We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent; food splendid; staff superb.”
Review of East Haugh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Haugh House
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We stayed overnight while a party of friends stayed for two nights. We all enjoyed it thoroughly. At the hotel (family owned and run) they could not do enought for us. The friendliness of everybody, the cleanliness of the place, the quality of the food, these were all outstanding. We would all warmly commend the Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CampsieMilngavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2009

We stayed at East Haugh House for two nights. The hotel is a lovely building with very friendly and considerate staff. The room exceeded our expectations. As we were on a Dinner/Bed and Breakfast rate, it was a great pleasure to enjoy the three course dinner in the evening. The food was excellent, downright outstanding. The sole disadvantage we recognized is the highway in about 250 m distance from the hotel. Anyway, we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTraveler1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We arrived on a Friday evening and there was a logfire set in the East Haugh Room awaiting us. As it was a beautiful evening we did not need it but how wonderful it would be in early spring, autumn or wintertime!
There was a lovely jacuzzi bath and comfy robes to lounge around in. Dinner was lovely in the beautifully set dining room. We went for a walk along a quiet road adjacent to hotel later.
At breakfast, the porridge was finest ever tasted by one Scotsman (who has very discerning taste in that department!)
A lovely wee oldy worldy getaway!
Perhaps a wee bitty over-priced though.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FortysomethingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

You could not ask for friendlier service, better rooms. The family who run the hotel are honestly some of the nicest people I have ever met and nothing was too much trouble. The food I think should be Michelin star because it is sooo fantastic. All of it comes at such a reasonable rate too...

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyHotelLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We had a lovely stay at the house hotel and were made to feel very welcome. The food was amazing. We loved everything, but I personally will remember the seafood risotto for a long time.

My husband and my father also experencied fly fishing on the Tay, as organised by the hotel. The day out was memorable for both and East Haugh was the perfect base for this.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MainieJellett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

We popped up to East Haugh from Edinburgh for one night as part of a birthday treat. Our stay met all expectations. Nice rooms, great bath, first class service, and very good food. The breakfast in particular was the best both of us had ever had. A brief stay, but very memorably and probably half the price of similar experiences at other hotels

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

The East Haugh is a fabulous hotel. A beautiful building with gorgeous rooms, fantastic food and a lovely location, right at the gateway to the Highlands. Run by the McGown family, this lovaly hotel not only offers some of the best cooked seasonal and local produce I have ever had, but also makes you feel like part of the family. I have been spending time there for over 10 years, and no matter how often I go, I alwasy want to come back again. Fabulous!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Internationalgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.8 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,981 reviews
1.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 17 in Pitlochry
820 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 17 in Pitlochry
420 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Haugh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Haugh House

Address: East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £74 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Haugh House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Haugh House is a 4 star luxury boutique hotel based in Pitlochry, Perthshire just 1 hour from Edinburgh and 2 hours from Glasgow. Built originally as part of the Atholl Estate some 350 years ago, this family run hotel is a beautiful, turreted stone house situated off the old A9 road with beautiful woodland walks and easy access to Pitlochry. With 12 individually designed bedrooms, including three deluxe four-poster rooms (one with its own fireplace) and whirlpool bathrooms, along with a private Victorian Gate Lodge, East Haugh House is hailed as one of Scotland’s “hidden gems” with the “best food in the area”. We have a bar and a restaurant where our extensive a la carte menu is served. Be it for romance, culinary indulgence, fishing, shooting, hunting, golf, a wedding to truly remember or simply to escape the stresses of everyday life, use our access to the estates and rivers of Perthshire for a unique getaway in the Scottish highlands. We have access to some of the very best fishing on the river Tay and river Tummel and can book salmon fishing days enabling you to (hopefully!) catch that fish of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your East Haugh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Haugh House Hotel Pitlochry
East Haugh Hotel
East Haugh Pitlochry
East Haugh House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing