We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother eating here - get a fish supper instead.”
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We came into what we now call the 'Awful Arms', for something to eat. We knew that the owners also have the Moulin Inn in Pitlochry which has superb food. Unfortunately, the food here was extremely poor.
One of the best dishes in the Moulin is the Sporran of Plenty, a steak stuffed (and I mean stuffed) with haggis, freshly cooked vegetables and potatoes. When we saw this on the menu here, both my wife and I ordered what should be a fantastic dish.
Imagine our disappointment when a rather tough and fatty bit of beef arrived, a mere sprinkling of haggis next this sorry piece of meat with the barest attempt of a stuffing having been made. Flaccid and poorly prepared veg in accompaniment. The children's food was similarly presented with lack of care or pride.
We won't be back. We have advised all to avoid this eating experience. Go to anywhere else in the area instead.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stopped overnight at the Atholl Arms Hotel in Blair Atoll whilst doing a tour of Scotland with our two crandchildren from France. And what a lovely surprise we got! Our welcome was warm and enthusiastic. The atmosphere in the hotel had the kids convinced they'd been transported into a world of Harry Potter and Hogwarts! Yet our family room was large, comfortable, clean and well able to handle two tired adults and two excited school children!

The meals (both dinner and breakfast) were positively exceptional. This standard of cuisine and service is usually only to be found in top class city restaurants. We will certainly be going back there whenever the occasion arises and you should not hesitate to book a room there yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gramer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed overnight with 8 other members of the family a mix of all ages. Everybody had a great time from we arrived to afternoon tea, dinner in lounge bar and breakfast following morning the food was 1st class as was the service. The staff through out our stay were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were all big ,bright and clean. Great base to tour from and Blair Castle a must see. We will all be returning very soon.

The Reilly Clan

Room Tip: Ask when booking for a room looking on to front of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is an old hotel that is dirty, things don't work, the staff argue with you about what an americano is, and meals are wanting. The first bathroom had a malfunctioning shower that almost scalded me. After changing rooms, the second bathroom was windowless, dark, and fabless. The mattresses are hard and uncomfortable. The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is across the street from the Blair Atholl Castle and the snug Bothy Bar. Have a pint, see the castle and move on.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VictoriaArbutus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pink4167, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

As owner of the Atholl Arms Hotel I take very seriously complaints in our establishment.I am sorry we did not meet your expectations.I have spoken to all my staff involved with your complaint and have found as follows.My staff strive to maintain a clean, tidy hotel as inspected recently by Visit Scotland on the 30th of April 2014 to 3 star requirements.You brought to our attention that a shower was malfunctioning which had not been reported until you used the room.We moved you to another room due to this issue.You were origionally in our four poster suite and then moved to another larger room which as with other hotels does have an internal bathroom.The shower issue was addressed the following morning by our plumber.My staff are not aware of any arguement regarding Americanos and assure me that your breakfast cups were removed from your table and Americanos were prepared rather than our breakfast coffee.I find this review very unfair as I know the standards of my staff and the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed overnight on 15th May for my husbands birthday, just the two of us. When I phoned to book Caroline the receptionist obviuoly took note that it was for a birthday treat and on arrival we were upgraded to a beautiful large room with a HUGE four poster bed and a super en suite with large jacuzzi bath, shower etc. We also booked in for afternoon tea which was really tasty and yummy and also in front of a big roaring log fire. The whole hotel has a very good olde worlde ambiance and we really felt quite spoilt the whole time we were there. We spent the evening in the very welcoming Bothy Bar (which also had a lovely log fire) and met and chatted to fellow guests. The staff were always very welcoming and helpful at all times. Our breakfast was full english (or scottish we were told)! in the very impressive banqueting hall. All round a great hotel and we would heartily recommend it and will of course visit again.

Room Tip: Although our room was at the front of the hotel on a main road it was very quiet - not much traffic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed from 7th to 9th May Bed, breakfast & evening meal. Staff were just fantastic & so friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The main dining room is very impressive! Food was just great and the breakfasts were really good. I especially liked the black pudding, and the kippers! Loved the log fires in both the dining room and reception areas. Rooms were spotless floors were a bit creaky, but it is an old building.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmeraldLight3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We found this hotel excellent for our needs. We stayed an extra night because the staff gave excellent service and made us feel at home is the beautiful surrounds.
Having breakfast is the grand dining room was magnificent.

Room Tip: I would say all rooms are good in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanmer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
6.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,899 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
920 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
807 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
472 reviews
6.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Address: Blair Atholl, Pitlochry PH18 5SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £64 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholl Arms offers guests comfortable highland grandeur, standing proudly at the northern end of the quiet highland village of Blair Atholl near Pitlochry. Traditional with a wonderful heritage, Atholl Arms is a perfect base for a short leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Pitlochry
Atholl Arms Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing