We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Torrdarach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Torrdarach House
Ranked #14 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My only complaint is that we didn't save enough time to stay at this wonderful B&B. We should have stayed two nights to have the time to both walk the trails and visit both distilleries. We took a longer walk than the one Rick Steves recommends and arrived at Edradour's too late for their tour. Since that distillery is the smallest one in Scotland, we missed quite a treat. The Bothy (separate cottage) was quite special, although I should have requested a sheet as the duvet only was warm. Every detail in the home is true to the character of the home. Oustanding!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Hi Stevie. Thanks for the kind review. Very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. You'll have to come back again so that you can visit Edradour distillery. Michigan isn't that far away.....see you all again next year maybe.....Thanks again for the review, Struan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
260
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had a lovely stay here the breakfast and hospitality was first class. The hosts work very hard to ensure you enjoy your stay, loved the bothy everything is spotless. ps the log you gave Liz looks lovely in her garden. Thanks again and all the best. xx

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuggy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Hi Shuggy10, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us in The Bothy. Good to hear the Torrdarach log is in place and looking good in Liz's garden. Maybe see you again sometime. Thanks again for the review, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Great food! Everything was fantastic! The hosts were terrific as well! We loved the sitting area where we enjoyed drinks. The dining area overlooks the beautiful gardens. I would highly recommend this bed & breakfast. It is within walking distance to town.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harbourfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Hello Harbourfam. Thanks for the great review and the high recommendation. Regards, Struan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alzenau, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We had such a lovely stay at this beautiful house! Everything was just perfect!
Great rooms, super service, the best breakfast we had on our trip (actually the best scrambled eggs I ever had ;-) and great location. You are just one minute away from town center (walking).
The interior decoration of the house is so lovely, I would have liked to pack it in my suitcase and take everything home.
The owners of the B & B were so welcoming and natural, it was a real delight.
We wished we would have stayed more than one night!
And we will definetly come back!

Room Tip: We had two rooms, and they were both just adorable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnkeSander1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Hi AnkeSander1975. Thanks for the great review. Six months later and you still remember the details of your stay! I am pleased we made such a lasting impression. We look forward to your return visit although it looks like I may have to screw everything down so you aren't tempted to pack it all into your suitcase! Thanks again,Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

A large imposing house set on a hill with a range of rooms. Rooms are warm and spacious and have all you need. Beds are very comfortable and have lovely white linen on. Shower rooms are spacious and have a good quality powerful shower. Its a shame the rooms do not have a bath.
You can walk into town from the B and B. Wine is on offer if you so choose in the lounge area where there are plenty of guide books. Parking can be tight if the B a B is busy but the owners will help you out if need be. Breakfast is very good and fresh. What would I improve? - more than 1 tea bag in a pot of tea for one ............

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear rgmc, Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Torrdarach House and I am very pleased to hear you had a good time.

I am pleased you thought the showering experience was good. We have no baths at Torrdarach House but we have spent a lot of time and money ensuring all our showers deliver a strong and consistent flow.

It is such a shame that we are only finding out now that you prefer your tea stronger than normal. If you had only asked at the time then we would have been more than happy to provide as many tea bags as you wanted.

I hope you enjoyed your subsequent trip to the north east. Thanks again for the review, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights around mid-September and were impressed the minute we walked through the door. Struan greeted us warmly, showed us the guest areas of the house, helped us with our numerous bags and brought us tea in the lounge. The house is in a quiet location just up the hill from the town centre. We had Room 1, which is large, comfortable and very nicely decorated. It was also very clean, as was the very nice bathroom. Breakfast in the lovely dining area was delicious and there were lighter options which were appreciated, as well as the full Scottish breakfast. Struan and Louise are both very good hosts and are very accommodating. We really enjoyed our short stay here. I would definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Torrdarach House to anyone. Whilst in Pitlochry, we went to theatre and ate at Fern Cottage and the Golf Club, all of which were very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderersCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Hi WanderersCheshire. That's a great review you have given us. Thanks very much. Great to hear you also enjoyed the Pitlochry Festival Theatre, Fern Cottage and the Golf Club. They are all high on our list of favourite Pitlochry things to do. Thanks again for the review, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We only stayed here for one night, but we will definately be back next time we are in the Pitlochry area. We stayed in their newly renovated 'Bothy', slightly set apart from the main building, and it was superb - all the usual amenities you would expect in a 4 star hotel (flatscreen TV, free wifi, tea and coffee facilities, a selection of lighting, and underfloor heating in the bathroom) in a B&B.
The breakfast was great - I had the porridge (which comes with a snip of whisky in it - the first time I have experienced this combination and it was very pleasing) and my girlfriend had a cooked breakfast which looked delicious. There was a good selection of cold items (yoghurts, jams, marmalades, fruit compotes, croissants) you can help yourself too. The breakfast room is a lovely all glass affair overlooking a large garden area.
Struan and Louise were very helpful getting us on the road to our next destination, and we are only sorry that we couldn't have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duncan_s66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Hi Duncan-s66. Great to hear we have another Bothy convert and another whisky porridge convert! Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review of your stay. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Thanks again, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#5 of 66 in Pitlochry
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#2 of 66 in Pitlochry
1,155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 66 in Pitlochry
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#1 of 66 in Pitlochry
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrdarach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrdarach House

Property: Torrdarach House
Address: Golf Course Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torrdarach House is our stunning, four star GOLD, contemporary bed and breakfast in Pitlochry. Quiet woodland garden setting close to Pitlochry town centre. Our guest lounge with open fire overlooks the garden and has views beyond to the Tummel Valley. Breakfast is served in the brand new south facing dining room also overlooking the garden where you can observe the resident Red Squirrels. Local Cairngorm Brewery beers, over 30 whiskies and Austrian wines by the bottle or glass can be served to guests in the lounge or garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Torrdarach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrdarach House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing