We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Traditional Scottish hotel quaint stunning character and location exceptional value for family stay.”
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed in a beautiful family room and cannot fault the cleanliness decor and space especially the adjacent bedroom.
My children found the decor character and baronial hall enchanting asked if haunted that would have been even more appealing to them lol.
Our evening meal was fabulous value with great choices ..and I will definately try the new Bistro menu next visit. Just sad I only stayed on one night. The breakfast was outstanding with lots of choice and nothing to much trouble to make to suit the kids.
The staff were friendly and attentive and created that homely feel.
As a sister hotel to the Moulin which I have visited I found this did not disappoint its lovely to stay in a family run hotel who make sure your stay tailored to your needs.
A visit to the beautiful Blair Castle finished our perfect stay. Definately Recommended!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazza-laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pink4167, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

WE at the Atholl Arms Hotel are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.With a little bit of warning I am sure we could organise some haunted antics for your next stay.We look forward to your return visit.Remember our weekend deals and our 5 nights for the price of 3 during the childrens holidays.
Best wishes,
Heather Reeves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

What a gorgeous place to stay, a trip back in time. The hotel is magnificent and well worth looking up. Well priced, rooms well appointed and the food is great as well. A fantastic old world bar for a comfortable drink before bed and a fantastic dining room. You will really feel that you have gone back in time here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pink4167, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you so much for your review.I read it and thought this person has really enjoyed the ambience we try to create.It does not suit everyone ,but I do not think we lie about what we actually are.Look forward to you staying with us again soon.
Best Wishes,
Heather Reeves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

five nights for the price of three cheap weekend rates the new bistro menu superb value a good friendly atmosphere staff so helpfull
one of the best holidays i have had so easy for scenery and also good for rides out to the local historic places also aviemore and inverness and pitlochry is just down the road and theres is a train station situated close by

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john burlcooper c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pink4167, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for your recent review.The staff and I thank you for your kind words and appreciation of our area.I totally agree with you regarding my staff they are certainly the best asset of my business.We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best Regards,
Heather Reeves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We checked in after visiting the castle nearby without pre booking & were lucky enough to get the last room available. This room, 404, was located at the rear of the building above the kitchen & wasn't the most luxurious room that the hotel probably had. However it was well presented, clean & functional with a slight noise of the fan from the kitchen which did not disturb us. The bed was comfy, TV worked & even though the bathroom was old it did the job. The only thing I really didn't like was the carpet on the floor of the bathroom. There were so many places to sit throughout the hotel there was no need to be in the room unless sleeping really. The hotel is staffed by very pleasant people who did their utmost to look after us. We had dinner at the bar which had all the charm of an old English/Scottish pub. My meal, seafood pasta, was amazing. So large & so much seafood I could not eat it all & it was very tasty. My wife had a curry which was average but very edible. Breakfast was the usual offerings & even though we did not order a full breakfast what we had was very nice. In all a lovely place to really experience a grand old hotel with all the trimmings, especially for those from abroad.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Birchyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Lovely tradition Highland hotel. Quiet, clean, comfortable accommodation. Fabulously attentive local staff. Perfect escape from the bustle of daily life. Looking forward to our next visit in a few months time.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geocojack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Negative reviews before our 5day stay with treyn holidays were unfounded. Yes the hotel isn't modern it. Is old with character had a few issues .sorted straight away. Food . Service. Staff.all excellant.did the fact I had an advacado bathroom spoil my stay.? NO.. Nothing was to much trouble Well Done all.

Room Tip: If something isn't right tell someone .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is the type of hotel that the Scottish tourist board should be attempting to remove from the tourist trail. Staying here can only leave a sour taste of scotland and given the exorbitant price charged for the dusty, low quality rooms with electric showers that provide a dribble of hot water. The decor is twenty years out of date with a different tartan at every turn!

This 'hotel', I use the word advisedly as this establishment is really an overgrown B&B and it survives solely on being located in the highlands. It charges a comparable rate to its competitors without the quality. The food offered is low quality home cooked from the 1970's and breakfast can only be compared to with a B& B in Blackpool from the same era!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
6.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,943 reviews
5.9 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#14 of 17 in Pitlochry
548 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
714 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#12 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,283 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 17 in Pitlochry
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Address: Blair Atholl, Pitlochry PH18 5SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £58 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholl Arms offers guests comfortable highland grandeur, standing proudly at the northern end of the quiet highland village of Blair Atholl near Pitlochry. Traditional with a wonderful heritage, Atholl Arms is a perfect base for a short leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Pitlochry
Atholl Arms Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing