We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would you want to go anywhere else!”
Review of East Haugh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Haugh House
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I have stayed at East Haugh four times now and have always had a wonderful visit. The owners and staff are more than lovely and helpful beyond wishes. The welcome and atmosphere are always warm, like the fire in the bar .The rooms are elegant and comfortable with all you could require. The food is just divine no probably better than that. The arrangements they made for me for my last planned trip, my first up there to fish, where so valuable to make my visit so enjoyable that I decided to stay an extra night. They were full but arranged a lovely local alternative for me no hassle. Hence on my journey back down south I returned for one extra unplanned night. The area has so much going for it and to make a visit to Pitlochry just perfect you have to visit...'why would you want to go anywhere else'.

Room Tip: Do try the Chocolate Orange Torte it is exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andykh65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2011

We discovered this hotel by accident, and couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel is really lovely, staff very welcoming and the food was great. We were immediately upgraded to a room with a four-poster bed and jaccuzzi bath - what a treat!
Would definitely reccommed this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet get-away in Perthshire.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judetay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

room, food ,service,suroundings and staff all absolutely marvellous The little extras such as real milk in a flask in the bedroom just added that liitle bit extra, the dogs Lucy, Poppy & Katy were adorable.
Looked hard but couldn't find a single fault. For those that haven't yet stayed this is truly a little bit of heaven

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazydays02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovetrips27, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2011

Dear Mr and Mrs Reid,
Thankyou so much for your lovely review and it was delightful to see you both back here after all these years. Of course there have been so many changes since your last visit ( but we are all still here!) and we are thrilled that you approve.
It is a personal delight for myself to have fresh milk when I am away in a hotel and so we always offer the same for our guests.
I shall pass on your comments to all the staff and thankyou for taking the time to share your experiance here at East Haugh House.
We look forward to welcoming you both once again in the very new future.
Kind regards
Lesley McGown
PS I think we'll have to put the dogs on the payroll for "meeting and greeting" in the car park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed here for four nights upon the recommendation of a friend, great welcome from Sophie and her parents, lovely room with four poster and large ensuite, good mattress and bedlinen. Neil's cooking was just superb together with a good wine list. Breakfasts were legendary!! Very informal atmosphere and very relaxing and well situated for exploring the local area. We were leaving very early the day of departure and were presented with a picnic each for the journey. I honestly cannot fault this lovely little hotel and we will go back before too long, they really did go the extra mile during our stay to make us feel comfortable and relaxed and was good value for money too!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shippingsupplier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

We stayed here with my partner and a couple of friends. We stayed in a four-poster bed room which was gorgeous. It makes you feel like you've travelled back to luxurious medieval times (but with all the modern amenities, such as a great jacuzzi-style bath... perfect after a hike in the nearby highland mountains!). The family who owns the hotel have really put a lot of effort into the decoration, which makes the place very cosy, and you can see they put a lot of effort in looking after the hotel anad making sure it remains in pristine condition. Tha staff is also really helpful and smiley, which just ads to the pleasure of staying there! The restaurant is also wonderful, and the breakfast (included in our fee) was just absolutely delicious (and this comes from a French born and raised mouth!), ranging from simple toast or cereal to freshly cooked salmon, bacon, eggs, and more. You can also relax in an armchair by the fireplace in this cosy restaurant, sipping on an afternoon aperitif after a day of outdoors fun! I have already recommended this place to friends and would definitely love to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matimati79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

good food , good rooms and excellent staff .a superb hotel and restutant ith staff that could not do enough for you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mclean007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

My wife and I stayed here with a couple of friends on Friday 18th February. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome. It is a family run business and it is obvious that the staff care very much about the place, and cannot do enough for you. The rooms are superb, and you can tell that each room has been carefully and considerately restored. The four poster rooms are incredibely comfortable and are complimented by a lovely jacuzzi bath. The restaurant is fantastic, with a good range of quality and filling food. If you go to this hotel, and you should, please book the four poster room and you will not regret it!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GARYPGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.8 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,174 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,939 reviews
1.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 17 in Pitlochry
415 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
934 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 17 in Pitlochry
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Haugh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Haugh House

Address: East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £73 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Haugh House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Haugh House is a 4 star luxury boutique hotel based in Pitlochry, Perthshire just 1 hour from Edinburgh and 2 hours from Glasgow. Built originally as part of the Atholl Estate some 350 years ago, this family run hotel is a beautiful, turreted stone house situated off the old A9 road with beautiful woodland walks and easy access to Pitlochry. With 12 individually designed bedrooms, including three deluxe four-poster rooms (one with its own fireplace) and whirlpool bathrooms, along with a private Victorian Gate Lodge, East Haugh House is hailed as one of Scotland’s “hidden gems” with the “best food in the area”. We have a bar and a restaurant where our extensive a la carte menu is served. Be it for romance, culinary indulgence, fishing, shooting, hunting, golf, a wedding to truly remember or simply to escape the stresses of everyday life, use our access to the estates and rivers of Perthshire for a unique getaway in the Scottish highlands. We have access to some of the very best fishing on the river Tay and river Tummel and can book salmon fishing days enabling you to (hopefully!) catch that fish of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your East Haugh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Haugh House Hotel Pitlochry
East Haugh Hotel
East Haugh Pitlochry
East Haugh House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing