We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds Expectations”
Review of Torrdarach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Torrdarach House
Ranked #16 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My partner and I just returned from a 3-night stay in Torrdarach and it was by far the best place I've stayed. The room (Room 2) was amazing: big comfy bed, brilliantly powerful shower, lovely decor and a beautiful view from a bay window, across the garden and down the hill.
During the day, the view was lovely and at night we turned out the lights and watched bats zip back and forth chasing the moths around the garden. Even though there is a road outside, it was so quiet we were able to keep the windows open the whole time we were there and take full advantage of the fresh country air.

Breakfast in the conservatory was just as wonderful, everything seemed to be either homemade (including the granola, my breakfast of choice) or local produce and Struan cooked up a storm in the kitchen from a traditional cooked breakfast to smoked salmon, done in his homemade smoker. Watching the red squirrel enjoy his breakfast in the garden made it that bit more special.

Overall Struan and Louise did a wonderful job, managing to be invisible most of the time but always popping up just when you need them or to make sure you're enjoying your stay. And they are more than happy to have a chat and point out the best places in town.

Even after three nights I didn't want to leave and I'm already looking for another oppourtunity to get back out of the city and will more than likely stay in Torrdarach again...if they're not fully booked of course.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mashphat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Hi Mashphat. Well that is a detailed and generous review! Thanks very much for taking the time. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you are the first to point out we have bats in the trees. I had no idea. See you next time....Thanks again, Struan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed only one night in Torrdarach House in June but having lasting lovely memories of Louise & StruanL's house. The young couple must be perfectionists to keep the house in flawless condition. Breakfast at the observatory looking out to what I call the "secret garden" is no doubt unique to this house. And we saw the red squirrel !
LIKE talking to the host. Though ranked No.1 in Tripadvisor, StruanL humbly remarked that they are not the only guesthouse well received by reviewers.
Louise told us they had ran a hotel in the middle of nowhere in north Scotland. So this quality accommodation is a result of the owners' passion, continual endeavor and management experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank organpipecoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Hello organpipecoral. A great review of your stay. Thanks very much indeed. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Scotland. Thanks again, Struan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Lived up to expectations from the reviews! Lovely little spot with a fabulous view over the tree lined garden in the breakfast room. Room was decorated to a high spec with comfy bed and great shower plus touches such a spare rucksack available in your room to borrow were nice. Parking spaces available for every room and it's just a short walk down the hill into Pitlochry.

The DVD player didn't work and there was a green line down the TV screen, but we let them know and I'm sure these will be fixed by the time you get there!

FYI - There is a Co-op in town which was handy for packed lunches.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Bothy which is seperate from the main house. It felt good to be a little independe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissOutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Hi OutdoorJW. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in The Bothy and thanks for the review. TV and DVD player now working correctly, thanks for pointing it out. Kind regards, Struan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My partner and I stayed here Friday 23rd prior to Blair Atholl horse trials,what a warm welcome a refreshing pot of tea and delicious tablet we received on arrival
Room 5 is roadside and very quiet we even slept with the window open all night.Breakfast is local produce and Louise makes her own marmalade
Thankyou Struan and Louise for a lovely stay would have loved to have stayed for another night ,however you were fully booked so guests always book in advance.My partner and I went on to stay at Fonab Castle which was fantastic,however I would have been more than happy to stay at TORRDARACH

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juneey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Hi Juneey. Thanks for the great review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed a good weekend in Pitlochry. I hope the rest of the season goes well in the shop. Maybe see you again sometime. Regards, Struan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have just returned from a two night visit at this lovely B & B and can only say -perfect. We stayed in 'The Bothy' which is a self contained apartment and it was perfect. Spotlessly clean, lovely decor and fab shower. Struan and Louise are perfect hosts, attentive and observant yet effortless in their ability to make you feel relaxed and comfortable. Their breakfasts are delicious, the menu is extensive, locally produced and delicious, much to the detriment of my waistline! The next time we visit Pitlochry we will hopefully be able to stay here. We cannot recommend this gorgeous B &B highly enough. I know I have said perfect a lot but it was. Even the red squirrels entertained us at breakfast.

Room Tip: If you prefer to come and go ask for The Bothy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BURGESS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Hi BURGESS63. Thanks for the great review. Don't worry about the overuse of 'perfect' - we could listen to that all day!. Very pleased to hear you liked The Bothy too. Thanks again for the kind review, Struan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and I plus a friend stayed 2 nights at Torrdarach house on a weeks tour of Scotland. It is without doubt the best B&B I have ever stayed in, including many when I used to travel on business. Excellent rooms, beautiful décor, very comfy beds, lovely towels and soap in the bathroom.The breakfast was first rate. Very professional, helpful and competent hosts.Their attention to detail is superb.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Hello Rob645. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Thanks for writing such a kind review. Many thanks again, Struan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay after touring the far north of Scotland. Previous B & B's were really nice, but Torrdarach was SPOT ON !! Believe all the good points mentioned in previous reviews, they are really true. Spotless in all areas, rooms beautifully done with exceptionally comfy bed, bathroom fabulous, room to move and with everything you need. Our room at the front had superb views of the garden and surrounding hills. Breakfast ample of everything, both cold buffet and hot food freshly cooked to order. Nothing was too much trouble for hosts Struan and Louise. Without going on and on, please just trust me and if you are looking for a place to stay in Pitlochry don't go any further, book Torrdarach House, I'm sure you will be more than happy with your stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 on the first floor at the front, lovely views and fabulous bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Hi Cutts. Great to hear Torrdarach was SPOT ON - that's the sort of thing we like to hear. Maybe we will see you in Pitlochry again sometime. Kind regards, Struan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#2 of 65 in Pitlochry
635 reviews
0.5 mi away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 65 in Pitlochry
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#3 of 65 in Pitlochry
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#8 of 65 in Pitlochry
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
0.2 mi away
Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrdarach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrdarach House

Address: Golf Course Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: £107 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torrdarach House is a stunning, 4 Star GOLD, contemporary bed and breakfast in Pitlochry. Quiet woodland garden setting close to Pitlochry town centre. Our guest lounge with open fire overlooks the Rhodedendron garden and has views beyond to the Tummel Valley. Breakfast is served in the new south facing dining room also overlooking the garden where you can observe the resident Red Squirrels. Local Cairngorm Brewery beers, over 30 whiskies and Austrian wines by the bottle or glass can be served to guests in the lounge or garden. Free parking & Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Torrdarach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrdarach House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing