Delighted with your review, it makes mine and everyone elses day when customers take the time to post such lovely comments because we do work very hard and this makes all the difference.
Hopefully you will come again and we will look forward to welcoming you all.
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This hotel is similar to many others in the Shearing Hotel Group. Initially we were offered a room, whch frankly was dowdy, gloomy with a "non view" outlook, looking on to roofs only. Not the best advert for a nice restful weekend. For an extra £33 we were moved to a room with a pleasant outlook, but we think that this is rather a naughty way of upping the cost, rather like flying with Mr O'Leary. However, thereafter everything else was to our satisfaction. The food was good, and the breakfasts have improved dramatically. There are niggly little things which need attention, paintwork, windows sticking, and rather old baths. Bearing in mind the cost, it still repesents good value. The dining and lounge areas are very comfortable.. Would consider going again....but don't appreciate the hidden extra for what should be standard in a hotel..i.e. a room with a view

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a view, and really you should expect this to be provided within th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Hello,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and I am glad you enjoyed your weekend. I'm afraid we have to have different room categories as staying in a scenic or non scenic are slightly different experiences and consequently come at a price..... there would be a bun fight every check in day if this was not the case. We have a strong selection of rooms that give the customer options in terms of what you might be looking for in a break here.
Thanks again and I hope to see you again.
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

First holiday ever with Shearings upgraded to the premier room as my husband is disabled so had a lounge and bedroom both with tv's, well worth the extra money, kept clean and tidy every day could not fault it for a 3* seperate shower and bath
The staff were very helpfull and polite at all times
One evening when my husband was unable to go down for dinner it was provided in the room for him
Food ok could pay a little extra if you wanted to upgrade your meal service was prompt and never had to wait (bar meals did have to wait a bit too long)
Enjoyed the entertainment both evenings and no waiting at the bar
If you are wheelchair disabled this hotel is accessible
We had a very enjoyable holiday well done and thankyou to all the staff

Room Tip: premier room with a scenic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bronwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Hi, Thanks for the positive review and I have already passed on your comments to the team. I am pleased to see you appreciated our Premier Room and felt it was value for money. If you come again let us know and we will try to give you the same room again.
Thanks
Chris Stanton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Hotel rooms are a bit tired but reception and bar areas nice.

Food was good with a varied menu.

Service was excellent and staff were efficient and firendly.

Entertainmennt we saw was good.

Leisure facilities are a binus.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ini21312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Hello,
Thanks for your post and I am pleased all the qualities you were looking for were firmly in place.
Regards
Chris Stanton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,245 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £75 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotel.de so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing