We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atholl Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pine Trees Hotel(Pitlochry)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moulin Hotel(Pitlochry)
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisher's Hotel(Pitlochry)
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
East Haugh House(Pitlochry)
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$142
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
757 results
Traveller rating
301
250
101
52
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
250
101
52
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbothy barbaronial hallblair castleafternoon teaminstrels gallerysister hoteltraditional scottish hoteldining roomroaring firebar mealsreal alebit datedreception areameringuesteak pietrain stationevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 757 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our booking was for two nights but due to confusion with the company we booked through we were only able to stay one night and the hotel reception kindly waived the cancellation clause for us in a very cheerful manner - we were very relieved.
From there it got better and better from a lovely room to a wonderful dining room and a dinner that had us hardly able to move afterwards it was so delicious we had to try it all! We were given a lovely window seat and treated like royalty, the wait staff were superb.
I loved the little sitting rooms, so cosy and richly decorated.
Breakfast was wonderful too - we must have put on a few pounds in 24 hours.
If there is to be one draw back it was the WiFi only being available in the foyer - but at least it was available!
Would stay there again in a flash and sorry in fact that we couldn't stay the two days after all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We class ourselves regulars at this Hotel now, as we've been many several times over Autumn, Winter and Spring. The place is such an impressive building from the outside in a quiet historical village of character, just on the edge of the Cairngorms National Park. As a result of being in the very heart of Scotland, you can be in Aviemore, Braemar, Fort William, Stirling, all within 2 hours. But, back to the hotel, the staff are all excellent, friendly and helpful.. They give you the feeling that they all are proud of the place they work, that being a traditional Highland Hotel. With Tartan throughout in the carpets, furniture and beds/canopies in the rooms. Scottish artwork, paintings and themes, Scottish music played in the bar and reception lounge. Stags heads and Antlers in the dining rooms and bars. Other than providing a piper at the door, it shouts "Hail Caledonia" all round... and staying in Scotland why would you want otherwise?? The last time we visited, the Staff went out for a card and chocolates as it was our wedding anniversary. It must be said that rooms are a little dated, older bathrooms, sash windows and old radiators with the odd chip on the paintwork, but you're not in a 6 month old Premier Inn, you're in a character building. The main thing is not the age of the decor, but the fact it is clean and comfortable. with large beds and antique furniture. The bars are well stocked and have they're own exclusive real ale to try. And for eating theres two options, A grand impressive banquetting hall for the restaurant style fine dining or the "pub appeal" of the Bothy Bar where you get your steak pie, fish or haggis, Breakfast is served with the usual cereals, juice and porridge. And then a cooked option or traditional kippers. Fine quality ingrediants - butchers sausage, tasty smoked bacon and Stornaway black pudding. Quite simply, a wonderful place, in a wonderful location. With wonderful staff !!! Thank You.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, all with character... but are on three floors with plenty of stairs and no lift. But the reception and bars are so warm and welcoming, you only have to climb them the once as you're in no hurry to leave until bedtime.. well that's how it is for me..
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Spent 4 nights at the Blair Atholl as part of a steam train holiday, it was really very enjoyable. The rooms were a little tired and could do with some updating but overall we enjoyed our stay. The meals were excellent and the service very good, the staff were a really happy bunch of people and we're always ready to help and advise.
Good choice of real ales which pleased my husband was pleased about. The only thing that did make me wish that the owners took more interest in was the table decorations which were bowls of artificial Christmas Holly which I thought were a bit naff. But that said it was a lovely old building and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMannering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stopped here for four nights as a base for a tour of The Highlands.The hotel was very comfortable and the staff extremely welcoming.The dining room was very impressive as was the food with ample choice on the dinner menu including local dishes. I was unfortunately ill during my stay and the staff,particularly the Manageress were very sympathetic and helpful.The hotel is within walking distance of Blair Castle which is well worth a visit and is very close to the railway station which has a direct service to Edinburgh.I visited in a coach party but due to the proximity of the railway station would consider making another visit independently.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stopped off here while heading to aveimore after seeing the lovely beer garden and what a pleasant suprise , lovely local ales , cold cider , excellent staff and a glorious day , it was that nice we didn't make it to our destination we ended up having lunch aswell , we just spent the day here with the kids they really enjoyed it as it has a play park aswell .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank claire21182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews