We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the A9”
Review of East Haugh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Haugh House
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I've just read an article on East Haugh House in the Weekend section of the Daily Mail under the heading Romantic weekend break.It advertises the hotel as a 'cosy 16th century hotel nestling in woodland on the Atholl Estate in Perthshire.' It does not mention the fact that the main view from the hotel is that of the A9, a busy trunk road!
Earlier this month we stayed for one night at East Haugh House. The staff were amenable, both dinner and breakfast were delicious and our bedroom was quite quirky. We were on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast deal and hadn't read the small print on the second page of our booking form until it was pointed out to me when I came to pay on departure. This informed us that the dinner part of the deal was only up to the sum of £20. I was under the mistaken impression therefore that a 3 course dinner was included in the deal. I think this should be pointed out to unsuspecting punters who take advantage of this offer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

My friend and i did a late fishing booking with East Haugh after reading many fantastic reviews and introduction videos about their fly fishing experience at River Tay. We have been fishing frequently in Singapore and its been months since we touched a rod. Imagine our anxiety on the thoughts of finally getting our hands on a rod. As fly fishing was not available in our country, we wanted to learn about fly fishing as we were more accustomed to bait fishing. However we were utterly disappointed with the experience provided by the ghillie. First and foremost, the water level was too low for any fishing to be done (we could see pebbles and it was probably knee deep level). This was not to blame for anyone but it was the attitude of the ghillie which left much to be desired. Firstly, we were told explicitly by the ghillie to not TOUCH the rods (emphasized on NOT TO TOUCH his rods since we did not rent it) unless there was a hook (that was also subjected to the ghillie's decision if it should be REELED IN). My friend was told off by the ghillie when he tried to reach for the rods as he thought that the rods probably caught something. Secondly, the ghillie told us that it was our liability if the water level was too low since it is not anyone's fault but the weather. He insisted that the email has stated all of rules and conditions of the fishing but there clearly wasn't. Thirdly, we were using spinning rods instead of any fly fishing rods. Lastly, We sat in the cold from 9 to 5 doing absolutely NOTHING, apart from admiring the scenery while watching him cast the rods and steer the boat. Kudos to his skills but we are here to learn something, rather than to watch someone fish. Topping that off, the ghillie was not very approachable and he was rather reluctant to tell us much about fishing or anything engaging. He knew that it would be "quiet" and we would have to accept nature's play of cold weather during spring. We left without giving a tip, upset that we took 7 hours to get there and not gained any valuable experience in return.

We went back to our hostel feeling really down from the wasted fishing trip. We told our Hosts at Benvrackie about what happened and they told us that the fishing experiences provided by East Haugh have been one of the best and decided to make an enquiry for us.

We were able to speak to Sophie, the daughter of the Owner and she was appalled by what had happened. She explained to us on how it should have been and offered us a full refund with a complimentary fishing trip the next time we came up for a visit. We were really pleased with their services. The moment we got there, she was very accommodating and apologetic about our fishing experience and even offered us drinks on the house. i must say that i have not experienced such good hospitality from a house hotel. i have travelled aplenty and have been to many house hotels. Though we were not staying there, we were being treated like a guest. My friend and i were half expecting a full refund of any sort as we were just looking for an explanation but we have gotten more than what we have bargained for.

Thank you Sophie, for the hospitality that you have given us. That kind gesture of yours has certainly made our day and our experience at East Haugh more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donotwantobenamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We've been touring around Scotland for a week or so and have been very lucky with our choices of accommodation. This was no exception as we had a lovely 2 night stay at the Gate Lodge. Stayed in on the first night as we'd got so comfortable. Second night ate at the hotel restaurant and all very much enjoyed our first rate meals. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Will certainly recommend and return if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My teenage kids and I stayed here after an absolutely freezing days kayaking competition. The lodge was perfect for us and so cosy, they even lit the little stove in the sitting room in addition to the toasty radiators. Massive claw foot bath defrosted youngest paddler. We were so comfy we almost didn't want to make the short stroll across to the hotel for supper but were very glad we did. Really good menu, not too glitzy with local food cooked nicely made for an excellent tasty supper. Loved the decor and country feel, will go back and try out a fishing day I think.

Room Tip: The two bedrooms in the gate lodge can be made up as doubles or twins depending on the make up of yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed for two nights, Easter Friday and Saturday for the first time at the hotel. We had upgraded to the 4 poster rooms and arrived a little earlier than expected. It wasn't any trouble and we were quickly shown to our rooms to unpack. The hotel sits just off the A9 and is only a short 1.8 mile walk into the town. You can of course phone a taxi or wait for a public bus which goes past the front of the hotel should you decide to leave the car and explore the surrounding area. Our rooms were ideal with all our needs and requirments fullfilled more than one could have expected. All the staff in the hotel were friendly and pleasant to everyone in our party, Sophie the daughter of the owners and a very efficent manager was always availabe, she strived to make sure you were catered for at all times. The bar was amply stocked and casual to the extent that you felt it could have been your own local for many years. We had taken advantage of a deal where there was an allowance towards our food and although we did go over the allowance it was simply because the quality of the food was such that it was difficult to fault in anyway. From fine dining to staples like fish and chips all the food we ate in the hotel breakfast included was exceptional. None of our party made even a slight comment of any nature other than to extoll the excellence in both presentation and taste. A gem of a hotel and one that we will most certainly be using again. Through hard work and attention to detail this hotel is certain to be a hit for many years to come.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jncalderc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We arrived on a snowy, bitterly cold Friday evening for our 2 night break and were welcomed by a wonderfully lit, cosy and welcoming small hotel. The ambience of our 4 poster bedrooom added to the general feeling of well-being and the lavender shortbread was a thoughful and delicious touch. A great dinner followed (one of the best steaks I have ever tasted). Next morning, what a wonderful sensation, sitting up in the 4 poster bed looking out onto a snowy day. Breakfast was also excellent (and a very good choice of alternatives if you dont want the full scottish - even tho' full scottish was top rate). Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Second trip to this hotel, this time with the husband for our anniversary. Lovely welcome and the room with a 4 poster bed and jacuzzi were lovely. Star of the show however was the food without a doubt, the dinner was amongst the best we have eaten. The breakfast was also superb. This hotel is small friendly and comfortable with some of the best food I have tasted in a long time worth a visit for any occasion.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,912 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,129 reviews
1.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
925 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
813 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Haugh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Haugh House

Address: East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £74 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Haugh House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Haugh House is a 4 star luxury boutique hotel based in Pitlochry, Perthshire just 1 hour from Edinburgh and 2 hours from Glasgow. Built originally as part of the Atholl Estate some 350 years ago, this family run hotel is a beautiful, turreted stone house situated off the old A9 road with beautiful woodland walks and easy access to Pitlochry. With 12 individually designed bedrooms, including three deluxe four-poster rooms (one with its own fireplace) and whirlpool bathrooms, along with a private Victorian Gate Lodge, East Haugh House is hailed as one of Scotland’s “hidden gems” with the “best food in the area”. We have a bar and a restaurant where our extensive a la carte menu is served. Be it for romance, culinary indulgence, fishing, shooting, hunting, golf, a wedding to truly remember or simply to escape the stresses of everyday life, use our access to the estates and rivers of Perthshire for a unique getaway in the Scottish highlands. We have access to some of the very best fishing on the river Tay and river Tummel and can book salmon fishing days enabling you to (hopefully!) catch that fish of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your East Haugh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Haugh House Hotel Pitlochry
East Haugh Hotel
East Haugh Pitlochry
East Haugh House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing