We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel with exceptional staff”
Review of East Haugh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Haugh House
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2009

My girlfriend and I recently spent a week driving around Scotland and this was one of our favorite places to stay. The owner, Leslie, greeted us upon revival with the warmest welcome - she was very friendly & chatty and made us feel like friends. We enjoyed our drinks on the front patio with a great view of the hills. The other staff was very friendly, particularly the waitresses who genuinely seemed interested in making sure we were comfortable during our stay.

The room was great -- very spacious, clean & charming. My girlfriend loved taking a bubble bath in the jacuzzi tub.

Its in a great location to get to Pitlochry -- some may complain its too close to the highway but we slept with the windows open (facing the highway) and slept like babies. You're quite a distance from the road to be disturbed.

The only thing to bring up that I thought was odd: we were asked when we wanted to eat dinner, either in the restaurant or bar. The restaurant is more upscale (and better lit) than the darker, bar (although still nice). We said the restaurant & came down for dinner at the given time. The staff was not in the restaurant so we sat ourselves. We were then told by a waitress that she had set a table for us in the bar. We asked if we could stay in the restaurant, we didnt want to eat in the bar -- we were then given menus & told we could order in the bar where a table was set for us. My GF and I both looked at each other puzzled --- for some reason, they wanted us out of the restaurant. When we went to the bar, we saw other guests sitting there --- the only thing I can assume is that the bar is for hotel guests, the restaurant is for locals. I found this disappointing. If you're paying for a room, you could at least be allowed to eat in the restaurant.

Not a huge deal, we still enjoyed the food and the East Haugh House overall.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stabone130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2009

The hotel has 2.5 miles of excellent fishing on the Tay which is why I stayed. I'd like to say a big thank you to all the staff who made sure I was well looked after with packed lunches and kept the bar open for me when I was fishing late.
Have I mentioned the food yet? They say an army marches on its stomach. I can only say it was very difficult to concentrate on the fishing come dinner time.
I wouldn't hesitate recommending the Hotel and if I do anymore fishing around the Pitlochry area, its certainly going to be the place I stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We stayed overnight while a party of friends stayed for two nights. We all enjoyed it thoroughly. At the hotel (family owned and run) they could not do enought for us. The friendliness of everybody, the cleanliness of the place, the quality of the food, these were all outstanding. We would all warmly commend the Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CampsieMilngavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We stayed at East Haugh House for two nights. The hotel is a lovely building with very friendly and considerate staff. The room exceeded our expectations. As we were on a Dinner/Bed and Breakfast rate, it was a great pleasure to enjoy the three course dinner in the evening. The food was excellent, downright outstanding. The sole disadvantage we recognized is the highway in about 250 m distance from the hotel. Anyway, we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTraveler1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We arrived on a Friday evening and there was a logfire set in the East Haugh Room awaiting us. As it was a beautiful evening we did not need it but how wonderful it would be in early spring, autumn or wintertime!
There was a lovely jacuzzi bath and comfy robes to lounge around in. Dinner was lovely in the beautifully set dining room. We went for a walk along a quiet road adjacent to hotel later.
At breakfast, the porridge was finest ever tasted by one Scotsman (who has very discerning taste in that department!)
A lovely wee oldy worldy getaway!
Perhaps a wee bitty over-priced though.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FortysomethingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

You could not ask for friendlier service, better rooms. The family who run the hotel are honestly some of the nicest people I have ever met and nothing was too much trouble. The food I think should be Michelin star because it is sooo fantastic. All of it comes at such a reasonable rate too...

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyHotelLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We had a lovely stay at the house hotel and were made to feel very welcome. The food was amazing. We loved everything, but I personally will remember the seafood risotto for a long time.

My husband and my father also experencied fly fishing on the Tay, as organised by the hotel. The day out was memorable for both and East Haugh was the perfect base for this.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MainieJellett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,912 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,117 reviews
1.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
924 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
813 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Haugh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Haugh House

Address: East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £73 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Haugh House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Haugh House is a 4 star luxury boutique hotel based in Pitlochry, Perthshire just 1 hour from Edinburgh and 2 hours from Glasgow. Built originally as part of the Atholl Estate some 350 years ago, this family run hotel is a beautiful, turreted stone house situated off the old A9 road with beautiful woodland walks and easy access to Pitlochry. With 12 individually designed bedrooms, including three deluxe four-poster rooms (one with its own fireplace) and whirlpool bathrooms, along with a private Victorian Gate Lodge, East Haugh House is hailed as one of Scotland’s “hidden gems” with the “best food in the area”. We have a bar and a restaurant where our extensive a la carte menu is served. Be it for romance, culinary indulgence, fishing, shooting, hunting, golf, a wedding to truly remember or simply to escape the stresses of everyday life, use our access to the estates and rivers of Perthshire for a unique getaway in the Scottish highlands. We have access to some of the very best fishing on the river Tay and river Tummel and can book salmon fishing days enabling you to (hopefully!) catch that fish of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your East Haugh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Haugh House Hotel Pitlochry
East Haugh Hotel
East Haugh Pitlochry
East Haugh House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing