We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st visit but we'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“1st visit but we'll be back”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way from Skye to Edinburgh.Stayed one night,what a discovery!! Wonderfu llocation with easy access to the town. The room was excellent and the food out of this world. It is a family run hotel and is intimate without being overpowering. The whole place is well decorated neat and tidy.

Room Tip: We stayed in a side room but the front rooms have fantastic views. Whole location was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dierck-Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PITLOCHRY, Owner at Tigh Na Cloich Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Dierck and Yvonne,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the Tigh Na Cloich, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Its always enriching to find something new by surprise and thank you for expressing a desire to return to the hotel. It is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your next trip.

Best wishes

Peter & Helen Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    72
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
55
320
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel, great room with superb views, staff and owners really helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great position being far enough from the town to be very peaceful yet a short walk through the garden takes you straight into the town.
There's also some good walks away from the door and up the bank towards the golf course.
Many thanks and we'll definitely be back.

Tony & Dawn

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tonyndawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PITLOCHRY, Owner at Tigh Na Cloich Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for a great review of the Tigh na Cloich for your recent stay here, and thank you for returning here. Its says so much when guests come back and make a public staement they are looking forward to their next visit.

We will be delighted to see you in the future and are pleased that you enjoy Pitlochry so much. It is a special retreat for so many people.

Best wishes,

Peter & Helen Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed at this lovely hotel on my way back from Inverness, it was lovely for 1 night but wish i could have stayed longer!
The hotel is in a great location, right in the centre of town, but its gardens set it back 200 feet or so, meaning you remain away from the main road noise. Inside, the building it is very well furnished and decorated, which was the same for my room, very spacious and comfortable with an undisturbed view across the countryside. Breakfast is served in the restaurant room which again has a lovely view outside, this is beautiful in the morning when I enjoyed the delicious breakfast. Scrambled eggs and smoked Salmon, this is one to try at home!

There is a lovely receptionist who has a great knowledge of the local area and advised me on a few things. Staff were all very friendly and attentive.
I arrived late to the hotel so did not have dinner, but was told by one of the guests that they fully enjoyed eating at the hotel.

Overall, Brilliant hotel in Pitlochry, if i had to make a criticism it would be that The room was a little warm. but all in all, a great stay and i hope to return on my next Trip up north.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PITLOCHRY, Owner at Tigh Na Cloich Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear DavidL,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your stay at the Tigh Na Cloich on return from a business trip.
Your comments on our decor, location, views and breakfast are greatly appreciated, its so nice to receive positive statements about what we are doing here. Hope to see you back again some day , on your return to Scotland.

Best wishes,

Helen & Peter Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I'm sure this guest house/b and b would suit some people but its not my cup of tea. Its rather small and felt more like a b and b then a hotel so was a little too intimate and claustrophobic for me. I was really disappointed when I turned up for the night and realsied i was pretty much staying in someones house. I never feel fully relaxed when the hotel owner is aware of who you and what your are doing. I prefer to come and go from my room without people people being aware of my every movement. The room was very clean and well decorated but very pokey and small with no bath tub (a requirement after a 26 miles cycle). It was overpriced at £80 a night.

The 'restaurant' (their living room) was closed up and in darkness when I went for dinner shortly after 8.

The staff were however friendly and the server in the morning did seem genuinely concerned when I didn't take any breakfast the following morning.

I'm sure this would suit older people who enjoy an intimate stay but not really great for young professionals or couples.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 41shellsuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PITLOCHRY, Owner at Tigh Na Cloich Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Tigh na Cloich, we welcome feedback, but I feel some your comments are misplaced and some points need to be rectified regarding your stay here

.Tigh Na Cloich has been classed as a three star hotel by the Visit Scotland quality assurance scheme. The hotel is licensed and serves dinner and so cannot be classed as bed & breakfast only.

You had concerns about being treated like a guest rather than just a booking reference. When a guest checks in we offer information, what facilites the hotel offers and about the local area, we want our guest to enjoy the hotel and Pitlochry, most people find this useful. We certainly do not watch the coming and goings of our guests as you suggest, we are discreet and and not intrusive, please see other guest comments.

Your reservation was made by a third party, at the time of the telephone booking no request was made for a room with a bath. If you had requested a bath upon arrival, we could have arranged this for you, its good to communicate when a situation like this occurs.

You also requested that another person share the room with you, when only a single room had been reserved, we accommodated this for you without any charge.

You describe the hotel's restaurant as' their living room' you are misinformed, the hotel offers private guest lounges and seperate dining room. These public rooms are for the use of the hotel 's guests. We serve dinner for many of our guests, who appreciate what we are providing here, the night you stayed no dinners were booked, hence the restaurant was closed. We like to conserve energy as well..

Finally you suggest we are only suitable for older guests, we are popular with a wide range of guests, yes couples,who appreciate what we are doing here - providing good service, food and accommodation.

Maybe a bit of research would be useful when you make another reservation, if you prefer a larger establishment which is souless and nobody cares about service. A quick web search of the Tigh Na Cloich would have showed the kind of establishment we are.

Peter Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just spent three nights at Tigh na Cloich and very enjoyable it was too. Service was first class and comes as standard - no extra charge as levied by the big chains for what they term service and which seldom materialises. Peter even took the trouble to call us about our booking and explain that he only had a twin room available on our first night and check that this was acceptable to us. Peter and Helen go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome and valued. Rooms are spotlesssly clean, well furnished and decorated and very comfortable as is the guest lounge and dining room. The menu changes daily and food is prepared to order, beautifully cooked and presented - service in the dining room is attentive but is in no way overbearing and intrusive. The guest lounge is the ideal place for pre dinner drinks and coffee after the meal while admiring the view of the surrounding countryside. We've been before and we'll be back again. Well done all at Tigh na Cloich.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deemalr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PITLOCHRY, Owner at Tigh Na Cloich Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Deemair,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent three night stay at the Tigh Na Cloich, you have covered everything we offer and aim to give our guests when staying at the hotel. I'm glad you appreciate our efforts,and thank you for returning.We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the future.

Best wishes
Helen & Peter Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My husband & I stayed at this hotel during the Caledonian Etape for 2 nights and the stay was fantastic. The staff were all so friendly and the service was excellent. The room was very clean and spacious. The service tray in the room was replenished daily and a good variety of channels on the T.V. There was also a good variety of foods on the menu which changed daily and good portion sizes. The hotel is half way up a small hill and just off the main street, but good excerise to work of all the good food provided at the hotel! The hotel also has a large garage where the cyclist were able to prepare and store their bikes for the event ( great added bonus)
Will be booking this hotel again for next years cycling event too, as its a great hotel at a great price and as its off the main street, its very quite and peaceful for a great nights sleep.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArleneD69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PITLOCHRY, Owner at Tigh Na Cloich Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Dear ArleneD69,

Thank you for talking time to write a marvelous review about the Tigh na Cloich and your break here during the Etape weekend. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and your description of our facilities that we offer.

Thank you for confirming your reservation for next year's Etape in 2014, and we look forward to welcoming you back, if not before, if you should require a relaxing break with great food to match.

Best wishes,

Helen & Peter Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We all had a wonderful weekend stay at this very friendly and well organised hotel. The food was excellent and varied cooked just right and served in an experienced manner. Rooms were very spacious and very clean. This hotel is faultless and although it is rated three star we would suggest it was five star service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PITLOCHRY, Owner at Tigh Na Cloich Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Thank you for taking time to write such a favourable review of what we do at the Tigh Na Cloich.

We enjoyed having your family party here, it was a pleasure to look after you and thank you for your recomendation, we aim to exceed our guest expectations.

We hope to welcome you back some time, and thank you again for choosing the Tigh na Cloich for your stay in Pitlochry.

Best wishes,

Peter & Helen Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
765 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
367 reviews
1.9 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh Na Cloich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Na Cloich Hotel

Property: Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
Address: Larchwood Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tigh Na Cloich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh Na Cloich (The House of the Sentinel Stone). This lovely Victorian House is a former historic lookout point and offers some of the most stunning views in Pitlochry.Our small personnaly run hotel offers the best of Scottish hospitality, along with outstanding cuisine and a superior level of service. The perfect setting for a relaxing holiday or short break in Pitlochry Perthshire and to tour the Highlands of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tigh Na Cloich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Cloich Pitlochry
Hotel Tigh Na Cloich
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing