We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cosy and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Haugh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Haugh House
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Hexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“cosy and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We arrived on a snowy, bitterly cold Friday evening for our 2 night break and were welcomed by a wonderfully lit, cosy and welcoming small hotel. The ambience of our 4 poster bedrooom added to the general feeling of well-being and the lavender shortbread was a thoughful and delicious touch. A great dinner followed (one of the best steaks I have ever tasted). Next morning, what a wonderful sensation, sitting up in the 4 poster bed looking out onto a snowy day. Breakfast was also excellent (and a very good choice of alternatives if you dont want the full scottish - even tho' full scottish was top rate). Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    107
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
83
379
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Second trip to this hotel, this time with the husband for our anniversary. Lovely welcome and the room with a 4 poster bed and jacuzzi were lovely. Star of the show however was the food without a doubt, the dinner was amongst the best we have eaten. The breakfast was also superb. This hotel is small friendly and comfortable with some of the best food I have tasted in a long time worth a visit for any occasion.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We visited this hotel a number of years ago and because that experience had been so special we were concerned it wouldn't match up on a revisit. Pleased to say our fears were ungrounded!
We stayed again in the room with the log fire and enjoyed the Romantic Package. The staff are friendly and the food continues to be of an excellent standard.
Special mention to the lovely waiter who brought me a beautifully laid out tray with fresh juice and toast when I was too unwell with a migraine to go down for breakfast.

Room Tip: You can't beat the room with the log fire if you go in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smogEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We booked a 4 poster room for a one night romantic getaway but have left feeling a bit jaded and underwhelmed by our experience.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The bedroom was nice and clean, albeit a little smaller than anticipated (It would be so nice to have 2 chairs available in double rooms). The bed was very comfortable and even if visiting in the depths of winter, no- could ever complain that the heating was inadequate or that extra bedding was unavailable/insufficient. There was, however, quite a bit of noise from the bar below and, thereafter, from the creaking floorboards. (One of the hazards of older properties).
The bathroom was huge and the jacuzzi bath was a bonus.
My husband reported the food as being "okay, but nothing outstanding" whereas I was disappointed to find the vegetarian options to be so limited and uninspiring, especially when I had indicated my dietary limitations many days in advance.
Overall, when considering other establishments in the area, I find East Haugh hotel to be somewhat overpriced for that what is being offered and this is not an hotel I would make an effort to visit again.

Room Tip: Dusty Miller 4 poster room is right above the bar and can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmceetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

If you want a weekend break or a few nights in the country, or even just a good meal in ideal surroundings in Perthshire, this small country house hotel, by Pitlochry, is perfect. The restaurant is really excellent and the staff very friendly and welcoming. It had all the nice touches one would like to have, it is an attractive stone Scottish building, with attractive bar and sitting room, comfortable bedrooms with home made shortbread to accompany the tea and coffee making facilities.
We were fortunate to be offered a room upgrade, which included a four poster bed, whirlpool bath and a real fire with supply of logs, which was lit on arrival (ideal for a cold February evening)
If one is looking for a small intimate hotel with first class service, this is it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowFencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We booked last minute as a stop off on our way home to Skye after a hectic weeks holiday. We arrived to a warm cosy Hotel. The fires were glowing and welcoming us on a cold crisp winters day. We were given an upgrade to a spacious four postered room with a great spa bath. Just what I needed after pounding the cobbles of Lisbon for a week! Dinner was delightful with great service and at a nice relaxed pace even although the restaurant was busy. All the little extra touches are pitched just right to make you feel welcome. Only issue I had which is just down to personal taste was the blanket on the bed rather than a Duvet. I found it too restricting and heavy and very 'brown'. Maybe if they were in more inviting colours and lighter it would have been more comfortable. I am also a light sleeper and was disturbed by the noise from the Bar until folks left around 1.00am. Our room was right above the Bar so not sure how you get round that issue. My Husband slept right through it but I was kept awake by the conversations downstairs. More drink before bed maybe or join in the party. We were driving the next morning so we couldn't. Breakfast was superb and one of the best we've ever had. Will thoroughtly recommend to friends and our own guests at our holiday cottage here on Skye and hopefully we'll stop over again for longer next time.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request a room that is not above the Bar then you will sleep like a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyeEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

absolutely amazing hotel. great food and staff are so friendly, they cannot do enough for you. the atmosphere of the hotel is warm and cosy and all the little touches that were there for us was lovely and felt very personal. the surroundings of the place are nice and a great selection of things to do and see. was a great romantic night away for us both. have booked up to go back already!

Room Tip: all rooms are unique and lovely in there own way but for something special book a four poster room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.8 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
1.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Haugh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Haugh House

Property: East Haugh House
Address: East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — East Haugh House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Haugh House is a 4 star luxury boutique hotel based in Pitlochry, Perthshire just 1 hour from Edinburgh and 2 hours from Glasgow. Built originally as part of the Atholl Estate some 350 years ago, this family run hotel is a beautiful, turreted stone house situated off the old A9 road with beautiful woodland walks and easy access to Pitlochry. With 12 individually designed bedrooms, including three deluxe four-poster rooms (one with its own fireplace) and whirlpool bathrooms, along with a private Victorian Gate Lodge, East Haugh House is hailed as one of Scotland’s “hidden gems” with the “best food in the area”. We have a bar and a restaurant where our extensive a la carte menu is served. Be it for romance, culinary indulgence, fishing, shooting, hunting, golf, a wedding to truly remember or simply to escape the stresses of everyday life, use our access to the estates and rivers of Perthshire for a unique getaway in the Scottish highlands. We have access to some of the very best fishing on the river Tay and river Tummel and can book salmon fishing days enabling you to (hopefully!) catch that fish of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your East Haugh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Haugh House Hotel Pitlochry
East Haugh Hotel
East Haugh Pitlochry
East Haugh House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing