We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly in need of an upgrade”
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 4 August 2011

booked this hotel over the phone, spoke to Caroline told her I was looking for a superior room for my husband and I told her was a bit wary of some of the reviews her reply was that these people dont complain at the time so they cant do anything about it. Well can I say we saw our room and asked for another the bathroom had mould on the tiles , the bathroom was maybe about 20yrs out of date at least , gave me the creeps. Dinner was booked for 7 went down for a drink was told nobody to serve in residents bar we would have to go through and get our drinks at the bothy bar yuch what a place. The food was good and that is the only positive thing I can say about the Atholl arms and just to let them know you can get hoover attachments to take the dust off your bedroom curtains. We wont be back . Thank you to the elderly waitress who was so nice and friendly.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sweep049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

With friends & family, we took over almost the whole hotel for the weekend for our son's wedding at Blair Castle on 30.07.11.
We had a very happy and relaxing time at the Atholl Arms; staff were quietly helpful and made every effort to ensure that the needs of all our guests were catered for........children, young folk and more mature guests!
We had several guests from overseas and they were looked after well by staff - from explanations of all sorts, to special food requirements.

The food was extremely good, fresh and well presented. The dinner on the Friday evening was particularly enjoyed by all in our party, with an attractive variety of well cooked dishes from which to choose. We all appreciated the supply of coffee in the lounge area after dinner when we wanted to sit about and chat.
Breakfasts offered something to suit everyone, were plentiful and set folk up for the day.

The children in our party enjoyed the freedom of the outside garden area, where they could run about and have fun: their parents enjoyed the fact that it was a safe area where their children could have some space and they could enjoy drinks and company in the sunshine.

There were some minor concerns from guests in standard rooms situated over the kitchen: the one complaint voiced was addressed by staff.

Rooms were clean and fresh on arrival. Our twin room was comfortable, the bathroom was clean but the decor was dated and the shower not good.
The rooms were quite hot at night - not often a problem in Scotland I know, but maybe lighter weight, summer duvets would help.
For the ladies, the rather dim lighting in rooms and bathrooms was a problem - energy saving bulbs may be environmentally sound, but they don't provide good light for doing hair and makeup for a wedding !

We were all there to enjoy a very special family weekend and we certainly did that. Our thanks go to all the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms over or close to the kitchen don't seem to be the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Tonight my wife and I drove an hour or a half or so up north to meet up with friends and family who were staying at a nearby camping site as part of a cycle tour holiday in Scotland. After a day in Blair Atholl (where the Atholl Arms Hotel is located) we planned to pop into the hotel for dinner (it was a Wednesday evening).

On arrival, the decor was very warm and welcoming although the same cannot be said about our experience. There was no one in the hotel lobby so we proceeded into the dining room where after a minute or so a member of staff asked if we were looking to eat. Although the fairly large dining room was empty, strangely enough the staff member said I'll need to check with the chef. She returned to say that it would be fine and we should take a seat in the hotel lobby in order to get our table set up.

So we got the menus, took some time to look over and then ordered when another member of staff approached us. Once we ordered we asked if our table was ready to which the waiter responded that actually we should really have booked in advance and that there was also a dress code (set out in the menu) that doesn't allow trainers etc so we would need to wait. I can understand that some restaurants have a dress code - although to be honest I can't ever remember eating out in a restaurant in Glasgow/Edinburgh that has imposed this - but putting it on the menu is not really the right place is it? And also, I appreciate restaurants like to know in advance how many tables they will have but in a tourist location like Blair Atholl is it realistic to expect traveling visitors to book?

Now, to be fair we weren't wearing shorts and t shirts but a few of us did have jeans and trainers on, as you can imagine, no formal attire was packed for the cycle trip! Also, we wouldn't have had much of an issue if this was raised in a polite manner, perhaps when we first entered the hotel but it all came across very condescending and unwelcoming.

Putting the unfriendly service aside, I must say that the food was very good and the mechanics of the service during the meal was fine. However, unfortunately the unfriendly service left a bad taste in our mouths. The meal for 6 came to around £170 but there is no way I will be back and wouldn't recommend this restaurant to holiday makers!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank J0hnnieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stopped there for a night on the way to the Highlands. Great place to stay: very comfortable traditional Scottish rooms, really helpful staff and good pub food available in the bar at reasonable prices. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HighlanderJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I spent one night at this hotel recently while I was in Scotland on business. I thought it was good, honest and straightforward. I had a small single room but the rate I secured was very competitive. I had dinner in the restaurant and thought the food was fine, I had only one small complaint regarding the soup. The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. I would stay here again very happily, especially at the room rate I was able to secure.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRMacKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We've travelled throughout Scotland almost every year for the past 33 years but only recently came across this hotel by chance on a local website.

It is superbly located, whether you want to use it as a base to discover the Highlands or Tayside, or even just to relax and enjoy its setting in the lovely village of Blair Atholl. It's right in the centre of this village with stunning views and comfortable riverside walks.

The locals make a point of saying hello as you pass by. Everyone seems pleased to see you.

The hotel is furnished true to its scottish traditions and there are many objects on display to take your interest without having to visit the nearby museum for the area. Throughout our stay the staff greeted you with a smile and were always anxious to please. The breakfast team were particularly pleasant with a wee bit of banter if you wish. Check in-out was effortless and friendly.

OK so the room we stayed in was a bit in need of a refresh. The TV was very dated and the electric shower a tad challenging to master the extremes of temperature being piped through without warning but that did not detract from the fact that the room was otherwise spotlessly clean, tidy and well furnished with a wonderful view out to the southern cairngorms. The jewel with this hotel is the Bothy bar at the rear. An historic inn for this was originally a coach house on the road between Inverness and Edinburgh. If you love real ale (Moulin brewery), great food and a good old fashioned pub with atmosphere then you will be in heaven here.

Blair Atholl train station is right next to the hotel but fear not you don't notice or hear the trains slipping through. On the contrary it's a fabulous reason for getting on and travelling to nearby Pitlochry or north to Inverness through the stunning mountain scenery.

Even though we live over 400 miles away, we'll be back. We really enjoyed our stay here and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikenwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

dusty dirty room, we booked the 4 poster room thinking it would be the best in the hotel so bad we checked out a day early.
Never go there again

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank unbias2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
6.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,941 reviews
5.9 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#14 of 17 in Pitlochry
548 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
714 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#12 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,283 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 17 in Pitlochry
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Address: Blair Atholl, Pitlochry PH18 5SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £59 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholl Arms offers guests comfortable highland grandeur, standing proudly at the northern end of the quiet highland village of Blair Atholl near Pitlochry. Traditional with a wonderful heritage, Atholl Arms is a perfect base for a short leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Pitlochry
Atholl Arms Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing