We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite Stop Near Pitlochry”
Review of East Haugh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Haugh House
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very good as usual, staff friendly and helpful. A good stay was had by both of us. Room was just as we wanted it, and we were welcomed back like old friends by the owners. Dinner was very good as was breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastHaughHouseHotel, Karen, front of house manager at East Haugh House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, it is always nice to welcome back returning guests to the East \Haugh, comments from previous guests mean so much to all the team here, as a statement of how all our hard work is rewarded, through repeat business, so once again I thank you for your lovely review and myself and the team here hope to welcome you back to East Haugh very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at East Haugh house hotel en route to friends in the north. Traveling with a dog, we were put in Katy Dee - right next door to the main hotel. The room was quite small but clean, pretty, very comfortable with lots of lovely little touches including big fluffy bathrobes. The bathroom was a good size, again with big bath towels that go all the way around!
In the restaurant you could be forgiven for thinking the main dinner menu looks a little uninspiring and predictable however, that in itself offers a certain level of comfort (you're not having to wade through lists of ingredients you've never heard of ) and of course it does not take into consideration the standard of cooking which was fantastic. Plus the daily specials menu make best use of spanking fresh ingredients. In the hands of the kitchen brigade who clearly know what they're doing we had a truly delicious and memorable meal.
The service was friendly, a little frenzied, but always with a smile from a restaurant team who work very hard to make sure that each and every guest is pampered!
My only watchpoint would be for those guests who are travelling with dogs: the hotel is dog friendly (our little Cairn terrier was completely spoilt) but be sure you are aware of the hotel's policy. For all the right reasons they prefer dogs to stay in the porch area outside your bedroom– for our 10-year-old arthritic four-legged friend this was no problem, but we might have struggled had we had a younger, less well trained, more boisterous model!
That said, we will definitely be back – and we would encourage anybody travelling north looking for a stop off to try East Haugh!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joshnosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastHaughHouseHotel, Karen, front of house manager at East Haugh House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you so much for your comprehensive review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, All of the team at East Haugh work very hard, especially during a busy service to provide an excellent standard of hospitality to all of our guests. Especially our hard working kitchen brigade, who are extremely passionate about all of the dishes they prepare for our diners to enjoy, Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights over the bank holiday weekend. We had been planning to stay for some time after the food had been recommended some years ago. Finally arrived and checked in to one of smallest rooms the hotel offers, this was a situation entirely of our own making as we had originally booked only one night and changed our plans at the last minute, however the hotel was fully booked on the first evening and this small room was all there was available.The lady on reception was lovely, and pointed out to me that perhaps I might find the small bathroom rather too small, as I am over 6 foot tall. However she did say that if we thought it necessary we could change rooms into one of the superior rooms the following day. The bathroom was really too small, and we moved into the splendidly named Dusty mIller the following day, this room was lovely and very comfortable with a huge bathroom with Jacuzzi and very powerful shower. Only one gripe, I don't really like carpets in bathrooms. The staff in the hotel are excellent and clearly work very hard to make your stay memorable, and at the same time preserving that small hotel feel.
We took breakfast and evening meal both days in the hotel. I really can't fault the food whatsoever, tasty and beautifully presented. The wine list was very reasonable also. Top marks for East Haugh,
All in all a very peaceful two days in glorious Perthsire.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naepockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastHaughHouseHotel, Karen front of house manager at East Haugh House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thankyou for your review, As East Haugh is an old building, some of our standard rooms are quite bijou, therefore we try to accommodate all of our guests into surroundings that best suits their needs, and reallocate accordingly, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

third trip to east haugh hotel this time with our newborn baby on tow ,the owners couldn't have made us more welcome, nothing was a problem like heating a bottle ect ect quality food ,amazing breakfast, hats of to east haugh

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbd48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastHaughHouseHotel, Karen front of house manager at East Haugh House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, all of the team here at East Haugh work hard to provide our guests with true Scottish hospitality, I will pass on your comments to all of the team here, especially our lovely housekeeper who works hard to ensure that all of our rooms are serviced to a high standard to meet and exceed our guests expectations, once again thank you for your lovely review, and thank you for choosing to spend your special time with us here at East Haugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Charming little B&B, so glad we booked!

We spent our anniversary in the honeymoon suite (East Haugh), which didnt disappoint!

Well decorated, beautiful old fireplace, four poster bed and a jacuzzi bath...it was bliss!

The food was top notch too, and the staff were always on hand, and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastHaughHouseHotel, Karen front of house manager at East Haugh House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we all work hard to provide our guests with an excellent stay here at East Haugh, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for 2 nights to get away and relax. Found this hotel as a group on voucher and as the title says it was aaaaahhhhh from start to finish. The staff were fantastic and couldn't be more friendly or helpful to us. The room was spotless and very romantic. We had the room with the open fire and I would recommend it to anyone spending time with their special someone. We will be coming back again !!!!! Thank you to all the staff for making our trip wonderful !!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-wee-yin-88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastHaughHouseHotel, Karen, front of house manager at East Haugh House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review all of the team here at East Haugh work hard to provide an excellent stay to all of our guests, I will pass on your comments to all of our team who are always happy to hear comments from our guests regarding their stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future to East Haugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the East Haugh for the Etape this year and the owners could not do enough to make us all welcome. Simple things like letting us stay in our rooms until after the event to allow us to get cleaned up, really did make us feel as if you were a welcomed guest, rather than a customer.

This was the third year we have stayed here and it now feels like a family get together each year, meeting previous guests, the owners and the new staff. Special mention must go to Lesley who genuinely cares that the guest enjoy their stay and also a big thanks must go to the staff who got up to serve us our breakfast at 5am,

The rooms are lovely and clean with small touches like dressing gowns in all the rooms, home baked shortbread and real milk in flasks that make the difference. We hve stayed in the main hotel and the Annex and both are of a high standard.

The food was of the usual high standard, just a pity we could not do it justice. We would have no hesitation in recommending this for next year's Etape, but I am worried it gets fully booked and we cannot get a room.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, though some in the main building four poster beds and fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haggibasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastHaughHouseHotel, Karen, front of house manager at East Haugh House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we all look forward to the annual Etape event, and try to accommodate all of our cyclists needs during their stay with us, I will pass on your lovely comments to all of the team here at East Haugh, who are always happy to hear reviews from our guests, and we all look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,912 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,117 reviews
1.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
924 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
813 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Haugh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Haugh House

Address: East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £74 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Haugh House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Haugh House is a 4 star luxury boutique hotel based in Pitlochry, Perthshire just 1 hour from Edinburgh and 2 hours from Glasgow. Built originally as part of the Atholl Estate some 350 years ago, this family run hotel is a beautiful, turreted stone house situated off the old A9 road with beautiful woodland walks and easy access to Pitlochry. With 12 individually designed bedrooms, including three deluxe four-poster rooms (one with its own fireplace) and whirlpool bathrooms, along with a private Victorian Gate Lodge, East Haugh House is hailed as one of Scotland’s “hidden gems” with the “best food in the area”. We have a bar and a restaurant where our extensive a la carte menu is served. Be it for romance, culinary indulgence, fishing, shooting, hunting, golf, a wedding to truly remember or simply to escape the stresses of everyday life, use our access to the estates and rivers of Perthshire for a unique getaway in the Scottish highlands. We have access to some of the very best fishing on the river Tay and river Tummel and can book salmon fishing days enabling you to (hopefully!) catch that fish of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your East Haugh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Haugh House Hotel Pitlochry
East Haugh Hotel
East Haugh Pitlochry
East Haugh House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing