We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Angus G”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
stevenston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Angus G”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Travelled by car on a four night break starting on a Monday.The staff the facilities and in particular the food was excellent, the best value for money I have experienced in a long time, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenbranter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Hello and thanks for a review that included how much you enjoyed our food and what fantastic value for money you had......I know that the vast majority of our customers fell this way too. The chefs will be pleased with your comments as they work very hard to give good value and remain consistent week in week out.
Thanks again, your comments are appreciated.
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    302
    146
    63
    30
See reviews for
99
491
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Started our break on the Friday after a 6 hour drive. Te[he whole country was gripped in snow which made the scenery even more fantastic. ALL the staff were very happy to help. Made one comment regarding slightly noisy neighbour which was fully sorted immediately, very impressed. We didn't expect entertainment so the artiste on Saturday was welcome and very good. Food was excellent although more warm than hot. Only minus point would be that there were gratuity boxes all over the place for different members of staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Hi, thanks for your comments and I'm glad everything was in order for you. I too was 'oot and aboot' on Friday and felt the same way about the beauty that is Highland Perthshire ....it's spectacular and I am lucky to live here.
So hope to see you again in this lovely part of the world....and more importantly, in this Hotel !
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Went with Shearings and from start to finish everything was first class. From the warm welcome from the assistant manager to the restaurant staff we could not fault it. The only low point was with the entertainment on the first night. One of the friendliest hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors are well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 11Yorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Hi,
I absolutely love responding to reviews that include the phrases 'great hotel' 'first class' 'warm welcome' 'could not fault' and 'friendly'.........this encourages us to be all those things and more for our next set of guests.....and even our current ones.....thanks a million !
Cheers
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We travelled to this hotel as part of a wedding party and had a great stay. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The town is only a short walk away and there are plenty of attractions. The food was excellent and no shortage of full Scottish breakfasts. The room was a little tired but clean. The bathroom furniture was very tired and I had a full scale battle with the shower just to get it going. All in all a nice hotel with excellent staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Hello and thanks for the review. I'm glad you thought things were excellent , including the staff, and if you come again we will do everything we can to push the 3 star review to at least a 4.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Second time here and we chose this Hotel due to a very good 4 night offer as we travelled off season. Staff are very helpful, attentive and friendly. Not the best up to date rooms I've been too but has everything you need for your stay. To me a little tired but clean! We had to change rooms and it wasn't a problem. Some windows on ground floor don't open from the bottom meant we would have to continually ask for Windows opened and closed from top so decide on a first floor room. Lift available!
Breakfast...to me is a little limited if you don't want a Full Scottish Breakfast or cooked I would like to see more choice. Dinner...mostly was very good but limited on vegetarian and we specifically asked when booking to be accommodated but I felt we were not. Lounge and dining room are very nice!
Leisure facilities are average but adequate for purpose. Ladies changing rooms require up dating as found them lacking maintenance. Clean enough!
Overall I would still recommend this Hotel and would go back myself at right price as we're on a budget.
Travel....easy to find by car and 5/10 min walk down a hill into Pitlochry. Remember that you have to walk back up if no car! Travelling by bus or train both stop at Pitlochry you can walk but depends on your fittness level. Rough guess 10/15 mins from bus and 15/20 from train.
If you have not been to this area before best first stop is information centre on main street. Recommend eating places for full meal or snacks are Cafe Biba on the main street with plenty of choice.
Visits are a plently if you have a car...House of Bruer and falls of bruer! Blair Atholl is lovely but check out info centre for more.
Hope this review is of some help.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Hello, thanks for the review. It would seem like most aspects of your stay were very good and i have noted all of your points to include at a staff meeting scheduled for tomorrow. I'm glad you felt the team were helpful and your issue with the window was dealt with without any hassle.
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

A beautifully refurbished hotel overlooking Pitlochry which is a ten minute walk away.
The staff are fantastic and can't do enough to help.
Food was lovely with a good choice each night.
We had a lovely room with a good size bathroom and plenty of storage space. There was a lovely big mirror on one wall but the lighting was so poor it made it difficult to use and you needed a torch to find anything in the wardrobe.
There was a table and two comfy chairs in the room but again due to the poor lighting, it was impossible to see well enough to read and we had to sit on the bed instead.
Apart from the poor lighting we couldn't fault this hotel and look forward to going back to use the lovely swimming pool as we didn't get to use it this time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Hello and thanks for your post. The staff have just made me aware of this latest review and took great delight in highlighting the fact that they had been mentioned.........this is going to cost me !!!
It's great to read that all was well and I take note of the fact your room wasn't as bright as you liked ...... next time you come make sure you mention issues like this to us and we will sort it out.....we have the tecnology and occasionally the know how !!
Thanks again for posting such a nice review and see you again soon perhaps.
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

we chose this hotel as the leisure facilities looked good, as well as the hotel itself. upon arrival we were given a 50 pound credit between us towards food or beverages . the room which was a standard room was of good quality warm, and plenty of hot water for the bath. in the restaurant there was a good choice on the menu of a three course meal. the food we found was really good .breakfast also was very good. there is a large bar lounge area and also a another lounge and tv lounge. entertainment on two of the nights was very good. bar service too was very good . leisure facilities excellent. guests have full use of swimming pool, jacuzi sauna and gym . pitlochry itself is a charming place and we found it quite easy walking into the town and back from the hotel. overall we had a very good time and i must say thanks to all the staff for making this hotel as good as it is , excellent. we will return in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrjim24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Hi, well thats me happy for the rest of the day....Monday mornings arn't too bad when the first e mail I look at links me to a customer praising us. It appears every aspect of your stay was as it should be and most importantly tou will consider us again. The midweek offer is particularly good value for money and just about everyone I meet during the week tells me so. The staff will be delighted that you appreciate their efforts and a big thank you for taking the trouble to post such a nice review.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Property: The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing