We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Brittany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Booked an overnight stay here a couple of nights ago, excellent booking in experience, room was satisfactory, with ensuite, lounge area and comfy bed, we actually had a reasonable nights sleep, but our evening meal was such a disappointment, we were at the end of dinner service and were made to feel as though we were not welcome as staff were setting up tables for breakfast and making such a noise in doing so, the only thing we enjoyed about our meal was the bottle of Chablis!. The hotel is also used for coach parties which isn't a problem but wasn't expecting evening entertainment for the coach party while we were having dinner.
Had a swim in the pool, but the changing room needs updating, a bit tired looking, jacuzzi was closed for maintenance, so unable to use that.
Spoke to manager the next morning and seemed to listen to what we had to say and refunded our evening meal the night before which was generous of him.
Unfortunately we wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Go for a premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chemaripaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Hi, Yes, I can appreciate the fact that as each evening service draws to a close our staff are busy setting everything up for the following mornings service.......we try to be discreet but we do not have the luxury of holing off until everyone has finished. Myself and the rest of the team try very hard to ensure customers do not leave here disappointed and will continue to work hard to eliminate negative comments of any discription.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    302
    140
    63
    28
See reviews for
97
488
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Excellent reception booking in experience
very helpful

paid extra for upgrade but room was very small and run down
needing new bed
was advised that it was due a revamp/decoration etc
on arrival room and bathroom was mucky
bin not been emptied etc.
Re: review by "David R" weekend break seems to have had same experience

all staff (restuarant and bar etc ) excellent
Head waiter and his staff wonderful
Restaurant and public areas very good decoration etc
very comfortable and relaxing
money has been spent in this area
Shame about the rest of the hotel

Food was very very good
10/10 for the chef

Spa was very run down
needs complete refurb
Changing area much to be desired
jucussi dangerous
cut my foot on a broken valve
reported to management
anything done?
who knows

Room Tip: check out rooms etc direct with hotel don't rely on central booking they no nothing of specif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmedway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Hi, A bit of a mixed review and both the positives and negatives have already been discussed and passed on to the different departments. We have just completed the refurbishment of five standard rooms and are as pro active as we can be on this score. We constantly invest in Leisure ensuring everything runs smoothly and its appearance is welcoming.
Thanks for the review and see you again here.
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We booked into the Pitlochry Hydro Hotel in May 2012 for a two night break HB. After a long wait we where given the key to room 118, we were told this was an upgrade from our original booking. The room was disgusting, wallpaper coming off the walls; carpet was dirty and stained, the showerhead was filthy and tiles were stained in black mould, the top of the radiator must not have been cleaned for months it had over a 1cm of dust on it.
After being presented with the worst evening meal I have had in my life, we decided enough was enough and checked out that night and drove home, not staying, a complete waste of £198.00. Goodness knows what the original room must have been like?.

Room Tip: Don't bother going
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Hello there, I have already responded to your complaint following a letter you sent in to our Head Office so I'm not going to repeat myself here. Having said that, our intentions are always to look after our guests and make them as comfortable as possible but on this occasion we fell short. We take every comment seriously and your original complaint has been raised at one of our many meetings.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

This was the second hotel of a two centre holiday in Scotland. An excellent base from which to tour the many Highland attractions. We found the standard room with front view clean with all the facilities which one would expect. Bathroom facilities were good too, except that the shower was a bit complicated for us technology challenged seniors! Staff were friendly and efficient throughout the hotel. The food standard was superb, with a great selection and efficiently served. Excellent bar, lounge area which has live entertainment. The pool looks good too, though we didn't partake.

Room Tip: Front rooms with a view come at a small supplement, but they're worth it. Some rooms have been r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Hello there, great to see things were to your satisfaction. We work very hard to ensure all of the different aspects of your stay are firmly in place and it means such a lot when this is recognised and appreciated. Next time try our leisure facilities.....they are well appointed and can add that extra nice touch to your stay. Don't worry too much about the shower controls, Stephen Fry would struggle with some of them !!!!
Thanks again for a great review and hopefully see you here again sometime soon.
Regards
Chris Stanton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We went on a five day coach tour with Ulster Bus to the above hotel it was set in beautiful countryside with views over Pitlochry. The food was not good, the room was ok the bathroom was a bit tired, ie the grouting on some of the tiles was black and the tile rail was hanging off the wall. The coach tour was first class.

Room Tip: Book an upgrade for the room. The four stars for value relate to the tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archie767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Hello, Sorry we didn't quite meet your expectations with regards to your recent holiday here. It is very rare that our food falls short of what our customers expect....I have just looked back at comment card analysis from the week you were here and found that the vast majority of customers gave us excellent and good scores with just two fairs recorded. Having said that I have taken on board the comments you have made and raised them at our staff meeting today. Our intentions are to satisfy everyone who comes here.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

just spent four days at the pitlochry hydro we had a great time we were in a premier room
it was a good size it had every thing needed and was very comortable
the food was very good agood selection ,the staff were very helpful
it has anice pool

Room Tip: premier rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennisEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Hello,
Thanks enormously for a great review it really does mean a lot. We are forever checking trip advisor to see comments our customers post and I can promise you that when we see nice reviews it gives us all a boost. Glad you enjoyed one of our premier rooms and the leisure facilities were utilised by you.
See you again.
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed here as part of a Sports Tour package for the Etape Caledonia.

It looks as if the hotel is being decorated from the ground up-the lounge/bar/dining room was lovely with a good atmosphere, however our room was from the 1970's! In saying that, it was spacious, had everything we required and had a comfy bed, but it was pretty tired looking and the windows let in a fair amount of air with rather inefficient heating.

All the staff were lovely and couldn't have done more to help which was nice.

The food was OK-I think good value for money as part of our package and a good selection, but the portion sizes were a little small and iit all arrived v quickly, meaning you'd had a full 3 course meal within 30 minutes.

Gym & pool were good.

Location for us was excellent, but if limited mobility, it's 'up the hill' which might not suit everyone.

All in all, we felt we had a good value for money package and would not fault the Hydro, but it would not be our choice for a special weekend away.

Room Tip: I believe rooms on the first floor have been modernised recently, but carry a premium price
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen7ify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Hello there and thanks for posing a review. There is no question that the Etape Caledonia has become a unique weekend for us. Two years ago we had half a dozen cyclists, then last year about thirty and this year at least eighty or so.......
I think we, as a team, have adapted well in order to cater for everyone and provide a hospitable base to prepare for the race. I'm glad you enjoyed our leisure facilities and felt the staff worked hard for you all. I'm guessing it will be the same next year which will, of course, be here before we know it.
Thanks Again
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Property: The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing