We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bothy Bar: very poor food and odd, unfriendly atmosphere” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Scotland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Bothy Bar: very poor food and odd, unfriendly atmosphere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

This is a review of the Bothy Bar at the Atholl Arms; I did not stay at the hotel or try the restaurant.

A friend and I were staying in Blair Atholl to do some hillwalking. After inspecting the website, we were looking forward to a couple of evenings eating and drinking at the Atholl Arms. Arriving the first night, the hotel reception directed us to the Bothy Bar. It was a Wednesday in October but the bar area was fairly crowded with locals (making ordering difficult) and there was virtually no seating in the eating area as this consisted mainly of large booths, each occupied by one or two people only. The only free table was isolated in the centre of the room, which felt a little strange. Anyway, we got ourselves a beer each (from their own "Moulin" brewhouse, which I thought tasted slightly odd), ordered our food, and then moved to a booth after its solo occupant was overcome by feelings of guilt.

But then the food arrived... immediately. Less than two minutes after we ordered! How can this be? My "Angus burger" appeared to be made of good quality meat yet it was burnt almost to a crisp, so dry that it was like eating a thick piece of carpet. How did the chef manage to do this in 90 seconds or so? My friend had the steak and ale pie, which he declared to be "acceptable", but a pie can be microwaved. What did they do to my burger? And what's wrong with keeping it, raw, in the fridge, taking it out when the customer orders it, and grilling it in 10 minutes or so and plonking it, fresh, down on the table in front of the customer?

It was a horrible experience. It was revealing that the waitress, when she cleared our plates, did not bother asking us what we thought of our meal. We did not go back for our second, planned visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheProfessor34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    214
    82
    47
    43
See reviews for
113
377
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed here with work and after a long day it was a welcoming site. The best thing about this hotel has to be the log fire around which I sat finishing my drinks until late. Breakfast wasn't served until 8am which is the exact time I should have been starting work but even though this was an inconvenience at first it provided me the perfect excuse to enjoy the 'whatever you want' breakfast. The staff were good and this reminded me of an 'old school' traditional hotel where you have to ring the bell upon arrival.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie_wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee Scotland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

This was our 1st time staying in Hotel and really enjoiyed it. We had afternoon tea which was very good. Then we opted for The Bothy for a bar meal at night which was also good. Really enjoyed the coziness of this bar with the open fire. The fire in the lounge area was very inviting. Really good breakfast menu as well. The Staff were really friendly and I would definately recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed on Friday 5th oct for first night of the Enchanted Forest nearby.

Perfect location for a relaxing holiday close to all you would want.
Room was large and 4 of us were very cozy.
Service was good and breakfast was plentiful.
Staff were very friendly and informative.
Unfortunately the hotel is a touch dated and the carpet in our room was extremely dirty with pet hairs.
There is nothing that cannot be easily corrected here. A dyson Hoover and a paint/paper of rooms on a one by one basis.
I have to say in terms of value for money I have no complaints and I would certainly stay here again providing the carpet is properly hoovered!
Overall this is a good hotel that with a little more attention to detail and a touch of updating could be really great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theblondeboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel is situated on the main street of Blair Athol. Our room was very dark and old fashioned with fringed lamps and bed canopy in the room. Everywhere was clean with lovely toiletries but the climb to the third floor did test our stamina as there is no lift. We dined in the Bothy Bar which was lovely but there is very little in Blair Athol itself. There is a lovely gift shop next to the hotel which is worth a visit. Our breakfast which was served in the main restaurant with the stuffed birds and animals, was lovely with plenty of variety. Needs a bit of updating but nice visit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norm1cumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east kilbride
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed for only one night with a deal we got including afternoon tea on arrival and b& b. Tea was really nice with a rather lovely glass of presecco thrown in.Room was nice and had bar meal in evening which was tasty, well priced and a huge portion.Breakfast was fab with a great selection and you even had tomato juice, my fav! Would highly recommend, cheers!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ficoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Lovely,warm,friendly full of charm no complaints. Real Scottish hotel lots of tartan ,roaring fire in lobby area where you can sit ,dinning area amazing. This is a must visit if you like real Scottish hospitality.shame we just had 1night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
6.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
6.6 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
7.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Property: Atholl Arms Hotel
Address: Blair Atholl, Pitlochry PH18 5SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholl Arms offers guests comfortable highland grandeur, standing proudly at the northern end of the quiet highland village of Blair Atholl near Pitlochry. Traditional with a wonderful heritage, Atholl Arms is a perfect base for a short leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Pitlochry
Atholl Arms Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing