We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wow"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I recently stayed at Tigh Na Cloich with four friends, we had a wonderful weekend. The hotel is well situated, just a short walk from the main street. It is very comfortable and welcoming. Our room was lovely, very clean, with a great view of the surrounding hills. Helen, the owner, was very friendly & helpful nothing was too much trouble. The food, which was cooked by Peter our host, was something else! Such a variety - we were spoilt for choice. Pitlochry is well worth a visit plenty to see and do. Thanks to Helen, Peter & staff for making our stay so pleasant and relaxing - we all hope to make a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

We had a great room, king bed, excellent view! Peter and Bettina were great hosts ( too bad we didn't meet Helen). The B&B is in a great location and easy to walk in to town. It was a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skyeblue2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My Wife, myself and a friend were invited by two of our friends to visit this hotel with them as they had previously visited, we were certainly not dissapointed, the rooms, the views, the comfort and cleanliness were excellent not forgetting the amazing variation of food home cooked by peter our host. Helen and Peter were so helpful about the local area and places of interest, we had a hilarious night at the theatre. The walking is very good to. Well done Helen Peter and staff, we hope to return soon. 2 Sue's and Rob.

Room Tip: Sorry clicked swimming pool by mistake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed here for a night and I am glad it was just for a night.
The room was clean except for the spider webs in the corner of the ceiling. The room was also a small double room and it was small.
If you are tall you might have issues using the shower in the bathroom. My husband and I are both relatively short and had no issues but I can see where a taller person might have problems in the shower.
The hotel was located on the edge of town, so we could walk everywhere.
There was free Internet and parking which was a plus.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank ruizrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

What a beautiful victorian property just up the hill from town. The hotel was comfortable, homey and very clean. The food was delicious and was prepared by the owners husband. Karen, the owner, made our group of six feel most welcome. We all loved our stay there - a class act.

Room Tip: Stay more than one night - the town below the hotel looked like a wonderful place to shop and eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at this fabulous hotel in April this year and we couldn't wait to return! We returned this weekend and took three friends along with us. We certainly weren't disappointed! The hotel and the hosts Helen and Peter and staff, lived up to all our expectations and more. We were so well looked after and Helen couldn't do enough for us. Peter delivered fantastic food. I don't think there could be anywhere else in Pitlochry to top Tigh Na Cloich. Our friends enjoyed the whole experience and we all want to return again at some point. The friendliness and genuine interest in their guests is above and beyond anywhere else we have stayed. Tigh Na Cloich is an absolute Jewel in Pitlochry.

Room Tip: All rooms have fabulous views, spacious, spotless and with excellent en-suite facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My wife and I spent four lovely nights at the Tigh Na Cloich Hotel. We started our trip to Scotland from America traveling by air to Edinbourgh and by ScotRail to Pitlochry. It's a short walk (2 or 3 blocks) from the train station to the hotel.

Our large, spotlessly clean room faced south with a beautiful, unobstructed view of Clunie Wood. To the rear of the hotel is mount Ben Vrackie the most dominant peace of terrain in the area. The bathroom was en suite and modern. The hotel has a large, pretty sun room on the first floor in case you need extra room. The morning breakfast menu was quite nice including both traditional Scottish offerings as well as vegeterian offerings. The dinner menu was excellent as well providing a delightful alternative to the restaurants in town.

Our purpose for traveling to Pitlochry was to hike in the Eastern Highlands and for this Tigh Na Cloich was perfect. There are five major trailheads in minutes walking distance from the hotel. The trails range from seven to twelve miles. They were all well maintained and each had shorter circuits. For cross country hikers there is also Rob Roy Way which runs from Pitlochry to Drymen seventy-seven miles distant.

After four wonderful days hiking, and a visit to the Edradour Whisky distillery, we trained back to Edinbourgh for a day of sightseeing before flying home. The stay at Tigh Na Cloich was the perfect home base for our visit.

Room Tip: Try the vegetarian sausage at breakfast; it's tasty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.9 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
722 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,983 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 17 in Pitlochry
421 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Green Park Hotel
The Green Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Pitlochry
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh Na Cloich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Na Cloich Hotel

Address: Larchwood Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £95 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tigh Na Cloich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh Na Cloich (The House of the Sentinel Stone). This lovely Victorian House is a former historic lookout point and offers some of the most stunning views in Pitlochry.Our small personnaly run hotel offers the best of Scottish hospitality, along with outstanding cuisine and a superior level of service. The perfect setting for a relaxing holiday or short break in Pitlochry Perthshire and to tour the Highlands of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Tigh Na Cloich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Cloich Pitlochry
Hotel Tigh Na Cloich
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing