We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
dundee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our second stay at Tigh-na-Cloich. We returned for a 2 day stay as we had enjoyed the hospitality, food and high standards first time round. Peter, Helen and all of the staff go out of their way to offer the best service possible. This hotel deserves way more than three stars. Every inch of it is immaculate, with high quality furnishing and fittings throughout. The food is superb, my husband quoting the breakfast as 'the best he's ever eaten'. Huge choice on the menu, served freshly made and piping hot to your table by the friendliest of staff. They catered to my food whims without the bad of an eye. Nothing is too much trouble. A previous review mentions an issue with the bathroom in room 4. We stayed in this room just shortly after and could not fault the bathroom. It is spotless and not too small - no idea why they think it was in need of work, it was in perfect order. It was our anniversary while we were there. We came back from a walk to find a lovely card and chocolates in our room- a lovely, personal touch. We are already planning an excuse to return. Cannot fault this hotel, it is simply perfect.

Room Tip: We have stayed in room 4 which is very large and has a bathroom with a bath but no stand up shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janicebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    69
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
55
315
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were on hols in Pitlochry when dad was taken ill. We had to leave the accommodation we were in as it was fully booked, nothing was free near Perth Hospital so we found on the web this wonderful place. Its a small country hotel with a personal feel. Nothing was too much trouble for these guys and the food is beyond excellent. Room 9 was ideal, comfy - excellent TV and WiFi.
We will be back! (that is if its not full again as so many are returning guests!) Walk down the garden and through the gate and you are in the main street. Handy for all local facilities.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a view of Pitlochry and the hills/ but the side views have gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We have Just returned from a lovely 2 night stay at the Tigh Na Cloich Hotel. We stayed in room 3 which had a beautiful view over the countryside. The room was very specious and we both had very good sleeps.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was delicious, truly Scottish cuisine at it's best, one criticism would be that portions were too big if anything. Good selection of Scottish malts which my wife and I also enjoyed.

Breakfast was also great with lots of choice.

We hope to return in the near future.

Duncan

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
656 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

As with our last visit 7 years ago we were greeted with a warm welcome and shown to Room 4. Room was large and bright with large bed and good views across the hills and town. The bathroom however was very cramped and in need of some love and attention.

Breakfast is pretty good if a bit cramped with all the tables.

Just a short walk through the garden into town so well located.

We were a bit disappointed for the money we paid and probably wouldn't stay here next time we're in Pitlochry.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Tigh na Cloich for three nights at the end of July and had an excellent experience.

Upon arrival Helen and Peter provided a very warm welcome, much appreciated after a long drive up from England. We were given a map of the small town of Pitlochry along with valuable insider information as to the best times to experience the local attractions during our stay.

We stayed in room 3, a lovely double at the front of the hotel with large dual aspect windows overlooking the gardens and providing scenic views over the town just down the gentle hillside below the hotel, (see the photos added to this review). The room was well equipped and spacious with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was large with a walk-in shower.

In terms of conveniences included, the hotel has free off-road parking in front of the main entrance and assistance with carrying our luggage was offered. Also there's free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel.

Breakfast was served from 08:00 until 09:30 and was superb. A full range of choices were on offer including fruit compote, cereals, porridge, continental options as well as a full Scottish breakfast available, all with obviously fresh ingredients and cooked to order. For my choice of eggs, I opted for scrambled, which were cooked perfectly. The service was friendly and personal, without being intrusive. We were made to feel as though nothing was too much trouble.

In the evenings, a dinner menu is available in the restaurant, which changes daily, as well as room service. As the Tigh na Cloich is a licensed hotel this meant we could retire to our rooms with a glass of wine in the evenings.

The attractions of Pitlochry are just a stone's throw away and easily accessible through a lovely private garden with a winding path down to the main street running through Pitlochry, allowing convenient access to the local amenities and nearby tourist attractions.

In summary, we would stay here again on our next visit to Pitlochry and would happily recommend the Tigh na Cloich hotel to family and friends.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank filthurlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Tigh Na Cloich Hotel was one of the best stays we had on our trip through Scotland. The room was cozy with a high-quality bathroom. The hotel has a garden and terrace looking down upon the city. We had an excellent dinner and were guided through the whisky menu afterwards :-) The hosts and staff were extremely friendly and gave us some good advice concerning our onward trip to Dundee and St. Andrews. We felt very much at home! Cheers, Philipp & Jan

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipp B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is our third visit to this beautiful little hotel. Everything about this hotel merits the highest praise. The cleanliness, the decor of public rooms and bedrooms, the general ambience and the warm and friendly hosts. Helen and Peter Williams run this hotel so efficiently with their guests wishes being catered for in a 5* way. The extensive breakfast menu, with every possible option and fresh produce starts the day off delightfully. Although not booked for every evening dinner, we decided that we could not ask for better than the superb cuisine on offer at Tigh-Na-Cloich where the nightly changing menu is so extensive and of a very high standard that to miss even one evening of our stay would have been a loss! To those considering a Pitlochry stay-look no further - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have superb views of beautiful surrounding scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh Na Cloich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Na Cloich Hotel

Property: Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
Address: Larchwood Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tigh Na Cloich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh Na Cloich (The House of the Sentinel Stone). This lovely Victorian House is a former historic lookout point and offers some of the most stunning views in Pitlochry.Our small personnaly run hotel offers the best of Scottish hospitality, along with outstanding cuisine and a superior level of service. The perfect setting for a relaxing holiday or short break in Pitlochry Perthshire and to tour the Highlands of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tigh Na Cloich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Cloich Pitlochry
Hotel Tigh Na Cloich
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing