We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific traditional Scottish hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrific traditional Scottish hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

We've travelled throughout Scotland almost every year for the past 33 years but only recently came across this hotel by chance on a local website.

It is superbly located, whether you want to use it as a base to discover the Highlands or Tayside, or even just to relax and enjoy its setting in the lovely village of Blair Atholl. It's right in the centre of this village with stunning views and comfortable riverside walks.

The locals make a point of saying hello as you pass by. Everyone seems pleased to see you.

The hotel is furnished true to its scottish traditions and there are many objects on display to take your interest without having to visit the nearby museum for the area. Throughout our stay the staff greeted you with a smile and were always anxious to please. The breakfast team were particularly pleasant with a wee bit of banter if you wish. Check in-out was effortless and friendly.

OK so the room we stayed in was a bit in need of a refresh. The TV was very dated and the electric shower a tad challenging to master the extremes of temperature being piped through without warning but that did not detract from the fact that the room was otherwise spotlessly clean, tidy and well furnished with a wonderful view out to the southern cairngorms. The jewel with this hotel is the Bothy bar at the rear. An historic inn for this was originally a coach house on the road between Inverness and Edinburgh. If you love real ale (Moulin brewery), great food and a good old fashioned pub with atmosphere then you will be in heaven here.

Blair Atholl train station is right next to the hotel but fear not you don't notice or hear the trains slipping through. On the contrary it's a fabulous reason for getting on and travelling to nearby Pitlochry or north to Inverness through the stunning mountain scenery.

Even though we live over 400 miles away, we'll be back. We really enjoyed our stay here and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikenwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    215
    84
    47
    44
See reviews for
114
382
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

dusty dirty room, we booked the 4 poster room thinking it would be the best in the hotel so bad we checked out a day early.
Never go there again

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank unbias2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Atholl Arms played host to our wedding reception on the 8th of June 2011 & home for our guests for between 2 and 5 days. We ate in the dinning room & bar during our stay as well as breakfast & the wedding meal. Before our wedding we have stayed at the hotel & have been delighted with the team, the food & amenities on offer.

The food we consumed was beautiful, plentiful & tasted fantastic. Breakfast was a traditional Scottish feast & dinner had a number of options to choose from.

We have stayed in a few of the standard rooms, best & the four poster suite during the past year. All rooms were clean, comfortable, well presented & decorated with themes to complement the traditional Scottish feel to the hotel.

In terms of service & etiquette; it is really delightful that the teamexcel at this. Far more than generally expected. We feel the personal, friendly & well delivered service is far better than other places we have stayed. This has been constant before we enquired about the hotel being our wedding host.

At the time of writing the hotel was child, dog & cyclist friendly. The garden has a climbing frame for youngsters & the duty managers cared for our 18 week old godson during breakfast. If you have any specific requirements, check when you book.

For our wedding reception the team have excelled themselves; the menu choices were open for us to choose, the food fantastic, service was impressive & venue superb. Every intricate detail was covered. It is important to add that the support in planning & assistance we have received in the past year has been magnificent.

Room Tip: A romantic break we recommend the 4 poster room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMrsLalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

This hotel is ideally situated for visiting the local area. It's a simple country hotel with quaint rooms. Rooms were clean, moderately sized and beds comfy though soft. Nice to find lots of little extras in the room like tea, coffee, biscuits, wooden coat hangers, hair dryer and quite a few toiletries. Good sized flat screen TVs with quite a wide range of channels. Check in and out was quick, easy and friendly. Plenty of parking out the front.
The only real let down is the food, both breakfasts were disappointing and all the ingredients looked and tasted really cheap. Macaroni cheese for tea one night tasted like it was made with packet sauce. The prices they charge for food are quite expensive. It's unfortunate but I'd recommend you go to nearby Pitlochry to eat. With a bit more effort this hotel has a captive market for some good home cooking but they'd really need to work hard at improving the standards of the food.
Good for a place to sleep, eat further afield.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MintTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

From the minute we arrived till the moment we left we couldn't have felt more welcome and at home.Our kids loved room 202 as they had their own little room ensuite to ours.We ate in the Bothy Bar each night which was a lovely cozy bar.The staff could not have been more attentive and were good fun with the kids.The menu was great value for money with homemade traditional food which suited all the family's varied eating needs.We enjoyed our yummy breakfasts in the fabulous dinning hall the kids thaught they were living in a castle.Would definately recommend and will return soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazza-laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

We ordered food in the restaurant and were absolutely disgusted. I don´t think you really need a cook to serve such food. Just open a tin box and you are better off. That would have been much cheeper too, considering the bill of more than 50 Pounds for two. For we were both extremely shocked, I tried to liven things up and eat some of it. Unluckily, I even got severe stomach pain afterwards. After our trip through Scotland I never saw such bad food again, this was really unique.
As for the rooms: We ordered a "superior" room and were disgusted again. The ill look of the bathroom nearly prevented us from taking a shower at all. As for the room it was so small and shabby, every other B&B we visited (even those for 1/3 of the price) looked glamourous against it for us. Staff was very unfriendly too. I can only severely advise: If you are looking for a romantic place to stay for a couple, never, never choose this place!!!
One exception: The waiter of the bar (not the restaurant) was really friendly and served some really good whisky.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mm1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HReeves, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Are you sure you were at this hotel during May we had 1395 people stay in our hotel.Of who many are repeat satisfied customers coming regularly during the year.
We pride ourself in our wonderful Baronial dinning hall and in the food our kitchen presents.I have spoken to all my staff ,chefs and duty managers and none are aware of any customers with such disgust in our restaurant or with a severely upset tummy which we treat seriously by documenting all food served in our establishment.
With regard price you would of been aware of our prices in the restaurant from the menu board at reception or the menu presented before ordering.
Our housekeeping staff clean all bathrooms daily which are checked.
Please could you e-mail directly on info@athollarmshotel with the date of your stay, room number and if you would, what you ate for dinner so I can try and address the complaint since you did not bring it to anyones attention at the time or on checkout.
I would appreciate this Heather Reeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

I have used this hotel in the past as a frequent visitor to the area and I am sorry to say that the new staff are not friendly towards families. When we visit the Bothy Bar where food is served several large dogs were free to rome around the bar. Tables were not cleared after customers had left for some time. New customers were more of a hassle to staff. Bar prices were expensive too... 1vodka /Irnbru 2x small fruit shoots and a diet coke £8.30...
We left and had our dinner at the nearby "Food in the Park" Cafe... Very Clean, friendly and affordable.....
Rooms were very small and need updating....
Really disappointing!!

Room Tip: Yes - go somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zippy069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
040167, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Thank you for your comments which I do find grossly unfair due to no comments being made to our members of staff or management at the time either in the bar or reception.You do not specify your problems other than continuing to give us a horrific review.If you have been here in the past you should know that we pride ourselves in customer service and traditional hospitality.As you can see from our other comments from visitors me and my staff try very hard to look after our customers adults and children alike.Yes dogs are allowed in the bar area but no where else in the hotel due to being a country pub, but are always asked to be on a lead.
You complain about our drinks prices which are some of the most reasonable in the area for 35ml measures.Maybe you did not realise this.
I would appreciate if you would contact me directly to discuss your complaint Heather Reeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
6.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
6.6 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#14 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
17.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
7.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Property: Atholl Arms Hotel
Address: Blair Atholl, Pitlochry PH18 5SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholl Arms offers guests comfortable highland grandeur, standing proudly at the northern end of the quiet highland village of Blair Atholl near Pitlochry. Traditional with a wonderful heritage, Atholl Arms is a perfect base for a short leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Pitlochry
Atholl Arms Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing