We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I visited this hotel on three occasions while staying in the area - using the bar area with our party of four for drinks and a meal. We found the locally brewed beer fluctuated wildly in quality - from very good on our first visit to really awful on two subsequent visits - and this applied to more than one cask ale we tried.
But worse was to come. Our trip coincided with the final week of the WorId Cup and I decided to follow the advice of a big sign at the Atholl Arms that declared "Watch the World Cup Here!"
I watched the first semi final (safely drinking Guinness) without mishap as it ended in normal time.
The second semi between Holland and Argentina ended after extra time - but for me and two Dutch guys who were seated at the same table - it ended 15 minutes earlier.
Last orders at the bar were announced before 11pm so I stocked up with a pint to take me through extra time and penalties if necessary. Extra time began at 11ish and then, horror - a member of the bar staff told us to drink up because they were closing.
I pointed out that there was 15 minutes left of the match but he just muttered something about licensing laws and told us to leave. At 11.15 - half time in extra time - he switched off the set!
The two Dutch guys were speechless. I was infuriated - pointing out that they advertised the place as a location to watch the football and that I'd been there since 8.30pm for this reason.
My parting shot was a suggestion that if Scotland wanted to be independent it had better improve the way it dealt with tourists.
I can only assume that the bar staff had finished their shift and wanted to go home. Fair enough but surely a place of that size has a night porter or someone on the premises to look after the residents - several of whom were also in the bar and had to leave. At least they could have seen the rest of the match in their rooms.
Quite frankly this episode was pathetic on several levels. It's quite a nice place, if somewhat gloomy in the bar, but they've let themselves down badly in my opinion.
Whatever happened to customer service and common sense?
Don J
Altrincham

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    228
    93
    48
    47
See reviews for
123
406
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Essex, U.K.
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We saw June out and July in, with 5 nights here (again) and we had the 'best of times' (again)!! .... as is always the case. The staff are always welcoming and helpful - they offer the traditional Scottish hospitality and we love it there. Holding our breath until we can visit again. Thanks very much for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Can't understand how this place gets rave reviews. Stopped here for lunch a couple of weeks ago and was soooo disappointed. First of all the place is so dark and drab it is difficult to see! We decided to order Caesar salad with prawns which arrive as Caesar salad with chicken! It was the most boring and unimaginative salad ever. Along with the chicken was lettuce tomato and cucumber and that was it. Give it a miss!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank JedNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordova, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here during our visit in May. We attended the Highland Games down the street at the castle. Each night we got to eat dinner outside on picnic tables that the bar served. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are quaint, and the atmosphere homey. I will be back to this place when I return to Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 621kristinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for one night and had a wonderful experience . Good old fashioned hotel in a beautiful location . The room was spotless and very comfortable , we had a meal in the bar which was 1st class . All the staff were very attentive in every detail . Nothing needs changing as it has its own charm a welcome change to some sterile hotels with no atmosphere . We will be returning to repeat the experience .

Room Tip: Our room faced the front and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 26EMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here on a recent Treyn holiday. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the rooms very comfortable. I suspect that the "Hotel Inspector" would have demanded a complete modernisation and update but to us the decor was charming and seem to fit with the ethos of the place. The staff were very helpful without being obsequious. Very handy for the rail station but we were not bothered at all by the passing of the infrequent trains. Lovely stay. Thank you all

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were driving through and just stopped for lunch. We were there at a slow time but the server behind the bar was full of enthusiasm and friendliness. Our orders were simple but came out of the kitchen quickly and perfectly. By the time we cleaned our plates and emptied our glasses we were more than satisfied.

Based on the other reviews here, it looks like the Hotel itself matches the quality of the restaurant and I'd readily stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DantesDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
6.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,812 reviews
5.9 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#14 of 18 in Pitlochry
534 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
6.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,603 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Property: Atholl Arms Hotel
Address: Blair Atholl, Pitlochry PH18 5SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholl Arms offers guests comfortable highland grandeur, standing proudly at the northern end of the quiet highland village of Blair Atholl near Pitlochry. Traditional with a wonderful heritage, Atholl Arms is a perfect base for a short leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Pitlochry
Atholl Arms Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing