We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definatley worth a visit”
Review of Atholl Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 18 February 2011

enjoyed our overnight stay at this hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpfull. Food was realy nice and great value , the cooked scottish breakfeast was worth gettin up for. was told when leaving that they have lots of good deals going on throughout the year , so will be checking their website regularly to go back.... wonder if Louise from New Zealand the waitress, got to wear her dancing shoes on her Friday night out ?????????????

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiemoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2011

A fabulous hotel that offers visitors a marvellous time. Whether it is the friendly "locals bar" - The Bothy or the comfortable lounge. The hotel stocks real ale brewed at the Atholl Arms sister hotel in Moulin, Pitlochry (The Moulin Inn) During our stay even the dining room had a welcoming real fire! The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. The hotel also has some excellent value 5 nights for the price of three deals running throughout the year. Transport is easy whether by car, bus or train and the situation is ideal for taking in the many sights and attractions within the local area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamishM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Stayed for a couple of nights just after new year, hotel is beautiful inside, staff were friendly and the food was excellent. Rooms were warm and spacious. Really enjoyable short break, wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glasgowgirlie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed for 4 nights during a very cold spell of weather in highland Scotland. The hotel was warm and comfortable with burning log fires in the main public rooms. It was such a pleasure to sit in an armchair in front of these fires with freezing temperatures outdoors.
The staff could not have been more helpful throughout our stay with ready smiles and excellent service.
A most welcoming hotel in the midst of some breathtaking scenery.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mozzietowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We stayed on one of the hotel’s December/January breaks which represent good value at 5 nights for the price of 3.

Our rooms were very comfortable, warm and well serviced as were the rest of the public areas of the hotel. Unfortunately the Bothy Bar is closed on weekdays during winter months so we used the hotel bar which was fine. When the Bothy Bar is not available the price charged for real ale was the same in the hotel bar.

We ate in the hotel for our entire stay and found the food to be good and nicely presented.

The staff were helpful and friendly and Heather the owner, who was often present is charming.

The hotel is well situated and there are several great walks which can be accessed straight from the hotel without the need to drive anywhere. A few hundred yards away is Blair Castle, open to visitors and a museum. If you want to go further afield the railway station is only a few minutes walk. Pitlochry is only 7 miles away where you can find good shops, restaurants, two distilleries, and a theatre.

This was our first stay at the Athol Arms, we normally stay in the sister hotel at Pitlochry however having now discovered it I’m sure that we’ll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWP44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

This hotel situated in the village of Blair Atholl,is a truly relalaing venue, add to that the value for money that it gives then you are on a winner. I have read some of the negative reviews of the hotel, but we decided to see for ourselves, and for the price paid it was excellent value. The welcoming log fires, cheery and helpful staff, and sensibly priced food in the bar.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madeleypool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Stayed on New Years Eve and found the staff exceptionally friendly. Dog was made very welcome in hotel and bar (Bothy Bar) . Food was exceptional although a tad expensive.
If you want modern - chrome- glass-mirrors then this is not the hotel for you . If however you want traditional Scottish hospitality and a building of character and charm - then this fits the bill.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leroquoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
6.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,975 reviews
7.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
722 reviews
5.9 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#14 of 17 in Pitlochry
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 17 in Pitlochry
820 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#12 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,298 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Address: Blair Atholl, Pitlochry PH18 5SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £58 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholl Arms offers guests comfortable highland grandeur, standing proudly at the northern end of the quiet highland village of Blair Atholl near Pitlochry. Traditional with a wonderful heritage, Atholl Arms is a perfect base for a short leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Pitlochry
Atholl Arms Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing