We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had a wonderful stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“we had a wonderful stay here”
Reviewed 11 November 2009

i booked a double room for 2 nights for a surprise for my partners 40th. on arrival we were given a twin room. when we went to reception to let them know it should be a double we got an upgrade to one of the luxury rooms. it was great and really modern with loads of tea coffee etc flat screen tv on the wall and lovely bathroom. the hotel itself is really nice and has a lovely laid back atmosphere about it. the leisure facilities were fab. the pool and jacuzzi were great and we spent ages relaxing there! we had breakfast only so can't comment on the evening meals but breakfast was lovely and plentiful with a selection of cereals, porridge, fruit juice, croissants, fruit, yogurt and a full cooked breakfast or kippers. the service was very good and efficient. entertainment on friday night was excellent with trish singing and doing a quiz. she was very funny and we really enjoyed it. we went into town on the saturday so didn't see the entertainment on saturday night. i don't have a bad word to say about our stay and will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    315
    160
    72
    35
See reviews for
105
516
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2009

We went on a four night stay self drive. Hotel from outside looks lovely as does lounge and receptopn area. We stayed in room 14 which was on the 1st floor, when we reached our room it was cold and not what we expected. We were under the impression that the hotel had been refurbished how wrong were we. The bed was a little bigger than a single bed and not much length to it (my partners feet were hanging off the end of the bed!!!). We booked an all inclusive deal which we thought was all inclusive but found out from the local chippy (food was bad) that this was not the case and that we only get £30.00 per room per night, seems alot but all drinks are charged at £3.00( this seemed to be the case with us). We left a day early as i had had enough, couldnt wait to get back home again. Would never stay in this hotel again and would be very reluctant to book any of shearings holidays again!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shuv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARROCHAR
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

My partner and I have just returned from a 2 night stay in the PITLOCHRY HYDRO HOTEL and I cannot overstate just how much we enjoyed our time there!

CHECK-IN
This was VERY efficient and friendly and we were made very welcome by Chris who we found out was the General Manager. He explained all the necessary facts and made us feel we were valued guests.

ROOM
The room we were allocated was a PREMIER and this is definitely worth the extra cash as we had a separate sitting room with 26" television and tea making facilities and then a large bedroom area with a 4 poster bed and 32" television (both were flat panel). I am not sure if you get the 2 rooms normally or we were just lucky with the location of the allocated room (#110). The bathroom was well appointed with a separate shower cubicle. It was all very contemporary and fresh. Could do with a wee shelf in the shower though.

FACILITIES
All the hotel common areas have been updated with a sophisticated "club" decor in browns, cream and black. The restaurant has loads of space although this does mean all guests cannot be seated at the same time so we had to wait for a table. This was not a problem as we were "All Inclusive" so could sit enjoying a drink in the lounge area.

FOOD
This was great. It is NOT haute cuisine as a previous reviewer has mentioned but much better that you would have expected. We really enjoyed our two meals in the dining room and especially on our second night when we opted for the sirloin steak dinner (which has a supplement of £7.95). It was WELL worth it!! I must mention the restaurant manager, Frank, who was very welcoming to us and the other guests. Nothing seemed to be a problem.

ALL INCLUSIVE
This is INCREDIBLE value! We didn't need to spend a penny in the hotel (except for our decision to go for the steak) and had an absolutely wonderful time. Drinks were plentiful and of very good quality. The entertainment was very good especially on the Wednesday evening when a singer called Trish was on. A great voice with a personality to match.

SERVICE
We thought the service from every member of staff we encountered to be first rate. Much better than we could have expected. Friendly and helpful every time!

We are amazed at some of the comments on this site as this hotel did not disappoint us in any way and from the conversations we had, our fellow guests were also delighted. Even those in rooms which were not updated all thought it was terrific value!

Well done and thank you to all the staff/management in Pitlochry Hydro! We hope to return early in 2010!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGGBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We stayed at Pitlochry hydro for 2 nights at the beginning of October and found the hotel much better than some of the reviews had suggested. Recently refurbished the hotel had fresh and modern feel to it. The staff were exceptionally helpful and accommodated my friend and I ( and guide dog) very well. Staff went out of their way to meet all our needs. The food was fine , nothing fancy , but good home cooked food with plenty of choice. I feel people making negative comments about the food forget what they have paid !! £99 for 2 nights D, B and B - you aint going to get haute cuisine! The pool was clean and welcoming, very relaxing after a hard day walking and shopping. All in all a great budget break in beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FalkirkBairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

It has been 4 years since we last stayed at the Hydro and i was pleasantly surprised at the refurbishment in the lounge restaurant bar and reception, it looks great. The bedrooms still require upgrading as do the bathrooms, they are looking tired but are very clean and comfortable.
It was the first hotel ever that we did not have to ask for more tea/coffee/milk etc in the room always plentiful.
The restaurant,service and food were very good. Overall i would reccomend this hotel, it is very close to the the town, although a steep road but thats ok you need the exercise after all that haggis .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Just had yet another visit to the Hydro - Staff, food and rooms were excellent — the entertainment was quite frankly awful and the Manager really belongs to the dark ages.
We requested an slightly earlier dinner as we were booked to go to the theatre; The Neanderthal stated that 'he had no intention of altering rigid meal times just because we had decided to go to the theatre'- He refused to give me this in writing.
Fortunately his staff in the dining made the slight alteration and all was well.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fergusmontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleborough
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Everything was excellent, except for the 2 sittings at the evening meal. A lot of people were not happy at having to wait until 7.30 or later to be seated.
Entertainment not great, could be better.
A & K Rosbotham, Littleborough, Lancs.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,597 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Property: The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing