We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect conclusion to wonderful trip”
Review of Torrdarach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Torrdarach House
Ranked #14 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect conclusion to wonderful trip”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This was an absolutely wonderful B&B. Louise and Struan were perfect hosts, welcoming us into their home, providing us with excellent advice as to places to go and things to do, and ensuring that we had everything we needed to enjoy our time in their comfortable and stylishly appointed home. Our room was clean and bright, with a very comfortable bed and a nice bathroom, and a shower with really good water pressure. The breakfast room was exceptional, with floor to ceiling glass and views of nicely landscaped grounds and countless feeders for an endless variety of birds and their cherished red squirrels, which entertained us each morning as we dined on the delicious breakfasts. Food choices included a full scottish breakfast, salmon and eggs, and porridge with a touch of whiskey. All of it, as well as the cereal, granola, fruit, and coffee, was superb. The crowning glory was the sitting area, with a constantly lit fire, very comfortable seating, plentiful books and magazines, and (most importantly) a big range of available single malt whiskeys. Louise and Struan were kind enough to offer coffee, tea, beer, and whiskey throughout the afternoon and evening in the sitting room. It was wonderful. Overall, the attention to detail and warm comfortable vibe in the house made our stay spectacular. I will hope to return and certainly recommend this B&B to any friends traveling to the Highlands.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MedDoc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Hello MedDoc86. Thanks for the great review. Much appreciated. Particularly pleased you enjoyed the lounge so much. With the chilly weather recently the lounge, fire and whisky have been proving pretty popular. Delighted you enjoyed yourselves and thanks again for the recommendation. Regards, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
262
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Having done quite a bit of research through Tripadvisor.co.uk to find the perfect place to stay for one night in Pitlochry, Torrdarach appeared to tick all the boxes, and on arrival it did just that! Louise welcomed us to their beautiful B&B which was really easy to find. We stayed in room 5 and had a lovely view over the front garden and the rolling hills of Pitlochry. The room was large with a lovely shower room that was huge. The interior of the whole house is done to a very high standard and it feels just like home. The public lounge is extremely comfy and we found ourselves enjoying the real log fire after supper at the golf club instead of going into the town for a drink. Straun's Whisky collection is one to be enjoyed too!
Breakfast was magnificent for a B&B and with the 'infinity' dining room over looking the gardens which are home to many a red squirrel, it was a great experience. I can't wait to go back in the summer to enjoy a glass of wine in their garden. Louise and Struan - we have told everyone that they must come and stay with you, you really do have a lovely B&B!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Privatepike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Hi Privatepike. Thanks very much for the very kind write-up and the thanks for spreading the word! It's good to see the whisky list getting a mention too. I'm a big fan of whisky! I'm delighted you enjoyed yourselves so much and maybe we will see you here again sometime soon. Regards. Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This was our second visit to Tordarrach House and was every bit of good as the first. Louise and Struan are great hosts, friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We had room 3, overlooking the rear garden, spotless with perfect little details such as iced water, toiletries, books and magazines and free wifi. We love to sit in the lounge near to the log fire with complimentary pots of tea, just the job after tackling a nearby Munro. Breakfasts are a treat, porridge with cream and whisky, full Scottish breakfast and scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, delicious. We even saw red squirrels at this visit, a real delight. Tordarrach House is a 'must stay' if visiting Pitlochry or passing through the area and we would be regulars if we lived nearer. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Hi Dave. Thanks for coming back again and thanks for the great review. Its good to hear you saw the red squirrels too. We've had a few deer in the garden this week so you'll have to come back to see those too. Thanks again, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Comfortable, charming and extremely warm and welcoming. Pitlochry is a town you simply must not miss on your trip to the highlands and this B&B is the ideal place to stay. The hosts are very welcoming and helpful and the house is very tastefully decorated and furnished. Breakfast in the conservatory staring out of the picture windows looking for the elusive red squirrels is a perfect way to start the day.Delightful town with some very good restaurants, forest walks and a beatiful river with salmon ladder all add up to making this a destination rather than a stop over.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alistergi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Hi alisergi. Thanks for the kind review. Its good to hear you enjoyed Pitlochry and your stay at Torrdarach House. Thanks for taking the time to review us. Regards Struan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We recently spent two nights in this fantastic B&B. Well, B&B is maybe the wrong description. This is rather a top hotel. The rooms were big and cosy. Free internet, TV, Tea, everything there. But the most impressive about the room was our bathroom. I think I have rarely seen such a spotless and perfectly clean bathroom. On top of it, the breakfast served was gorgeous. Many options were available and there was plenty of food. The hosts are incredible as well and gave us many good tips and ideas on how to spend our days in Pitlochry. All in all, this is not the cheapest B&B in town but it is probably the best.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bioko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Hi Bioko. 105 reviews! Wow. I am delighted to hear that a 'top contributor' thinks us worthy of top marks. We've got to be happy with that. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Kind regards, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Went to Pitlochry beginning of March and stayed at Torrdarach House and compelled to write in to say what a superb stay we had. The owners (Struan and Louise) were fantastic and the accommodation top notch. We started the day with a wonderful breakfast in their recently added breakfast room which has a panoramic view of the garden and is ideal for bird and red squirrel spotting, then spent the day running trails in the beautiful Highland countryside. Struan suggested some trails to run which were simply stunning (many straight from the front door) and showed us maps and even showed us an App which we downloaded in case we went Off course! after our runs The lounge proved a great place to have a cup of tea in front of the fire and plan walks, runs and the next days activity. In the evening it's not necessary to move the car a short 5 minute walk and you are in town with a good selection of places to eat, then back to the room (so comfy) for a good nights sleep and more of the same the next day - perfect! Thank you to Struan and Louise for an amazing holiday we love Scotland and love Torrdarach and cant praise it enough we will certainly be back again! Fellow travellers you can't go wrong :0)

Room Tip: We had room 1 a big double aspect room with a fantastic view to the front and a large bathroom with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Hi Graeme. It was very nice to see you again and thanks very much for the kind review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed another stay with us and that we kept you entertained with running routes for a whole week. Nobody in our time here has covered quite as many miles on foot during a stay as you two. Sorry we won't see you at Etape this year but we look forward to your next visit. Thanks again for the review, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

I have to say this has to be the best and most idyllic bed and breakfast you can find around. We couldn't have picked a better weekend it was postcard viewing the snow had fell it was cold but dry the red squirrels were out.... Bliss.....from the minute my husband and I arrived we were cheerily met by struan who showed us around the place before we even sat down which was a lovely touch. The log fire was burning it was so homely and cosy the cleanliness was impeccable and the choice of wine and whiskeys was spot on. We were met later by Louise, Struans wife who as well made you feel so welcome and couldn't do enough for you. Overall back home today and missing it already, planning our next trip up. Thanks Struan and Louise what a great team xx

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndagoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Hi Lynda. Thanks very much for the review. Sounds like you had an enjoyable stay with us. Delighted to hear that the owner of a specialist cleaning company found the house to be 'impeccably clean'. That is good news indeed. Great to hear you are planning another visit. Thanks again, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,896 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#6 of 65 in Pitlochry
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#2 of 65 in Pitlochry
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrdarach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrdarach House

Property: Torrdarach House
Address: Golf Course Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torrdarach House is our stunning, four star GOLD, contemporary bed and breakfast in Pitlochry. Quiet woodland garden setting close to Pitlochry town centre. Our guest lounge with open fire overlooks the garden and has views beyond to the Tummel Valley. Breakfast is served in the brand new south facing dining room also overlooking the garden where you can observe the resident Red Squirrels. Local Cairngorm Brewery beers, over 30 whiskies and Austrian wines by the bottle or glass can be served to guests in the lounge or garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Torrdarach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrdarach House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing