We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Berwick
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“As good as it gets.”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Wanted to have a short break in this lovely area and booked Tigh Na Cloich Hotel due to its high ratings. We were not disappointed. This is a first class small hotel where Peter and Helen do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. They are attentive without being intrusive and nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in room 3 which is a nice size with a large shower room and lovely big comfortable bed. If there is one thing that stands out for us it was the quality of the food. We were going to eat in the hotel for one night only but ended up eating 3 out of 4 nights. Peter is a gifted chef providing us with delicious meals and a varied menu. If we visit this area again this will be where we stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    73
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
57
327
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was a whistle stop stay for one night, I only wish we had time to stay longer! The hotel is more like a B+B but that suited us just fine; it's quaint and homey. Our standard double was spotless and had everything we needed- the bathroom looked nearly brand new! The area is beautiful with the hotel perfectly situated towards the end of the town. There's a small path from the hotel down to the main street. I hope we get the chance to visit Pitlochory again and will be back to Tigh Na Cloich!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SjC998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

A very comfortable family run hotel very close to the main street in Pitlochry. The evening meal was of an exceptional standard for four choices for each course. There was emphasis on fresh, local produce and the vegegetarian option was imaginative - not the "afterthought" which that happens so frequently. The breakfast was also delicious and plentiful. Again the veggie option was excellent - didn't ask but suspect the veggie sausages were homemade. Good choice of wine and other drinks for a small hotel. The owners were attentive and very accomodating especially when we required an early breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneckietrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed at the Tigh Na Cloich for one night for a break away from work and a change of scenery. The hotel is spotlessly clean and set in a very convenient spot above Pitlochry's main shopping street where all the bars and restaurants are situated. There is a handy footpath from the street up through the grounds of the hotel - saves a long climb up the road after a night out! The hosts were very welcoming and our room (12) had been recently refurbished as had the en-suite bathroom and was extremely comfortable with a view across the hotel grounds up to the hills. We slept like logs! Breakfast was included and was fantastic and they also had a lovely veggie option. I would highly recommend the Tigh Na Cloich.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We booked the Hogmanay 3 days package. The service was excellent, great food, varied menu, excellent wine / drinks list, good value for money, comfortable room and friendly hosts. Only concern was the early breakfast (before 9.30), but the quality of the breakfast push you out of bed quite easily... We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Front facing room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fifer
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

stayed here for hogmanay and street party .warm welcome from owners of hotel,room and all areas spotless,food excellant, brilliant menu. owner helen very helpful on events on whats on in town as this was our first visit to street party. Really enjoyed the brunch 9-11am on new years day, pity this was not reapeated on 2nd jan as having to have breakfast before 9.30 while on holiday takes away relaxing aspect otherwise a faultless hotel. We would return in an instant and recomend to anyone. Even had our car window cleared of snow by owners. Lovely small lounge to allow everyone to mix.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiferWdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This small hotel is a gem, we booked the New Year package 3Days, and loved every minute of it. Friendly hosts Peter and Helen definately look after you, comfortable beds, superb food, and lovely views from the bedrooms. A wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Front Facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRANK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
777 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,941 reviews
1.9 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh Na Cloich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Na Cloich Hotel

Property: Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
Address: Larchwood Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tigh Na Cloich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh Na Cloich (The House of the Sentinel Stone). This lovely Victorian House is a former historic lookout point and offers some of the most stunning views in Pitlochry.Our small personnaly run hotel offers the best of Scottish hospitality, along with outstanding cuisine and a superior level of service. The perfect setting for a relaxing holiday or short break in Pitlochry Perthshire and to tour the Highlands of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Tigh Na Cloich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Cloich Pitlochry
Hotel Tigh Na Cloich
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing