We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable and traditional hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“comfortable and traditional hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel is situated in the centre of Blair Atolls. It is a comfortable place with a good traditional furnishings. The bothy bar is a public one with seating for meals.
The hotel is dog friendly and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    215
    84
    47
    44
See reviews for
114
382
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with my partner and 3 year old son, we were joined the second night by friends with their 3 year old daughter. As with the sister hotel, the Moulin in pitlochry, the staff are this hotel's greatest asset..kind, helpful and accommodating..nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is right by Blair Atholl station but don't worry, there's no noticeable noise from passing trains. You arrive in the door to a welcoming lounge area with comfortable sofas and a roaring log fire that is kept stoked from morning to night. Guests are welcome to add logs if they want and it feels very much like a favourite Aunt's drawing room. There is an air of slightly dilapidated grandeur to the hotel, which I found charming. Stuffed animals and other bits and pieces abound. there is a very grand baronial dining room, which wasn't being used as its low season but must be quite something when the place is busy. The rooms are a little tired and the bathrooms definitely 70's retro but they are comfortable and perfectly adequate. We stayed in the family room, which was spacious and homely. Our children were made to feel welcome in all areas of the hotel. We didn't eat in the formal dining room, so I can't comment on that but the menu looked appealing.The breakfast was good and the service very friendly. There is a great garden area with children's climbing frame, swings and slide as well as plenty of spots for hide and see, there are also chickens and ducks wandering around just outside the hotel, which the kids loved. The bothy bar is warm and welcoming and the Moulin beers are very good. I have to say though that the food is average, which is a pity. despite this, I would be happy to come back because the welcome was so warm and the local walks are superb.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallamou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

staying in blair atholl caravan park for one night.my better half and I went to bothy bar in atholl arms hotel looking for some good food and a nice drink .The drink was fine the bar looked ok if a little dated .BUT THE FOOD WAS THE WORST I HAVE EVER BEEN SERVED and I am 61 and not that fussy.We had the black pudding and skirlie starter ,when it arrived it was swimming in very used fat when black pudding was pressed fat oozed from it.My main was supposed to be a steak burger but it looked like pressed dog food and tasted like pressed dog food .my wifes sirloin steak looked like liver in gravy and indeed tasted like liver cooked in old fat . Upon complaining to manager she was very nice and refunded my £29 straight away after taking a look at food.Be warned

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Winohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pink4167, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We usually appreciate customer feed back.We found this food only review damaging to our business.My manageress dealt with this in the best way possible.Your wife left obviously knowing what was coming from you.We sell only Scottish sirloin steaks which certainly cannot be compared to liver.As far as our steak burgers are concerned this is the first complaint we have had with sales of over 3000 this year alone.My manageress felt due to embarrassment the only way was to be pleasant and refund your money as the bar was busy and other guests commented on your attitude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed overnight at the Atholl Arms on a cheap break, greeted with a substantial Afternoon tea. Room spacious and well furnished. Evening bar meal was good and the bar prices as you would expect. Breakfast in the huge Baronal Dining Room just finished the stay nicely.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annglen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Upside - good food, fantastic dining room. Nice wee lounge bar.
Downside - en-suite so cramped the loo is almost impossible to use and the loo seat was disgusting underneath, wood all burst! Room phone doesn't work, tea tray takes up most of one bedside table. no obvious WiFi, a necessity these days. no easily accessible power socket anywhere near the mirror for wife's hair tongs! Clean bed sheets and towels left lying on the corridor floor during the night or early morning. Happy smiling barman (not).
Would I go back? Yes, but would be quite vocal about this experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Atholl Arms is well situated for walking in the southern Cairngorms and adjacent hills, in particular Schiehallion.

The hotel has lots of character and the staff were friendly andf helpful. Our twin room had everytning necessary for a comfortable stay and was warm. However the bathroom was showing its age and the shower difficult to adjust. WiFi internet is available in the reception area.

The food for both breakfast and bar meals was average in quality, but portions were ample. Bar service was slow the first night we were there, but better the following two nights. The beer is OK.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee scotland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Hubbie and I stayed here overnight as we got a good deal from itson, this included an overnight stay with breakfast, high tea and a bottle of wine.
The high tea was nice enough, but lacked the strawberries and cream that was advertised with the meringues, also the shortbred was meant to be ginger but was plain, however still a nice treat, although hubbie had a pot of tyea as well as hot water, while I had a coffee it would have been good to have been given the choice of a top up of this.
Our room was compact to say the least, as the door banged against the bed on entering, the decor could be freshened up as the wallpaper was starting to peel off along the bottom. The bed was comfortable asnd we did like the tartan canapy which was a nice touch. However, the bathroom was very old and dated really needs a refit, looks long overdue, also the walls must be paperthin as we could hear the people in the next room talking which unfortunately for our romantic night away was a bit off putting.
The lounge was welcoming as well as the open fires and the hall which is used for breakfast is amazing to look at. Breakfast was lovely, very good choices and came very well presented, the two breakfast staff were very friendly and efficient and very attentive.
Overall if the rooms were updated and we were in a bigger room then we would come back as we both enjoy visiting Pitlochry.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markiemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
6.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
6.6 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#14 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
17.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
7.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Property: Atholl Arms Hotel
Address: Blair Atholl, Pitlochry PH18 5SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholl Arms offers guests comfortable highland grandeur, standing proudly at the northern end of the quiet highland village of Blair Atholl near Pitlochry. Traditional with a wonderful heritage, Atholl Arms is a perfect base for a short leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Pitlochry
Atholl Arms Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing