We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean.cosy.caring”
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
north west
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“clean.cosy.caring”
Reviewed 21 March 2011

3 night stay.
caring staff, clean rooms, lovely breakfast. delightful hotel and staff. cant wait to visit this area again. Cold outside but the roaring log fires inside were just great.
visits.
blair castle.
queens view.
athol coffee shop/shopping centre.4.miles.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjsNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    228
    93
    48
    47
See reviews for
123
406
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I last stayed here over Hogmany with friends.

About a 18 months before we went, friends said they always fancied a tradditional Scottish Hogmany and I knew the perfect place. None of us were disappointed. The atmosphere was amazing, the food delicious and the band each night were terrific. The rooms, as always were clean, warm and very spacious.

I have stayed at this hotel twice before, the first time when I got married there, I can't even begin to descibe how lovely Heather and all the staff were, from planning the menu to the flowers on display, ensuring all my guests were OK and advising on bands etc, nothing was too much trouble. The day went smoothly and everyone had a great time.

I then went back a year later of the Christmas time and all I can say is that the hotel is consistanly great! Always a great and warm welcome. As I said in the title, I'm looking forward to going back again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mishwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Having been at the Atholl Arms with my wife for the New Year celebrations we returned with my 90 year old Aunt, 88 year old Mother, sister and brother in law for a 5 night mini break.
As we have come to expect from the staff at the Atholl the warmth of the welcome and superior standard of service was present in abundance. The food is terrific whether you eat in the very reasonably priced Bothy Bar, the main restaurant or indeed as we did one night at their sister hotel, The Moulin Inn just a short drive away.
The en suite rooms are clean and well furnished although some of the standard rooms are a little small so it may be worth paying the marginal increase for a superior room.
There is one such room on the ground floor which was ideal for the more senior of the party.
The hotel is very quiet and it's easy to loose yourself in front of the raging fire in the lounge area.
Dogs are also welcome and it's location makes it an ideal base to tour this part of Prthshire
We will definately be going back

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Having travelled, many miles through some really bad weather, we could not have been made more welcome if we had tried. Nothing was too much trouble and the atmostphere created by the Staff, the real log fires and the fab food was a treat. We will definately be booking for next year and sooner if time permits

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exbloomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2011

My parents have stayed at the hotel five times already and take advantage of the winter warmer deals. My husband and I have stayed twice now. It is such a relaxing break and after a nice long walk and a drink by the fire means that it doesn't get much better! The meals in the Bothy bar were excellent and were served quickly, all special requests were carried out and nothing was a problem. The rooms were nice and clean and exactly what you would expect in an old building. I would definetly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessay77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

enjoyed our overnight stay at this hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpfull. Food was realy nice and great value , the cooked scottish breakfeast was worth gettin up for. was told when leaving that they have lots of good deals going on throughout the year , so will be checking their website regularly to go back.... wonder if Louise from New Zealand the waitress, got to wear her dancing shoes on her Friday night out ?????????????

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiemoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Calder
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

A fabulous hotel that offers visitors a marvellous time. Whether it is the friendly "locals bar" - The Bothy or the comfortable lounge. The hotel stocks real ale brewed at the Atholl Arms sister hotel in Moulin, Pitlochry (The Moulin Inn) During our stay even the dining room had a welcoming real fire! The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. The hotel also has some excellent value 5 nights for the price of three deals running throughout the year. Transport is easy whether by car, bus or train and the situation is ideal for taking in the many sights and attractions within the local area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamishM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
6.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,813 reviews
5.9 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#14 of 18 in Pitlochry
534 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
6.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,605 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Property: Atholl Arms Hotel
Address: Blair Atholl, Pitlochry PH18 5SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholl Arms offers guests comfortable highland grandeur, standing proudly at the northern end of the quiet highland village of Blair Atholl near Pitlochry. Traditional with a wonderful heritage, Atholl Arms is a perfect base for a short leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Pitlochry
Atholl Arms Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing