We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel couldn't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel couldn't fault it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Food was very good and the staff, especially Frank was excellent. Never been to Scotland before and was amazed at the fabulous views all around that area especially the Queens View.

Room Tip: We had room 130 lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinesanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Hi, and what a lovely to the point and matter of fact five star review...I'm delighted. Frank has just come skipping into my office to tell me of his growing popularity and how, with such good comments being posted about him, he deserves a long weekend off (with spending money !) I'm not sure I'm that pleased but he might squeeze a pint off me....
Now you have sampled the beauty of Scotland you will always come back...it's the rule !
Thanks a lot
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    302
    140
    63
    30
See reviews for
98
488
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moray, Scotland
Level Contributor
260 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is clearly set up for coach tours which judging by the comments of fellow guests, i think they do that reasonably well. If you're not in that market it feels overpriced for what you get. We paid £85 for a room with tatty furniture and paper thin walls. We could hear conversations and tv from next door rooms. The gym was great when I was the only person in it. It's open to non residents. There were 9 people in for 9 gym stations which was totally unworkable so i ended up leaving earlier than planned. Pool looked great. Dinner was fine but a little expensive for the quality at over £20 for two courses. I was amused to have 'full price' written on my bill as though it was an unusual occurrence. I thought the staff were very friendly and helpful. It's a decent walk to the town centre which may not suit everyone.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Boondoggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to post a review. I just wanted to take this opportunity to explain a couple of your concerns. Firstly, I am glad you thought the staff to be friendly.... that's very important to us.
The gym is usually quiet, I've never known it to be so busy so things went against you there...very unusual. We do operate with coaches during the week though not at the weekend but we try really hard to balance the way we set things up so nobody really notices that it is one thing or another.
The vast majority of guests here have booked a half board package, whether on a tour or not, and they get an option to upgrade to ' a la carte' at a reduced rate as they have already paid for their half board deal..........for customers booked in at just B&B there is no reduction on the 'a la carte' menu which explains why we write a wee note to let reception know what to bill and therefore avoid over and under charging. It's just a management control .
I hope you give us another chance to impress you at some point in the future.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here on a Shearings holiday. The hotel was comfortable and we felt very 'at home' in our small but comfortable room. As some people have written the bathrooms are dated but warm, clean and all we needed. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The food was tasty and there was a wide choice of menu every day, the service was efficient and friendly. It was good to have time to enjoy the swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room, The walk down into Pitlochry was easy although going 'up hill' on the way back took a little longer but there were various different routes to take. An evening trip to the lovely Festival Theatre was made easy with a taxi booked by the hotel for us. This was a good place to stay in this lovely part of Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellebeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hi, and thanks for a five star review. Delighted that you enjoyed the food, staff and general feel of our Hotel.....if our customers feel 'at home' then thats a great indication that we are doing our jobs properly. On an earlier response to a review I mentioned that more and more of our customers are taking advantage of our local Theatre as you have too. It's a wonderful feature of our town and I am glad it is recognised as such....I'm going again this week as it happens !
So thanks again for taking the time to post a lovely review.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just returned from a Shearings holiday in Scotland ,we were based at the Hydro Hotel in Pitochry. Before I go any further may I say to all the serial whingers "get a life if you don't like the hotel go somewhere else and make someone elses life Wonderful hotel ,wondereful staff,food exceptional, and the rooms clean and comfortable. no noise. What a pleasure to wake in the morning go for a swim or sauna and then fully refreshed dine on a wonderful wholesome breakfast.A breakfast menu to suit everyone.
The evening meal was five star the menu changed every day with 5 selections on the main meal..
The staff were extremely helpful and polite.
entertainment .we were kept entertained for two and a half hours on two separate nights, thoroughly enjoyed each evening with entertainment of the highest level
Still having a chuckle at some of the jokes we heard on those two nights. Oh and Frank in the restaurant we know you look like a big bear but underneath your just a big softy. Thank you to Stuart the Shearings driver for his driving skills and excellent commentary as we drove along at times we did not know we were moving,good acceleration and braking, he his surely a jewel in Shearings crown ,look after him Shearings you do not get many like him . aye folks
.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woodystag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Hello and thanks very much for such a lovely review. It appears everything was firmly in place and you enjoyed every aspect of your break with us. The staff will be delighted with your comments and as ever will be motivated by them. I will pass on your regards to Stuart who will be delighted he has been singled out as the drivers are often overlooked when these reviews come in.
Thanks again and hopefully you will come back and see us at some point in the future.
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband and I booked this for a romantic treat but we were really disappointed with the room we were given it was like a dungeon really dark and not very clean windows were filthy etc on complaining we were moved to another room .Then we went down to the restaurant for our dinner that was the worst meal ever as we were last serving at 8pm it was obviously pre cooked and held in the oven my chicken was like rubber + veg were all dryed up it was disgusting not what we expected at all . My husband asked for restaurant manager whom was very condescending to me madam this and madam that eventually it was resolved. I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone especially not for a ROMANTIC WEEKEND !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Betsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Hi, we were expecting this and not a tiny bit surprised. We gave you options which you chose not to take.... we were extra nice to you because of the situation and ,of course, this meant nothing. I always take constructive criticism on the chin but not in this case I'm afraid. I will not even attempt to defend our business following such an insult.
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

What can I say about something that is perfect..Great pool,sauna and jacuzzi..Staff that go out of there way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible..Excellent food...Drinks a little pricey but that's the going rate in Scotland...You will have to search high and low to find a better hotel for the same price range.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miffy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Hi there, we are thrilled with your review and cannot thank you enough....five stars is a target we set ourselves and it's great when it's achieved. I firmly believe we are a friendly Hotel and only very occasionally does that standard slip and we record a 'bad day at the office' in our handover books.
Your comments have cheered us all up and thanks for taking the time. It was nice chatting to you during your stay.
See you again in this lovely part of the world.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel is a real unexpected treat.
It has an excellent swimming pool complete with a hot tub, The water is much warmer than you average pool both for water and air temperature.
the restaurant has a good choice of food on the menu with more than adequate portion sizes (a change from some previous shearing hotel experiences) The Waiting staff were both swift and courteous.
The hotel rooms have had a recent upgrade with comfortable beds with sheets and blankets, flat screen tv even in our standard grade room and a reasonable bathroom. The usual expected tea and coffee facilities including shortbread (more provided daily (bonus))
As other reviews have mentioned the hotel is up a hill from the town and less able visitors may want to take a taxi up to the hotel from the town

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Hello there, what a lovely review to cheer us all up. I've noticed a lot of customers comment on how pleased they are with our leisure facilities these days which I am very pleased about. Its also very nice to be complimented on both the food and staff too..... I have said it a thousand times, we all work very hard in a busy and demanding environment and when we get four and five star reviews it certainly makes it all worthwhile.
Thanks a lot, your comments have helped remind us all what a good job we do !
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Property: The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, HRS and Agoda so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing