We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We had a great 2 night stay at the Atholl Arms Hotel in May 2013 and found it close to the wonderful Blair Castle, to a Post Office (with a very helpful Postmistress) and to Pitlochry, just a few miles down the road.
We had an excellent ground floor room which was clean and comfortable and smartly furnished in black and white. There was an added ensuite which was quite satisfactory.
Breakfast was in the grand ballroom complete with fox and capercaillie! Dinner in the back bar was suitably priced and tasty with a good selection of local ales and wines to choose from.
Staff were obligingly helpful and attentive and the front lounge with fire and comfortable chairs made for a welcoming retreat.
For ease of access and reasonable pricing it would be hard to go past this hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor room at front was not noisy when we were there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena_S45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    225
    89
    48
    46
See reviews for
120
395
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Our room was just acceptable but in need of modernisation, especially the bathroom.
The dining room was splendid and the food served was excellent. However, we found the staff, whilst well meaning, were not very switched on to customer service - felt a good supervisor was lacking.
We found the food in the Bothy bar acceptable, but again the service (although friendly) was badly planned and uncoordinated - unecessary long queues.
Overall - great loaction, great potential but just not quite realised.
Having said this - we would return, but with expectations set accordingly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

stayed recently after getting a bargin gurpon deal. Stayed in standard room with afternoon tea and breakfast included.

Blair atholl is small, but a nice highland town and a good base for exploring area. We went a walk round town (didnt take long!) and also along river that runs along side (very nice indeed- got some great photos of baby ducks and down the valley). Visited castle also, which is worth a look as both grounds and the castle inside were quite impressive. If you go there buy the ticket for both grounds and castle, and if your in to that kind of thing you will have an enjoyable afternoon.

Hotel itself is fairly typical of a 3 star scottish country hotel. Clean, comfortable and for what we paid very good value. Service was prompt and friendly. We ate at the pub/bar attatched to the hotel for evening meal. I liked both the food and the pub itself as it is a change from the style of pubs in Edinburgh were i stay. Both afternoon tea and breakfast were nice in the hotels main dining room which was typically scottish in its style.

Many of guests seemed to be return guests and i can see why. Great location, good service and fantastic value.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coconut-monkey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The bedrooms were presented very well. Clean with luxurious feel to it . The bathroom was a bit tired and in need of refurbishment but considering the price we were not expecting things to be as good as they were. The restaurant is in a great hall and is breathtaking !! The menu was great and my venison was cooked to perfection. My partner's fillet steak was tender and the dunsyre cheese sauce was to die for. The prices were very reasonable too....£16 for an 8oz good quality fillet steak ! The staff were very friendly and efficient without being over the top.
The local ales in the bar are well worth sampling .
Would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Room 107 was small but beautifully presented with a canopied tartan bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reepham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

A basic double room means just that here
Top floor front room
VERY tired hotel, rooms even worse
Bathroom falling apart, grotty and grubby, the taps had to be turned 4 times before a trickle appears, toilet handle up side down
TV had 2 part time channels
The bed would have been more confy if made from straw, hardboard base with a few springs to add tot he pain
Food in the Bothy bar was boil in a bag and nasty, service was very amateur
The impression for the pictures tell of romantic Scots life, maybe 20 years years ago, this place is old and tired
Why oh why does it take for the public to see quality issues in hotels
Breakfast was good though

Room Tip: Room 503 should be the dungeon room equipped for mental and physical torture Avoid this horrible ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Good place to stay dog friendly, had a nice room at the front of the hotel.The food was very good and the dinning room comfortable. A nice fire in the lobby area which was needed as it was a cool week-end. The staff were helpful friendly.
It was nice to stay two nights as previous visits have been on walking trips and only overnight.A good place for a quiet break.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Very charming hotel. The hotel is in a perfect location to Blair Castle and easy to get to and from. The Hotel is very comfortable and has a nice gathering area in next to the lobby with a nice cosy fire place. Exceptional amount of history to the hotel and the breakfast served was excellent. A very nice comfortable place for a good nights sleep. The Bothy bar adjoined to the hotel served up some excellent pub food and has a terrific atmoshere and was just the perfect place to sit back and enjoy the freindly people and enjoy a few pints. Highly recommend a stay here on your travels. Check out the Braur shopping complex just 2 miles north while you are there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toering_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
5.9 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
519 reviews
6.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,759 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
17.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
489 reviews
6.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Property: Atholl Arms Hotel
Address: Blair Atholl, Pitlochry PH18 5SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholl Arms offers guests comfortable highland grandeur, standing proudly at the northern end of the quiet highland village of Blair Atholl near Pitlochry. Traditional with a wonderful heritage, Atholl Arms is a perfect base for a short leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Pitlochry
Atholl Arms Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing