We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely break away”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just back from a one night's stay. On arrival we were upgraded to a superior room. Room was in the corner of the building and had windows on two sides with views of the mountains - very pitoresque and saw the sun rising from behind the mountains. We had a drink in the lounge before heading out for dinner. The lounge was lovely and all very modern. Our breakfast in the morning was great and service was efficient and friendly. I would definately recommend a stay here and will definately be back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hi and thanks for posting a wonderful review. The title of your review pleases me as sometimes that's exactly what you need.... a wee lovely break away. If its cost effective and much of what you hoped for was in place then everyone's a winner. I say this a lot but we really do work very hard to deliver a product that people enjoy.
Hope to see you again.
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    311
    153
    67
    31
See reviews for
100
505
42
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Went with Shearings and driver Jeff was brilliant cherubs, so knowledgeable about the area. All of the staff were really friendly, efficient and helpful. Bedrooms very clean and warm, crisp white cotton bedding and white fluffy towels. Food was delicious and lots of choice especially at breakfast. Great warm swimming pool and Jacuzzi, did not try the sauna or gym. Entertainment on Tues and Thurs was brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hello and thanks for a glowing five star review. You mention our friendly staff, delicious food and great leisure facilities.......... music to my ears.
Thanks a million, we are all delighted.
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Took a Shearings trip for a winter break. Great hotel, the food fabulous and had a good choices on the menu, the waiter service brilliant, nice clean bedroom and bathroom with the towels changed whenever we wanted, pool, Jacuzzi and sauna great. Really enjoyed our trip. Trips out good and our driver Gordon was very entertaining.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hi there and thanks for a great review. Nice to read you enjoyed our leisure facilities, it reminds me that I should use them more myself ! promises promises !! I will also pass on your kind comments to Gordon once he returns from sunning himself on a beach somewhere...lucky boy.
Thanks so much, our spirits remain lifted thanks to customers like you finding time to post your positive experiences.
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived on Saturday 1st February for my fiancées birthday! We booked on laterooms.com. We were supposed to check in at 3pm but arrived at 2pm, my fiancée went to reception where he was greeted by a very friendly lady who said the room was ready and it was no problem to check in :-), we arrived in the room to find it was HUGE! Only can be described as a family suite! The room was tidy, clean, fully stocked on everything you need for a night away. The view from out room 122 wasn't amazing but the back drop of the snow covered hills was delightful in the morning.

We did not dine in the restaurant as we wondered down into Pitlochry for food and drinks, although we did end up in the hotel bar around 10pm, bar was busy and the barman (bob) was great, he could have closed bar at usual time but kept open a bit longer as he seen the bar was busy, great customer service

Our night included breakfast, we weren't sure what to expect but what we got was fantastic! Table service from foreign but very polite waiting staff! Full breakfast for my fiancée and I (being fussy) asked for a lot of alterations, this was no problem. The breakfast room was nearly full but we were never rushed out, very enjoyable.

Will defiantly return

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Hippo3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hello and I am just thrilled to be responding to another five star review. Delighted to read that your birthday celebrations went according to plan and you enjoyed both the Hotel and local area.
If you do come again our restaurant offers great value so certainly worth giving us a try. Bob will be pleased with a mention and I always like to see a positive on accommodation.
Your comments are much appreciated by all of us.
Thanks and best regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here on Friday 31st January, turning up in the late afternoon because the main A9 road north had been closed due to bad weather.

The hotel may be 3* but the service we received from the moment we checked in was 5*, the staff really couldn't have done anything more for us especially given that they were under increasing pressure as more unexpected guests turned up due to the road being closed.

A special thanks to the Chef who started a bit early to make soup and a sandwich for our daughter and to Frank (?) who ran the dining room so effectively (sorry if I got your name wrong), the Receptionist who arranged a cot just minutes after our arrival.

In terms of accommodation we found the room to be clean and comfortable and very spacious for the 3 of us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil1969_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi there, I'm just glad we could accommodate you as more often than not we are booked out on a weekend. The sooner they commence work on the A9 the better!
Yes, the handover book was chock a block with reminders for me on Saturday morning with all the changes that had gone on the night before......it was an hour and a half before I had my first coffee ! It would appear the team on duty on Friday night did an excellent job and that pleases me enormously.
Thanks for the post and see you again.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Cracking 5 day break.
Stayed at the Hydro for 5 days with Shearings. (W/C 13th Jan )
We have completed many coach tours over the years with various companies and stayed in many hotels.
The Hydro is the best we have stayed in so far.
From arrival to departure we felt welcome and looked after.
All the staff here are very friendly and are led by a professional and efficient team. A special mention to the very busy restaurant manager
Food choice and quality are by far the best we have encountered.
Plenty of choice at breakfast including fresh fruit, yoghurt, croissants,salmon, full cooked breakfast and my own favorite porridge.
Evening meal times are your choice. you are asked at breakfast what time you would like to eat.
The evening meal menu is superb and includes a veggie option. Portions are adequate and everything we had was cooked to perfection.
I especially enjoyed the Haggis (no bones either ) lol
There is also an option to upgrade to the al a carte menu.
Drinks from the bar are expensive but this is offset by the £25 pp refreshment package included the price of the stay.
My wife used the pool etc and enjoyed a relaxing hour or two despite the water being a little cold the first two days.
There are some great walks around the hotel and Pitlochry area and reception have some print outs if you ask. There is also a micro brewery and pub ten minutes from the hotel which
is well worth the visit. Pitlochry is a lovely place with plenty of shops, bars and places to eat.
The Shearings excursions were good value and interesting especially as we had some snow during our visit which made for some great photographs.

The only negative of our stay was the room shower (216) it was more like a mini garden sprinkler giving little spurts of water every few seconds.
There was however a plentiful supply of hot water at great pressure and would fill a bath in 2 mins so we made do with that.
I would not hesitate in booking here again or recommending it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: We upgraded but others who did not had no complaints about their rooms etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alfonso_frisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hello there,
The team are delighted with your comments and pleased that their efforts are recognised and appreciated. To mention that of all the coach holidays you have been on with other companies that this one has been the best makes us all feel very proud.
I am glad you will return at some point in the future as many of our guests do.
Thanks very much for such positive feed back that will help keep us all motivated for the year ahead.
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Have just returned from a weekend break with Caledonian Travel staying at the Hydro. This was our first visit and I would happily return and recommend it to others. Indeed on talking to some of the fellow passengers they were equally as impressed and hope to return. We had room 226 (twin room with a view) and I would recommend the supplement. The room was very spacious and well furnished. It looks like the room, bathroom and corridor had recently been re-decorated. Beds were very comfortable and although there is no central heating, the room had two very efficient heaters that kept the room very toasty.
The staff were very friendly and helpful - difficult to pick one out above the others. The lounges, bar and restaurant have been very nicely refurbished and very comfortable. Leisure facilities are good - swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna - lovely!
Like the previous reviewer (babs57) I cannot understand some of the comments made about the restaurant. There was plenty of choice for breakfast - cereals, fruit, yoghurt, fruit juices and breakfast rolls and croissants. Plus numerous and variety of cooked breakfasts and tea or coffee and toast. For the evening meal there was a three course meal with sufficient choices for each or you could choose al a carte with loads of choice. The meals we had very delicious and they certainly do not skimp on the portions. Service was also excellent.
The only cautionary comment I would make is that the hotel is uphill above the main shopping area of Pitlochry. It takes about 5/10 mins to walk from the main street and it is quite an incline so may not be suitable for people with mobility issues. However, there are local buses that go up that road and there are always taxis at the nearby railway station and wouldn't cost much.

Room Tip: Worth paying the supplement for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThistleTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi, and thanks very much for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. It would seem that we ticked all of your boxes and that means everything to us. Happy customers is the name of the game and as I have mentioned many times on these pages, we work very hard to deliver the goods.
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,571 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Property: The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HRS, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing