We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unexpected Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here on Friday 31st January, turning up in the late afternoon because the main A9 road north had been closed due to bad weather.

The hotel may be 3* but the service we received from the moment we checked in was 5*, the staff really couldn't have done anything more for us especially given that they were under increasing pressure as more unexpected guests turned up due to the road being closed.

A special thanks to the Chef who started a bit early to make soup and a sandwich for our daughter and to Frank (?) who ran the dining room so effectively (sorry if I got your name wrong), the Receptionist who arranged a cot just minutes after our arrival.

In terms of accommodation we found the room to be clean and comfortable and very spacious for the 3 of us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil1969_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi there, I'm just glad we could accommodate you as more often than not we are booked out on a weekend. The sooner they commence work on the A9 the better!
Yes, the handover book was chock a block with reminders for me on Saturday morning with all the changes that had gone on the night before......it was an hour and a half before I had my first coffee ! It would appear the team on duty on Friday night did an excellent job and that pleases me enormously.
Thanks for the post and see you again.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    298
    134
    63
    28
See reviews for
95
479
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Cracking 5 day break.
Stayed at the Hydro for 5 days with Shearings. (W/C 13th Jan )
We have completed many coach tours over the years with various companies and stayed in many hotels.
The Hydro is the best we have stayed in so far.
From arrival to departure we felt welcome and looked after.
All the staff here are very friendly and are led by a professional and efficient team. A special mention to the very busy restaurant manager
Food choice and quality are by far the best we have encountered.
Plenty of choice at breakfast including fresh fruit, yoghurt, croissants,salmon, full cooked breakfast and my own favorite porridge.
Evening meal times are your choice. you are asked at breakfast what time you would like to eat.
The evening meal menu is superb and includes a veggie option. Portions are adequate and everything we had was cooked to perfection.
I especially enjoyed the Haggis (no bones either ) lol
There is also an option to upgrade to the al a carte menu.
Drinks from the bar are expensive but this is offset by the £25 pp refreshment package included the price of the stay.
My wife used the pool etc and enjoyed a relaxing hour or two despite the water being a little cold the first two days.
There are some great walks around the hotel and Pitlochry area and reception have some print outs if you ask. There is also a micro brewery and pub ten minutes from the hotel which
is well worth the visit. Pitlochry is a lovely place with plenty of shops, bars and places to eat.
The Shearings excursions were good value and interesting especially as we had some snow during our visit which made for some great photographs.

The only negative of our stay was the room shower (216) it was more like a mini garden sprinkler giving little spurts of water every few seconds.
There was however a plentiful supply of hot water at great pressure and would fill a bath in 2 mins so we made do with that.
I would not hesitate in booking here again or recommending it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: We upgraded but others who did not had no complaints about their rooms etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alfonso_frisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hello there,
The team are delighted with your comments and pleased that their efforts are recognised and appreciated. To mention that of all the coach holidays you have been on with other companies that this one has been the best makes us all feel very proud.
I am glad you will return at some point in the future as many of our guests do.
Thanks very much for such positive feed back that will help keep us all motivated for the year ahead.
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Have just returned from a weekend break with Caledonian Travel staying at the Hydro. This was our first visit and I would happily return and recommend it to others. Indeed on talking to some of the fellow passengers they were equally as impressed and hope to return. We had room 226 (twin room with a view) and I would recommend the supplement. The room was very spacious and well furnished. It looks like the room, bathroom and corridor had recently been re-decorated. Beds were very comfortable and although there is no central heating, the room had two very efficient heaters that kept the room very toasty.
The staff were very friendly and helpful - difficult to pick one out above the others. The lounges, bar and restaurant have been very nicely refurbished and very comfortable. Leisure facilities are good - swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna - lovely!
Like the previous reviewer (babs57) I cannot understand some of the comments made about the restaurant. There was plenty of choice for breakfast - cereals, fruit, yoghurt, fruit juices and breakfast rolls and croissants. Plus numerous and variety of cooked breakfasts and tea or coffee and toast. For the evening meal there was a three course meal with sufficient choices for each or you could choose al a carte with loads of choice. The meals we had very delicious and they certainly do not skimp on the portions. Service was also excellent.
The only cautionary comment I would make is that the hotel is uphill above the main shopping area of Pitlochry. It takes about 5/10 mins to walk from the main street and it is quite an incline so may not be suitable for people with mobility issues. However, there are local buses that go up that road and there are always taxis at the nearby railway station and wouldn't cost much.

Room Tip: Worth paying the supplement for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThistleTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi, and thanks very much for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. It would seem that we ticked all of your boxes and that means everything to us. Happy customers is the name of the game and as I have mentioned many times on these pages, we work very hard to deliver the goods.
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Hotel very clean and comfortable food was excellent and the service in the dining room was first class Very varied selection of meals well presented and cooked Our bedroom was very clean but cold and stuffy because we could not open a window and the bathroom could have done with an extractor fan It took quite a while to warm the room as there was only a fan heater which broke down on our last day . Our coach driver Gordon was very informative and knowledgeable about the area as well as very friendly In all very good value for the cost of the holiday and we will return

Room Tip: We should have upgraded Avoid room 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leighty81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hello there and thanks for your nice comments. I am particularly pleased to read that you found our food to be excellent and that Gordon was very informative on your trips out. it is always extremely satisfying to know that you would return.
Thanks a lot.
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We have just returned from a Shearings break to the Pitlochry hydro. . An excellent hotel We had a room with a scenic view no 216. which was excellent and I can recommend the suppkement well worth it. . I an surprised at some of the reviews of the restaurant as we have nothing but praise for it. The breakfast was amazing a good selection and something for everyone. The only thing i would have liked would be a Scottish Breakfast. ie. fried potato scone. but this is just a suggestion not a criticism. The entertainment in the bar was very good. and the in house credit a bonus.
.

Room Tip: Pay the supplement for a scenic room. we had 216 well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi there and thanks for posting a five star review, we are all delighted that you had an excellent time and enjoyed our entertainment.
Hope to see you again up here in Highland Perthshire.
Best Regards, comments like yours make a massive difference to morale.
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We travelled as part of a shearing break (our first in around 18 years) for our wedding anniversary and we could not have hoped for more. Our driver Gordon and the other coach driver Geoffrey were great, very informative of the local area and a very funny double act.
On arrival the hotel was clean and welcoming and rom the minute we were greeted by the manager to the day we paid our bill and departed we had excellent service from all the staff. A special mention has to go to Wajeck on the bar as he was very friendly, remembered us each time we saw him and most of all very patient.
The choice of, included, food was excellent, hot, good size portions with very quick service and my husband can attest that all the food you had to pay a bit extra for was also worth it.
I also had the veggie sausage same as a previous reviewer and I loved mine as it was different, I agree a bit over cooked but it was definitely edible.
All the waiting staff were very quick and efficient and the service was a credit to the restaurant manager Frank.
We did not use the pool but it did look inviting from the outside.
Overall A* from us we are looking forward to going back again.

Room Tip: rooms over looking the front have great views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SARAH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi, I love the title of your review...thanks. The chuckle brothers ( Gordon and Geoff) will be thrilled with your comments and are now in rehearsals for their Britain's Got talent audition in a couple of months time.....
Glad you also enjoyed the services from all our staff and in particular Frank and Wojtek.
I'm also glad you enjoyed our food too, we work very hard on that score. Having said that there seems to be a veggie sausage situation going on....never in the history of Trip advisor have two successive reviews mentioned the same breakfast item...... Now I know one customer likes the Linda McCartney style soya meat sausage and you like the potato and veggie patty style, but which ones best....there's only one way to find out.... FIIIIIIGHHT.
Best Regards
Harry Hill
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
419 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

lots of good points
1.this is beautiful as you approach
2.a warm welcome awaited us at reception.
3.the downstairs area has been tastefully refurbished and looks smart and modern too
4.the room was lovely and warm and clean
5.bed was comfy and room was clean
6. all the staff were very friendly

a not so good points
1.the shower was only a trickle but bearable

some dreadful points
ie the breakfast....
1.being in scotland i was dying to have good porridge and this was like wallpaper paste. maybe that is the traditional way of making it but it was the worst i have ever had. neither did they have any brown sugar to sprinkle on it which i accept is my personal preference but it is rare for a restaurant to have none on the premises at all
2.bread for toast was very poor quality and tasted like a tesco 9p loaf
3.it wasn't very hot
4.the vegetarian sausage. well for a start it wasn't a vegetarian sausage, it was a mixed vegetable, sausage shaped thing, with carrots, cabbage, peppers etc in it - not a breakfast sausage at all.
on top of that it had been deep fried and was just the most revolting thing i have ever been served (next to the porridge!) it was clearly overcooked and smelled and tasted burnt
5.the presentation on the plate was more like a greasy spoon and everything just piled on top of each other - not very appetising

we did not eat a meal here in the restaurant so cannot comment on the rest of the food, maybe the breakfast chef was just having a bad day but we definitely wont rush back here for breakfast.

would i stay again? yes on a room only basis

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingjode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi, sorry we didn't quite bowl you over on your recent visit. I appreciate the fact you have listed the positives too which always suggests that you have given us a fair and balanced review based on the experience you had.
A closer eye will be focussed on breakfast to identify if your issues were one off or bad habits creeping in. Finally, please do not think that we pay 7p for a loaf of bread.....times that figure by 14 and you are about there.
Thanks again and I hope you give us another chance.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Property: The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing