We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food”
Review of East Haugh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Haugh House
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had a fabulous stay at the East Haugh Hotel.the staff were so friendly and welcoming and couldn't have done anymore for us. Best food we have had over the entire trip, it's a bit pricey but totally worth it as the chef is extremely talented!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle_Stel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We were so pleased to read your lovely review. Thank you!
I have passed your positive comments regarding our food onto our chefs who I am sure will be absolutely delighted to hear that you thought it was the best food you had on your trip to Scotland.
Please do come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    126
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
88
424
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Been going to Pitlochry for years but this was the first time we have stayed at East Haugh House and I have to say, it was a lovely find. We stayed in the 1 bed bothy, 2mins from the hotel which was comfortable and had all the expected facilities. A nice addition was the garden seat outside the bothy where you could sit and enjoy an early morning cup of tea whilst taking in the view. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was definitely the best we have experienced in Pitlochry. A very pleasant, homely hotel that we will definitely re-visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We're so delighted that you thought the food was the best you had tasted in Pitlochry!
The team in our kitchen have a real passion for the produce they use, which is all locally sourced to ensure quality of produce, so to receive such positive comments from guests is greatly received and welcomed.
Thank you once again for your lovely review, and myself and all of the team here at East Haugh hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Lovely people, delicious food! A pleasure, we will go back if we are back in Scotland. The chef, husband of our delightfully nice host is a truly talented cook. We therefore enjoyed thoroughly our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank let135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We ate in the restaurant - didnt stay in the hotel - so please bear that in mind!
We called here on a salmon fishing trip. 5 guys, hungry and thirsty, not the typical customer here!
Great for couples. But the staff did well and the food and atmosphere was excellent.

Not cheap but will stay here next time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newboyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were a family of four including two young children. We were given the 2-bedroom lodge that is part of the hotel. It was beautiful, and comfortable, with a fireplace in the living room. The staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel restaurant is top-ranked in Pitlochry and our experience was no different. Excellent food, the breakfast was superb and the dinner was as fine dining in quality as one could hope. Location was great, only a few minutes from the centre of Pitlochry and a two minute drive to the main highway connecting to Perth, Dunkeld etc. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivekDixit71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was our second stay at the East Haugh and it surpassed our expectations. We needed a room in Pitlochry to attend a wedding reception and stayed a further night to celebrate my wife's birthday.
On our arrival we explained our plans and asked the pleasant receptionist if she would organise a taxi to and from the wedding reception. This she did with excellent efficiency. (Bear in mind there are apparently only two Taxi cabs in Pitlochry!) She also arranged us an early table in the bar for a bite to eat before we left for the reception.
The room was compact, but clean and comfortable with everything we needed.
Breakfast the following morning was a treat with everything cooked perfectly to order and served with a friendly smile. Dinner in the main dining room that evening was wonderful, and there was even a small bottle of fizz with the compliments of the hotel provided for my wife's birthday treat.
We have stayed at luxury hotels all over the world, and would always come back to the East Haugh if we need to stay in Pitlochry. It is certainly not the biggest, but it is one of the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to east haugh. We had been a few yrs ago for a romantic break and this time stayed with our two yr old and my father and mother in law.
From the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming and we had two lovely superior rooms opposite each other which was lovely for sharing childcare!!
We had booked dinner bed and breakfast knowing how good the food was and we were not disappointed. Every meal was delicious particularly the venison!
We had arranged fishing with the hotel and as we we're not all fishing all day the hotel suggested walks to do and places to visit with our toddler.
They were so helpful with our daughter Isobel arranging early suppers before the restaurant officially opened and being very accepting of an occasionally noisy little girl!
We will definitely be back hopefully within the next few months. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicity G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.8 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,943 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,811 reviews
1.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
778 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Haugh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Haugh House

Property: East Haugh House
Address: East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — East Haugh House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Haugh House is a 4 star luxury boutique hotel based in Pitlochry, Perthshire just 1 hour from Edinburgh and 2 hours from Glasgow. Built originally as part of the Atholl Estate some 350 years ago, this family run hotel is a beautiful, turreted stone house situated off the old A9 road with beautiful woodland walks and easy access to Pitlochry. With 12 individually designed bedrooms, including three deluxe four-poster rooms (one with its own fireplace) and whirlpool bathrooms, along with a private Victorian Gate Lodge, East Haugh House is hailed as one of Scotland’s “hidden gems” with the “best food in the area”. We have a bar and a restaurant where our extensive a la carte menu is served. Be it for romance, culinary indulgence, fishing, shooting, hunting, golf, a wedding to truly remember or simply to escape the stresses of everyday life, use our access to the estates and rivers of Perthshire for a unique getaway in the Scottish highlands. We have access to some of the very best fishing on the river Tay and river Tummel and can book salmon fishing days enabling you to (hopefully!) catch that fish of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your East Haugh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Haugh House Hotel Pitlochry
East Haugh Hotel
East Haugh Pitlochry
East Haugh House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing