We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really fantastic stay”
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed from 7th to 9th May Bed, breakfast & evening meal. Staff were just fantastic & so friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The main dining room is very impressive! Food was just great and the breakfasts were really good. I especially liked the black pudding, and the kippers! Loved the log fires in both the dining room and reception areas. Rooms were spotless floors were a bit creaky, but it is an old building.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmeraldLight3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
There are newer reviews for Atholl Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

We found this hotel excellent for our needs. We stayed an extra night because the staff gave excellent service and made us feel at home is the beautiful surrounds.
Having breakfast is the grand dining room was magnificent.

Room Tip: I would say all rooms are good in this hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanmer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

our group had a dining area for ourselves
food service excellent
food quality great and portions large to large for me age 66 the rest of the group could clear there plates
we went to THE HOUSE OF BRUAR and up the waterfalls it was stunning
stay was 3 nights 2 nd may till 5 may 2014

Room Tip: all our group found rooms very good no outside noise therefore any room would do country village...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin19472013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Atholl Arms Hotel is what it is. A Scottish country hotel where things are just that bit different, although it must be unique in some respects. We stayed at the early May Bank holiday on a DBB basis in a superior room.

The room was well appointed and very comfortable. The bedroom floor wasn't all on the same level so a bit of a steep incline to get from the bay window to the room door - wonderful!

The dining room is superb in character and ambience although some of the table ornaments may scare small children or people with a nervous disposition. The food was very good indeed as was the service and politeness of the waiting staff. In fact all of the staff we spoke to were very able and helpful..

All in all a pleasant stay in a Perthshire hotel that has character and charm by the bucket load.

Go, take a big deep breath, and then enjoy the hotel with its great location and quirkiness.

Room Tip: The front facing rooms are well located. We were in 105.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SmithyWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in the hotel on our road between Stirling and Inverness. Nice stay for a "stop by". Quiet and perfect to rest - less busy than the bubbling Pitlochry and very good food/drinks/atmosphere at the little bar nearby, generally full-filled bu local ppl.
Blair castle super nice to visit.
Second breakfast at the watermill.
Bot more not less!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Willis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel is situated in the centre of Blair Atolls. It is a comfortable place with a good traditional furnishings. The bothy bar is a public one with seating for meals.
The hotel is dog friendly and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with my partner and 3 year old son, we were joined the second night by friends with their 3 year old daughter. As with the sister hotel, the Moulin in pitlochry, the staff are this hotel's greatest asset..kind, helpful and accommodating..nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is right by Blair Atholl station but don't worry, there's no noticeable noise from passing trains. You arrive in the door to a welcoming lounge area with comfortable sofas and a roaring log fire that is kept stoked from morning to night. Guests are welcome to add logs if they want and it feels very much like a favourite Aunt's drawing room. There is an air of slightly dilapidated grandeur to the hotel, which I found charming. Stuffed animals and other bits and pieces abound. there is a very grand baronial dining room, which wasn't being used as its low season but must be quite something when the place is busy. The rooms are a little tired and the bathrooms definitely 70's retro but they are comfortable and perfectly adequate. We stayed in the family room, which was spacious and homely. Our children were made to feel welcome in all areas of the hotel. We didn't eat in the formal dining room, so I can't comment on that but the menu looked appealing.The breakfast was good and the service very friendly. There is a great garden area with children's climbing frame, swings and slide as well as plenty of spots for hide and see, there are also chickens and ducks wandering around just outside the hotel, which the kids loved. The bothy bar is warm and welcoming and the Moulin beers are very good. I have to say though that the food is average, which is a pity. despite this, I would be happy to come back because the welcome was so warm and the local walks are superb.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tallamou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
6.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,837 reviews
5.9 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#14 of 18 in Pitlochry
535 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,619 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
385 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Address: Blair Atholl, Pitlochry PH18 5SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £79 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholl Arms offers guests comfortable highland grandeur, standing proudly at the northern end of the quiet highland village of Blair Atholl near Pitlochry. Traditional with a wonderful heritage, Atholl Arms is a perfect base for a short leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Pitlochry
Atholl Arms Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing