We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“value for money break”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

spent weekend break at hydro, staff very pleasant food was of a good standard and overall my wife and i had a very enjoyable break .only negative i can say is,we stayed on the first floor and if the room was of the same standard as the rest of the hotel then i would have no hesitation on returning to this hotel as it is in a beautiful part of the country.room in dire need of a refresh.

Room Tip: ask for one thats been refurbished recently if any
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garysimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Hello there, thanks for taking the time to post a pleasant review and I am pleased you found your stay to be of good value. We do have superior and premier rooms that are more modern than our standard accommodation at very attractive rates should you consider us again.
Thanks
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    309
    148
    65
    31
See reviews for
99
497
42
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This hotel was very comfortable and was very helpful when we had a noise problem. The food was very good with plenty of choice. Surrounding attractions and museums kept us occupied thanks to the information packs in the rooms. We would not hesitate to visit again, especially to hear Bruce Davis sing and play his guitars. That was the highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian_Chapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Hi, thanks for a nice review. I'm always pleased to read that customers have had such a nice stay they would return.....it means a lot and encourages us all ! Bruce is a first class entertainer and will be delighted to find that he was a highlight of your stay. I will tell the chefs that you enjoyed their food which might put them in a good mood for 24 hours !! You know what chefs are like.......
Thanks again and see you here at some point in the future.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

my wife and i stayed in this hotel 6yrs ago, since then the hotel has had a make over, we stayed in a first floor room with a brilliant view the first time we stayed and it was very pleasant, this time we stayed in what i would call an annexe with a flat roof, the room was a good size and had everything we required but the bathroom although big the shower head was the wrong type for the shower and kept falling off, making shower usless.Also it was dirty in places,obviously a quick mop and rub round is all it ever got.Food was very good and waiting staff excellent service was very good.Liesure centre was good my wife enjoyed her swim, entertainment wasn't very good, but we did not go to be entertained, overall a good base to look around and visit the area, i would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Hello there, pleased to read that you would consider us again for a potential return visit. We have a huge amount of returning customers who feel we deliver a strong product that represents great value for money. I will pass on your comments to our team.
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalkey, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Shabby and dated bedroom.
Uncomfortable bed.
No safe.
TV was old and did not even have a remote control.
Despite all this, I found the staff extremely helpful.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Hi there, on a positive note I'm glad the staff were to your satisfaction. We don't have a safe in the rooms but would have happily allowed you to use the Hotel one. Otherwise I'm sorry the Hotel did not meet your expectation with regards to accommodation.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed in a standard room which was more than adequate, very clean and tidy, there wasn't a flat screen TV or digital channels but then there wasn't much time to watch it either as we were only there for 4 nights on a Coach Holiday with Shearings - we could hear someone snoring in the next room though!!!
The food and choice was excellent with varying eating times (booked in advance) between 6pm and 8pm. Breakfast was very good, although quite small portions.
The swimming pool was lovely and warm and the lounges were very comfortable, most of the staff were very friendly. The only gripe that we had was with the bar, there wasn't much choice of beers and the bar maid said she couldn't serve us with a 'glass' of Pino Grigio (we would have had to purchase whole bottle!!! Not really promoting sensible drinking!!) so consequently we didn't drink in the hotel and walked down the hill into the town or up the hill to Moulin and the Moulin Inn. Pitlochry is a lovely little town with exclusive knitwear shops and plenty of walks, a visit to the Fish Ladder is very picturesque and interesting. Overall had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Hello there, thanks for the post and I am glad you enjoyed your wee break. We are scheduled to install flat screen tv's in all rooms later this year which we are looking forward to.
I'm afraid we don't have every wine on offer for sale by the glass but your comments will be logged and considered. It's funny you mention the snoring because our night porter told me about a snorer that week who would win competitions and set the fire alarms off... and I thought he was exaggerating....obviously not !
Sorry......
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
206 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We were at Pitlochry Hydro on a special offer two night break which was exceptional value. We paid a supplement for a scenic room which was well worth it (I cannot comment on the quality of the Premier rooms which incur a greater supplement). Although dated, the room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a peaceful position overlooking Pitlochry and ten minutes walk from the main street. Meals were of good quality and were accompanied by extremely efficient service-we are fast eaters so we should know! A welcome bonus is the excellent swimming pool and fitness room. All in all a great base to have in Pitlochry.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a scenic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyholidays8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Hi there, thanks for a lovely post. Week after week customers tell what great value for money we are and I am always pleased when customers put those comments on trip advisor. We work terribly hard ensuring each and aspect of your stay goes well and again, I am pleased you enjoyed our food and our leisure facility.
Hope to see you again and thanks for taking the trouble to post a review.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Had a five day coach trip and really enjoyed the experience. We found the rooms clean and comfortable, the hotel is in the process of upgrading some rooms. The service in the restaurant is excellent and the food is great. We used the pool every evening, towels provided, pool is lovely and warm. The staff are friendly and welcoming, we had no complaints at all. Beautiful location we saw red squirrel, wlid deer and salmon and to top it all the weather was kind!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 731kaz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Hello there and thanks for a lovely review. Yes, we have just completed refurbishment on a handful of rooms and are pleased with the results....they look fantastic ! I'm really pleased you enjoyed our food, the service in the restaurant and took full advantage of our leisure facilities. I think the 'icing on the cake' for any trip to this part of the world are sightings of various wildlife and it appears you were lucky during your stay. Thanks for a positive review which will motivate everyone here.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,566 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Property: The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS and Priceline so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing