We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”
Review of East Haugh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Haugh House
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here for an overnight recently and would recommend it. We stayed in a superior room with jacuzzi bath and it really was as it was described on the website, nice fluffy towels, nice robes etc. the only thing I would say about the room is there were no easily accessible power sockets at the dressing table! Staff were all really friendly and helpful. The restaurant menu was slightly disappointing, I felt it was quite 'posh' food and a bit over priced. Would happily return in future but I'd eat elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori-7225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for leaving such lovely comments, we've passed these onto the whole team here at East Haugh who work very hard to provide our guests with the very best in service.
Our talented chefs, along with owner Neil, turn our locally sourced ingredients into a diverse range of mouthwatering options for our diners to enjoy. Some of our dishes include classic prawn cocktail, haddock and chips, and good old juicy steaks, and we feel these are at the right level and price range to suit most diners however we take on board your comments and have passed them onto our kitchen team.
We hope to welcome you back to East Haugh House in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    115
    30
    10
    5
See reviews for
84
395
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We used this as a base to explore the highlands, it's location near the A9 and Pitlochry made it a perfect spot.

The rooms were clean and spacious, with everything you needed. Plenty of hot water for a relaxing bath.

Service was excellent, staff couldn't be faulted.

Brekfast was wonderful, lots of choice and delicious food.

Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you very much for this lovely review!
We are so often complimented on our breakfasts which we strive to make the best in town, in fact the best in Scotland (so we've been told!).
Our staff strive to provide the very best customer service so it's wonderful to read your kind comments which I've passed to the whole team.
We hope you can return to East Haugh again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My partner and I had a lovely romantic two night break at East Haugh hotel. The room was lovely, the bed very comfortable and the service very friendly and helpful. The jacuzzi bath was lovely too!
We didn't eat in the restaurant, as the vegetarian choices are a bit limited, but there were lots of eating options in nearby Pitlochry. The bar and snug were lovely places to sit and relax with a drink.

The only wee quibble my partner had was that he'd paid extra for hand-made chocolates, and while it looked very pretty and was a nice romantic touch, there wasn't much there for what he paid (four wee truffles, two small squares of dark chocolate and two biscuity things), and it didn't resemble the picture on the website. That was a small complaint though, and overall it was a lovely break, and we'd definitely go back again.

Room Tip: We had the Dusty Miller room, which was very quiet, peaceful and lovely. Four poster bed was lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippybops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastHaughHouseHotel, Karen, front of house manager at East Haugh House, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we are always happy to hear comments from our guests about their stay with us, I can only apologise if your chocolate selection was not to your taste, all of our sweet confection is baked in-house, and can be a different assortment of chocolates and sweet treats, which are handcrafted by our team of chefs, and are a bit different than the generic chocolates from wholesale suppliers.
I will pass on your comments to our team who are always looking for ways to improve our standard of extra services offered to our guests.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Just had two night stay. Great food, great views, lovely staff. Highly recommend it. Ideal place to stay for day trips to all destinations. Would never get fed up waking up to that view. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My boyfriend and I just spent the weekend at this beautlful place. From start to finish it was just perfect I cannot recommend this highly enough.
The room was so romantic, we had the four poster bed, jacuzzi bath and fireplace and I didn't want to leave. The people that worked there really couldn't do enough to help you, even called over the owners dog Poppy for a play at request. The fireplace beside reception sitting area was so cosy and relaxing could've sat in there all night. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel purely because we had already planned to go out in Pitlochry but it did smell amazing. The breakfast was fabulous, we both had full scottish brekkie and was cooked to perfection and there was a selection of yoghurt cereal etc available aswell.

Definitely will be back....!!!! :)

Room Tip: The jacuzzi, four poster and fireplace is definitely worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a lovely 2 Night stay with breakfast included,the staff were really welcoming and nothing was a bother to them.Our room was cosy and we also enjoyed the Proseco and homemade Chocolates we recieved on arrival to our room.We dined in there restaraunt both nights as we had enjoyed the food so much and finished of each night in either the bar or in the cosy snug lounge with the log fire.I would definitely stay here again especially if I could get the Fourposter bedroom thanks again for a lovely stay East Haugh House Hotel *****

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnneDavidAmyNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We booked this hotel with an online voucher, to stay in for one night as we were travelling north.
We were delighted with the hotel. The smallish but well designed room was upstairs in the cottage/annex. It had 2 large velux windows. It was fresh, comfortable, warm and generally clean, with a 6 foot wide bed and good linen and towels. Nice touch with the chocs and Prosecco, bottled water and the flask of fresh milk for tea. The hotel is near the A9 but fairly quiet.
Breakfast was delicious - especially liked the choices of fresh fruit available. Smoked haddock with poached egg was good!
We would have happily stayed another night, and would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeJ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Haugh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Haugh House

Property: East Haugh House
Address: East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — East Haugh House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Haugh House is a 4 star luxury boutique hotel based in Pitlochry, Perthshire just 1 hour from Edinburgh and 2 hours from Glasgow. Built originally as part of the Atholl Estate some 350 years ago, this family run hotel is a beautiful, turreted stone house situated off the old A9 road with beautiful woodland walks and easy access to Pitlochry. With 12 individually designed bedrooms, including three deluxe four-poster rooms (one with its own fireplace) and whirlpool bathrooms, along with a private Victorian Gate Lodge, East Haugh House is hailed as one of Scotland’s “hidden gems” with the “best food in the area”. We have a bar and a restaurant where our extensive a la carte menu is served. Be it for romance, culinary indulgence, fishing, shooting, hunting, golf, a wedding to truly remember or simply to escape the stresses of everyday life, use our access to the estates and rivers of Perthshire for a unique getaway in the Scottish highlands. We have access to some of the very best fishing on the river Tay and river Tummel and can book salmon fishing days enabling you to (hopefully!) catch that fish of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your East Haugh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Haugh House Hotel Pitlochry
East Haugh Hotel
East Haugh Pitlochry
East Haugh House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing