We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a welcoming hotel……Avoid!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a welcoming hotel……Avoid!”
Reviewed 26 May 2009

The hotel felt unwelcoming from the minute we entered. The receptionist was not rude but she just had an unfriendly persona. She requested that I paid for the room as I checked in which I felt set the tone for the stay, not normal practice when you check into a hotel of this price but I happily obliged. On entering the room I understood why! The Room was not to a high standard for the £110 pound I had paid for the one night. It was was very tired and was in desperate need of a little TLC this could also be said for the bathroom that had visible black mould and very poor shower. I would have been content if I had paid £60 but £110!! For that money you expect a little extra care. Money has been spent on the hotel but only in certain areas i.e. the reception, dinning room and the fantastic pool but they seemed to have stopped on the rooms and the changing facilities for the gym, they were also in a very poor condition. The cynic in me would say they stopped once they got enough glamour shots for the brochure! The foreign staff who served in the dining area were very pleasant but the local staff I came across seemed surly. On departing the reception had a crass self made box for ‘gratuities accepted’ which really summed up the place to a tee!! Avoid!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlasticJockGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    315
    161
    72
    35
See reviews for
105
517
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
county durham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Excellent stay.Unlike previous guest too hot.Recently refurbished and obviously very popular.Stayed with friends and no problems getting a table in restaurant.Leisure facilities excellent.Spotless room and very comfortable bed.Would definitely come back.Word of warning steep walk back to hotel from town.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldengirl056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nellish
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

First class hotel, food, service, room infact everything. I would stay here again without any problem and would recommend anyone else to stay here. They have the facility of an indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna, great. The staff were friendly, so helpful and went out of their way to make your stay a good one which it was.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2009

The whole hotel was freezing cold-was told that it was winter.....i thought it was winter everywhere-could of put heating on!!! Stayed in a premier room-(would not class as premier-very expensive for room for what you got). Four poster bed-no character to it at all-no drapes-just chunks of wood!!! Windows streaming in condensation in room. Cheap toilet roll and no deluxe toiletries, not even a towel rail in bathroom-told that it had not been fitted yet, shower leaks and sink water comes up bath......only 4 channels on tv to choose from - waw (and they were fuzzy). Meal times a disaster-not enough tables to go round a full hotel, if you did not get a table at 6.30 you were turned away and told to come back at 7.30pm-was expecting an allocated table!!! Lots of foreign staff who were very pleasant, but could not understand what you were saying-and vice-versa!!! Not what i was expecting from a HYDRO HOTEL-which it is not-it is a shearings hotel!!! So dissapointed as left my heating and comfort at home-and paid all this money for what i got........would not recommend to anyone just wanting to go and get a break from home......don't think i will be returning in a hurry!!!! Good luck if you choose to go-remember your fleeces and thermals!!!

  • Liked — Meeting other people!!!
  • Disliked — Cold, queueing up for dinner, expecting more for money paid!!!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kimloub10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stirling
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2008

I can only describe the hotel as a building site and at no time were we informed of this. We were looking forward to an enjoyableand relaxing weekend but on arriving found painters trying to carry out works. We were informed by the reception staff that these works would be unobtrusive. Completely untrue as the smell of paint was over-whelming, there were electrical wires protruding from the ceilings and walls and also the carpets were covered in masking tape. As we had pre-booked and paid for the hotel, we had no option than to book in. I felt it put the workmen and staff in an embarrassing situation..

On a more positive note, the staff were very friendly and the entertainment in the evening was quite good. This hotel certainly requires upgrading but should have been closed whilst the works were being carried out. I am sure once the refurbishment is completed, the hotel will look and feel completely different.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — Refurbishment works being carried out whilst there.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StirlingScottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moray
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2008

This was booked for an important family event – we were a party of 19 people, including several small children. We had checked beforehand, to ensure that the hotel was family-friendly and had been assured that it was. The staff were generally helpful and provided a travel cot for the youngest baby. There was another family party in this hotel, with small children, but the general age level of the other guests was actually quite elderly.

Entertainment was provided and this went well on the Friday evening. The female singer had no problems with several small children dancing as she sang and the children enjoyed it. However, the Saturday night ‘entertainment’ was a different matter. The male act appeared to think he was god’s gift and performing in Las Vegas instead of a backwater like Pitlochry. He was boorish, rude and objected to the children in the party dancing around as they had the pevious evening. Some of his comments included: ‘I’ll take my belt off and slap the back of your legs with it’ - this comment was to a TWO year old.

Another choice comment was: ‘they’re all needing discipline, that’s what’s lacking nowadays. I used to be a teacher’. As a teacher myself, I am not surprised at the ‘used to be’ – in my opinion, he was an ill-mannered boor with neither the ability nor the charisma necessary for dealing with children - or for being an entertainer, for that matter. He claimed his was an ‘adult’ show, a fact not given to us when booking.

If you are looking for a similar hotel for a big family event, this is not the hotel for you. The entertainer’s ego and lack of ability appear to be more important than ensuring ALL guests are made welcome. Avoid!

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iainsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,812 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,604 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Property: The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing