We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of East Haugh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Haugh House
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Largs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

What a difference a small hotel can make to using a bed and breakfast ,and the East Haugh made that difference ,from the earlier check in to later check out and having facilities ie in house award winning restaurant, bar , proper parking and for the sake of my last two visits a mere £7.50 more for the four poster room with whirlpool bath to the pretensious junior suit of a B&B the hotel couldn't have been more helpful where the B&B's want you in late and out early with the minum effort and you pay nearly the same rate in future when I visit the award wining theatre I will use the award wining Hotel over any of the protensious B&B's in Pitlockry

Room Tip: Four poster rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastHaughHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at East Haugh House, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear John C

What lovely words! we are so pleased you had a nice stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you again some time soon.

There are some lovely B&B's pitlochry as well so if ever we are full and you would like a recommendation I'd be sure to send yo to the right place!

Many thanks and see you soon

Sophie McGown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    112
    30
    10
    5
See reviews for
84
389
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

As a wedding gift from a very good friend we had dinner here last week- the best restaurant venison I have ever eaten! cooked to perfection, and we know because we do it pretty well ourselves at home! Nice staff and dining room, although the chairs are rather low for the tables we thought?
next time we'll be happy in the bar by the fire, as long as the food is as good.
Mnay thanks for making it a very memorable evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastHaughHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at East Haugh House, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Ruth M

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about you recent visit. We are funnily enough taking delivery of 75 beautiful new chairs next week, so I promise next time you are here you will be sitting just where you should be..... The winter time here is lovely with all the fires on and just so much romance! We hope to see you again soon

many thanks

Sophie McGown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I would like to start by saying that the hotel itself is beautiful, very welcoming, lovely bar, snug, and restaurant and our room was bursting with character.

We arrived on Saturday evening, we had a very reasonably priced 3 course meal in the restaurant and every course was faultless, presented beautifully, and fully enjoyed (I can fully recommend the lemon and lime tart!! Yum!)

We had a couple of drinks in the bar too, fantastic wine list if you like that kind of thing..which I do!

We came to the hotel just for a one night getaway for my partners birthday, he was working nearby in the day (Blair Castle) so it was very convenient for us! Just ten mins down the road..

Our room as stated was lovely, beautiful four poster bed, huge bathroom with a great shower and jacuzzi bath! Brilliant! :)

The only thing that we had a problem with was the lumpy bed, it wasn't a great nights sleep due to it being quite uncomfortable, which was a bit of a shame :( but didn't ruin it for us! The hotel fully redeemed itself once more with breakfast..culinary excellence and great coffee! We stayed in the Dusty Miller room.

I would recommend this hotel, but perhaps a little warning about the bed situ in case you have a sore back! We were a bit creaky today...

One other observation was that, although all of the staff were attentive and friendly, there was very few Scottish staff..which is a bit of a shame in such a beautifully Scottish hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieKateWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastHaughHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at East Haugh House, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear KatieKateWilson

Many thanks fro all you comments about your recent stay with us. I have notified housekeeping abut the lumpy bed and they have removed the mattress topper, this will solve the problem so thank you for letting us know. I'm so glad you enjoyed the food and wine I have passed this on to the kitchen.

My response to your comment "One other observation was that, although all of the staff were attentive and friendly, there was very few Scottish staff..which is a bit of a shame in such a beautifully Scottish hotel" pretty much every business in Scotland and beyond would struggle to survive without foreign employees, we have employed some of the best members of staff we have ever had and they have been polish, Russian, Hungarian Australian and so on. I only wish we could get more Scottish staff, but it is extremely difficult.

many thanks and I hope you come and stay again soon

Sophie McGown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My cousin and I spent 3 nights in this lovely Scottish hotel, which was so delightful in every way that we tried to arrange another night but, unfortunately, it was fully booked. Beautiful location, clean very comfortable and welcoming, with amazing food and excellent service provided by everyone on the staff. In fact, when our taxi (to the theatre) failed to arrive, and almost before we realised we had a problem, the owner of the hotel had noticed and 'phoned the taxi office, confirmed that there had been a mix-up and insisted that she would drive us in to the theatre herself! How kind and thoughtful was that? Above and beyond... would you agree?

Brilliant experience, highly recommended and we will certainly be back.

Olive Beaton, Edinburgh and Margaret Smith, Glamis

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank olivetokalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastHaughHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at East Haugh House, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Hello ladies..

I remember you both so well, such lovely positive woman an made me laugh everyday! Im so glad you had a great time and we could accommodate you.

I hope to see you again soon

Sophie McGown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmore, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel is still living on the back of it's past reputation which was good and one of the reasons why we made a dinner reservation for 3 last Saturday during our brief stay in the area. However ....very disappointing.

Having booked dinner..we were ushered to the bar area..not a good start. There is nothing quite like a prawn cocktail..when a little passion is evidenced in its preparation...not on this occasion. When one orders " whole tail scampi " with no mention of " breaded " on the menu, one does not expect to be served breaded scampi and well done chips in such an establishment. Guess what was served !. At least I enjoyed the wine and the owner/manager had the good sense to take the scampi dish off our bill.

I hate complaining...as a family we were looking forward to an enjoyable dinner together (which does not happen very often)....that was why it was so disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastHaughHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at East Haugh House, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear James s

Many thanks for all you comments , we take them very seriously and I will pass on to our chef that you did not enjoy your meal. I'm glad it was resolved by a member of staff taking what you did not enjoy off your bill and apologising on behalf of the kitchen. We do not always have enough room for people to sit in the lounge or at the bar on a busy Saturday night , this meaning we do have to sit people straight at the table, some restaurant will have you waiting by the door till your table is ready. We have an outstanding reputation for our food and service and a mortals we do not always get it right, that's why its so great that people like yourselves bring it to our attention so we can make it better.
I do hope you will return again.

Many thanks

Sophie McGown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms for 1 night dinner, bed and breakfast. Cosy and welcoming, this wonderful country hotel had the feel of a B and B with all the luxury of a 5* hotel. Dinner was fantastic with impeccable service. The four poster bedroom was a special treat for a special anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris77w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastHaughHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at East Haugh House, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Chris 77 w

Many thanks for such lovely comments,! I'm so glad you had a lovely stay.

many thanks and see you soon

Sophie McGown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

If this is a taste of Scotland, hand me the bagpipes.... I'm convinced! What a fantastic welcome, felt so good after a tiring journey, made it so worthwhile. What a gorgeous bedroom, while I relaxed in a fabulous jacuzzi bath my partner explored the bar for a well deserved dram. The fishing and shooting had been arranged for the next few days and the staff were SO knowledgeable, he was impressed (not easy!). I had wondered whether I would be bored over the weekend while he was busy hunter gathering but no, there are fantastic walks and... The House of Bruar, loved it. My second favourite pastime after shopping is eating, the food is beyond compare, they even cooked and prepared my hunter gatherer's 'bag', he was utterly over the moon! cannot recommend this place enough, the attention to detail, unequalled!

Room Tip: The four poster called Dusty Millar, thinking of it as my room because we'll be back, might let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastHaughHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at East Haugh House, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Ros W

You just keep on giving us these glowing reviews! we should put you on the pay roll..... We are very happy that you had another wonderful holiday here at East Haugh and hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks

Sophie McGown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Haugh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Haugh House

Property: East Haugh House
Address: East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — East Haugh House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Haugh House is a 4 star luxury boutique hotel based in Pitlochry, Perthshire just 1 hour from Edinburgh and 2 hours from Glasgow. Built originally as part of the Atholl Estate some 350 years ago, this family run hotel is a beautiful, turreted stone house situated off the old A9 road with beautiful woodland walks and easy access to Pitlochry. With 12 individually designed bedrooms, including three deluxe four-poster rooms (one with its own fireplace) and whirlpool bathrooms, along with a private Victorian Gate Lodge, East Haugh House is hailed as one of Scotland’s “hidden gems” with the “best food in the area”. We have a bar and a restaurant where our extensive a la carte menu is served. Be it for romance, culinary indulgence, fishing, shooting, hunting, golf, a wedding to truly remember or simply to escape the stresses of everyday life, use our access to the estates and rivers of Perthshire for a unique getaway in the Scottish highlands. We have access to some of the very best fishing on the river Tay and river Tummel and can book salmon fishing days enabling you to (hopefully!) catch that fish of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Haugh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Haugh House Hotel Pitlochry
East Haugh Hotel
East Haugh Pitlochry
East Haugh House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing