We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best New Year EVER.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best New Year EVER.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had New Year at Atholl Arms and had the most FABULOUS time. All the staff without exception were great, esp Susan who was always fun and eager to help. Neil in The Bothy gives great service, and again with a smile, he's fab.
The food all the way through was fabulous. A special mention for the vegetables which were always cooked to perfection, never knew broccoli could taste so good.
The entertainment was also fun and enjoyable, we especially loved the McLeod Duo. The lady was a wonderful singer, and their music was very varied, we loved them..
Hogmanay was wonderful, from the drinks & nibbles right through, we had a fabulous time.
Would recommend Atholl Arms for anytime of the year, we will definitely visit again. It's a beautiful place, with wonderful people. Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    215
    84
    47
    44
See reviews for
114
382
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed for a weddding in Blair Castle. A great location easy to find. Quality buffet dinner on the arrival (arranged by the bridal party). Friendly attentive staff and good service.
Room well appointed if, understanably in an older hotel, a bit dated. Beds a bit basic but comfortable enough even if the springs were a bit noisy. Good shower and bathroom.

Despite the cold weather the Hotel was warm and the fires in the bar and hall were a nice touch.

Blair Athol itself was a bit low on attraction other than the castle but then it was 28th December!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Driving to inverness and needed a final last minute break. So had a look on Internet and up popped this hotel. Regretted the decision as soon as I entered the room. TV not working room freezing bathroom colder than the outside. Nobody on reception from 11pm so nobody to complain to and nobody again in the morning... Had to leave the key in the room and call the hotel later to explain this and verbally check out. I would stay here again with a bottle of port of the comedy value.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Boa03aje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We spent a night at the Atholl Arms and found it to be a really wonderful experience. You will search hard to find friendlier staff any where and the breakfast was first class. Afternoon tea superb. A log/peat fire in November was a bonus. If you are looking for good Scottish hospitality well located for many things including the Pitlochry Festival Theatre. Don't look any where else.
A gem. Thanks to all seen and unseen!!

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size. Its worth asking what is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAHOTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

My girlfriend and I had a truly delightful weekend at this fantastic hotel.

Our room (which, to be fair, I suspect was the nicest in the hotel) had a huge 4-poster bed, that even came with a teddy bear! The room was a good size, with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. The bathroom was lovely, with a jacuzzi bath big enough for two and a separate shower (electric shower unit, which we didn't use, but typically are not very powerful). TV/DVD was quite small, but we never used it so didn't care!

As well as breakfast we ate dinner in the hotel both nights, and had afternoon tea one day too. The service was faultless, friendly but not over-familiar, and the food arrived very promptly (this might be because they weren't too busy!). Meals were served in the "Baronial Dining Hall", which fully deserved this title, with a high vaulted ceiling, stags heads and old weapons on the wall, and even a minstrel's gallery, although sadly without minstrels. The food was very good, only a small selection of dishes but enough that there will be something there you like, all good local food.

There were roaring open log fires in every public room, the lounge had some lovely sofas you could sink into while enjoying the heat of the fire and chatting or reading.

The bar was friendly, clearly appealed to a few locals as well as hotel guests. They served beer brewed by the Moulin Brewery, part of their sister hotel in Pitlochry (very nice!), as well as, inevitably, a generous assortment of whiskies.

The location in Blair Atholl is right next to the train station - sparsely served, but there are direct trains to Edinburgh, Glasgow and Inverness. There's plenty of parking. In Blair Atholl there's Blair Castle to see, but probably not much else, however there are some lovely walks, and Pitlochry is only a short distance away with more things to do and see and shop for.

We booked their special "Romantic Weekend" deal, which I can highly recommend - as well as dinner, bed and breakfast for two nights, you get one afternoon tea, and chilled bubbly and a box of fine chocolates was waiting in our room when we arrived. Even after we'd added to the cost with a few bar drinks, and wine with our meal, the total cost was £350, which is very reasonable for what we got.

Room Tip: Room 102 is delightful and dramatic with a huge 4-poster bed. It's at the front of the hotel, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here for the half term week with my daughter and her husband and their 2 children aged 3 and 4, also with 3 more friends to visit the Amberfest. The rooms and linen were really clean, and always freshly stocked with tea, coffee, and shortbread etc. The breakfasts are superb whether you choose hot or cold, with a really good choice. We ate both in the Baronial Hall and the Bothy, and couldn't fault the food or service at all. Also there is a choice of 4 home brewed, real ales, what better than a pint of Old Remedial sitting by the log fire, okay 2 pints!!. The staff are attentive, and have excellent customer facing skills, and they went out of their way on Halloween for the grandchildren, the breakfast table was dressed up especially for them, and the staff treated them to treat bags, which is really going the extra mile. It really is home from home, and a great place to chill.

Room Tip: Room on the front or side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Spent a two night brake here this is the second time we have been here we have always found the staff really friendly and helpful. And the food is exhalation It's a traditional Scottish hotel, with the decor to match and with good traditional Scottish hospitality. It's not the top of the range hotel but its good enough for us and would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
6.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
6.6 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#14 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
17.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
7.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Property: Atholl Arms Hotel
Address: Blair Atholl, Pitlochry PH18 5SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholl Arms offers guests comfortable highland grandeur, standing proudly at the northern end of the quiet highland village of Blair Atholl near Pitlochry. Traditional with a wonderful heritage, Atholl Arms is a perfect base for a short leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Pitlochry
Atholl Arms Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing