We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

five nights for the price of three cheap weekend rates the new bistro menu superb value a good friendly atmosphere staff so helpfull
one of the best holidays i have had so easy for scenery and also good for rides out to the local historic places also aviemore and inverness and pitlochry is just down the road and theres is a train station situated close by

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john burlcooper c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pink4167, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review.The staff and I thank you for your kind words and appreciation of our area.I totally agree with you regarding my staff they are certainly the best asset of my business.We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best Regards,
Heather Reeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    214
    81
    47
    43
See reviews for
113
376
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We checked in after visiting the castle nearby without pre booking & were lucky enough to get the last room available. This room, 404, was located at the rear of the building above the kitchen & wasn't the most luxurious room that the hotel probably had. However it was well presented, clean & functional with a slight noise of the fan from the kitchen which did not disturb us. The bed was comfy, TV worked & even though the bathroom was old it did the job. The only thing I really didn't like was the carpet on the floor of the bathroom. There were so many places to sit throughout the hotel there was no need to be in the room unless sleeping really. The hotel is staffed by very pleasant people who did their utmost to look after us. We had dinner at the bar which had all the charm of an old English/Scottish pub. My meal, seafood pasta, was amazing. So large & so much seafood I could not eat it all & it was very tasty. My wife had a curry which was average but very edible. Breakfast was the usual offerings & even though we did not order a full breakfast what we had was very nice. In all a lovely place to really experience a grand old hotel with all the trimmings, especially for those from abroad.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Birchyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Lovely tradition Highland hotel. Quiet, clean, comfortable accommodation. Fabulously attentive local staff. Perfect escape from the bustle of daily life. Looking forward to our next visit in a few months time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geocojack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Negative reviews before our 5day stay with treyn holidays were unfounded. Yes the hotel isn't modern it. Is old with character had a few issues .sorted straight away. Food . Service. Staff.all excellant.did the fact I had an advacado bathroom spoil my stay.? NO.. Nothing was to much trouble Well Done all.

Room Tip: If something isn't right tell someone .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is the type of hotel that the Scottish tourist board should be attempting to remove from the tourist trail. Staying here can only leave a sour taste of scotland and given the exorbitant price charged for the dusty, low quality rooms with electric showers that provide a dribble of hot water. The decor is twenty years out of date with a different tartan at every turn!

This 'hotel', I use the word advisedly as this establishment is really an overgrown B&B and it survives solely on being located in the highlands. It charges a comparable rate to its competitors without the quality. The food offered is low quality home cooked from the 1970's and breakfast can only be compared to with a B& B in Blackpool from the same era!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Only stayed one night having booked it as the last night of a holiday. Booked using one of the "itson". vouchers. On arrival we had a fabulous cream tea, sandwiches, cakes and a glass of wine which was part of the deal included in the voucher price. Also included was the breakfast next day. Can't fault the beautiful breakfast or the helpful staff. The room we had, as others have mentioned, was a bit tired looking but it was ok for one night for the half price we paid. The staff, the welcome and the food could not be faulted in any way!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abercastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

a family run hotel which is tired in places but the service was second to none and we had a good evening meal and an exceptional breakfast! Usually at breakfast it is obvious that most of the plate was loaded some time ago and left on a hot plate to solidify - not here - eggs perfect as was the whole plate of goodies and the plates were piping hot which in itself was a rare treat! Room 201 was near the railway line but didn't really cause problems. A small room which was ok for one night but not so good if you wanted to book for longer - but perhaps that was why we were given it! Staff were so friendly and helpful - can't fault them there! Beer called Moulin Light was D - lish....try it if you get a chance...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
6.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
6.6 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
7.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Property: Atholl Arms Hotel
Address: Blair Atholl, Pitlochry PH18 5SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholl Arms offers guests comfortable highland grandeur, standing proudly at the northern end of the quiet highland village of Blair Atholl near Pitlochry. Traditional with a wonderful heritage, Atholl Arms is a perfect base for a short leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Pitlochry
Atholl Arms Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing