We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highland Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Pitlochry has to be one of the prettiest little towns set in the middle of a beautiful rural part of the scottish highland. The Hydro is a lovely hotel - furbished to a very high standard and makes the perfect base for a holiday in this area. The facilities are excellent with a pool house, jacuzzi, sauna and Gym available to guests. The quality and choice of the food available in the restaurant is second to none and the waiting staff ar a credit to the hotel - very friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble. The same could be said of all the staff friendly, efficient and very helpful - can't fault them - we enjoyed our stay so much, we are going back in September for the highland games

Room Tip: You can pay extra for a room with a view and the views are spectacular, but even if you dont pay the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Hello there, nice to see you again and I'm glad everything went well and you have posted a nice review. I think it is a Highland Haven here...so much to do in each direction and a very peaceful location to unwind in. I'm pleased you benefitted from using our leisure facilities and enjoyed our food.
Best Regards and see you up here again soon.
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

Based on another Shearings four nights inclusive coach deal end of June 2012.Thank you Colin for being an excellent driver and informative guide.Regret the inclusive dinner whilst perfectly adequate was not as good as regards choice and quality as the other shearings hotels we have stayed in,Wine selection good but overpriced.So take advantage of corkage at £5.00 per bottle and bring your own.Drinkmonger in main street has a superb range at all prices and handy for local bus to/from near hotel,55p each way and do not take bus pass!
Sorry ! I forgot to include the Scottish staff in my Title.!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 49Banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Hi, thanks for the post and I'm glad you think our staff are good at what they do and are friendly as they go about it. Based on the prices of all the Hotels/bars in Pitlochry that I 'occasionally' frequent !!!! I think we are competitively priced considering we have entertainment and provide a comfortable and smart place to sit and relax.
I have just seen Colin whist responding to your comments and have passed on your regards.
Thanks
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

spent weekend break at hydro, staff very pleasant food was of a good standard and overall my wife and i had a very enjoyable break .only negative i can say is,we stayed on the first floor and if the room was of the same standard as the rest of the hotel then i would have no hesitation on returning to this hotel as it is in a beautiful part of the country.room in dire need of a refresh.

Room Tip: ask for one thats been refurbished recently if any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garysimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Hello there, thanks for taking the time to post a pleasant review and I am pleased you found your stay to be of good value. We do have superior and premier rooms that are more modern than our standard accommodation at very attractive rates should you consider us again.
Thanks
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This hotel was very comfortable and was very helpful when we had a noise problem. The food was very good with plenty of choice. Surrounding attractions and museums kept us occupied thanks to the information packs in the rooms. We would not hesitate to visit again, especially to hear Bruce Davis sing and play his guitars. That was the highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian_Chapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Hi, thanks for a nice review. I'm always pleased to read that customers have had such a nice stay they would return.....it means a lot and encourages us all ! Bruce is a first class entertainer and will be delighted to find that he was a highlight of your stay. I will tell the chefs that you enjoyed their food which might put them in a good mood for 24 hours !! You know what chefs are like.......
Thanks again and see you here at some point in the future.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

my wife and i stayed in this hotel 6yrs ago, since then the hotel has had a make over, we stayed in a first floor room with a brilliant view the first time we stayed and it was very pleasant, this time we stayed in what i would call an annexe with a flat roof, the room was a good size and had everything we required but the bathroom although big the shower head was the wrong type for the shower and kept falling off, making shower usless.Also it was dirty in places,obviously a quick mop and rub round is all it ever got.Food was very good and waiting staff excellent service was very good.Liesure centre was good my wife enjoyed her swim, entertainment wasn't very good, but we did not go to be entertained, overall a good base to look around and visit the area, i would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Hello there, pleased to read that you would consider us again for a potential return visit. We have a huge amount of returning customers who feel we deliver a strong product that represents great value for money. I will pass on your comments to our team.
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Shabby and dated bedroom.
Uncomfortable bed.
No safe.
TV was old and did not even have a remote control.
Despite all this, I found the staff extremely helpful.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
7  Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Hi there, on a positive note I'm glad the staff were to your satisfaction. We don't have a safe in the rooms but would have happily allowed you to use the Hotel one. Otherwise I'm sorry the Hotel did not meet your expectation with regards to accommodation.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed in a standard room which was more than adequate, very clean and tidy, there wasn't a flat screen TV or digital channels but then there wasn't much time to watch it either as we were only there for 4 nights on a Coach Holiday with Shearings - we could hear someone snoring in the next room though!!!
The food and choice was excellent with varying eating times (booked in advance) between 6pm and 8pm. Breakfast was very good, although quite small portions.
The swimming pool was lovely and warm and the lounges were very comfortable, most of the staff were very friendly. The only gripe that we had was with the bar, there wasn't much choice of beers and the bar maid said she couldn't serve us with a 'glass' of Pino Grigio (we would have had to purchase whole bottle!!! Not really promoting sensible drinking!!) so consequently we didn't drink in the hotel and walked down the hill into the town or up the hill to Moulin and the Moulin Inn. Pitlochry is a lovely little town with exclusive knitwear shops and plenty of walks, a visit to the Fish Ladder is very picturesque and interesting. Overall had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArtyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Hello there, thanks for the post and I am glad you enjoyed your wee break. We are scheduled to install flat screen tv's in all rooms later this year which we are looking forward to.
I'm afraid we don't have every wine on offer for sale by the glass but your comments will be logged and considered. It's funny you mention the snoring because our night porter told me about a snorer that week who would win competitions and set the fire alarms off... and I thought he was exaggerating....obviously not !
Sorry......
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,982 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
1.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,200 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 17 in Pitlochry
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#12 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £66 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing